In the UAE, Sri Lanka will host the Asia Cup in 2022

In the UAE, Sri Lanka will host the Asia Cup in 2022

There have been many reasons for the Asia Cup to be relocated outside of Sri Lanka due to the economic crisis, although Sri Lanka will continue to hold the hosting rights for the event
Earlier this week, the Asian Cricket Council (ACC) confirmed that the Asia Cup will be hosted by the United Arab Emirates, with the original hosts, Sri Lanka, retaining the rights to host the tournament.

Sri Lanka is currently experiencing a severe economic crisis which has resulted in the Asia Cup shifting to another country despite the fact that it will retain the hosting rights. It has been decided that the tournament will now take place between August 27 and September 11 in the United Arab Emirates.

In a press release issued Wednesday, Asian Cricket Council (ACC) President Jay Shah said: “The Asian Cup was to be hosted in Sri Lanka and every effort had been made to make that happen. However, the decision to move the venue to the UAE was made after much deliberation…” “We will be moving the event to the UAE while Sri Lanka will continue to retain the rights to host the tournament.

There is no doubt that this year’s Asia Cup is a very important event, as it will serve as a training ground for Asian nations in preparation for the ICC World Cup in November. In this regard, I would like to thank the SLC and the Emirates Cricket Board for their understanding and cooperation.

ICC Cricket T20 World Cup 2022 Schedule & More….

There was also an expression of solidarity with the Sri Lanka Cricket in the statement released by the ACC.

The ACC is aware of the passionate Sri Lankan fans and so the final decision to change the venue has to be made in consideration of their sentiments. However, we can assure all ACC members that we remain in solidarity with the cricket-loving nation of Sri Lanka as we make this difficult decision.

This year’s Asia Cup will be played in the T20 format, with nine teams taking part in the event, which was last held in 2018. During the qualifying round, UAE, Kuwait, Singapore, and Hong Kong will play each other with the winner going on to take part in the main tournament that will include India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Afghanistan, and Bangladesh.

There is no denying that Sri Lanka is playing Pakistan right now and that the country just completed a series against Australia at home recently, but the nine-team tournament poses a tremendous challenge at the moment. India, which is hosting the 2021 T20 World Cup in the country, has been one of the preferred backup countries to host major tournaments.

It has been announced that this year’s Asia Cup will take place from 27th August to 11th September 2022 in the UAE.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.