List of all Retained and Released players for IPL 2023

IPL 2023 has been scheduled tentatively between 11 April 2023 and 6 June 2023. IPL season 15 first match likely to be played on 11 April 2023 between Mumbai Indians and CSK.There is a lot of anticipation ahead of the IPL 2023 auction and on November 30th (Tuesday), the Indian Premier League (IPL) announced its list of retained players.

As luck would have it, the T20 extravaganza will see two new teams competing for the coveted trophy next season – Lucknow and Ahmedabad. And the competition is only going to get more intense. Moreover, the new franchises will be able to select three players through a draft before the auction is held on December 25 (2 Indians and 1 overseas)

List of all Retained and Released players for IPL 2021
List of all Retained and Released players for IPL 2023

With regards to the T20 superstars, Virat Kohli, Glenn Maxwell, MS Dhoni among others were among the superstars who were opted to stay by their respective franchises after the season. As well as Kohli and Maxwell on the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) retention list, Mohammed Siraj and Vickrey were also signed.

However, on the other hand, the Indian cricket captain must have passed an important test to convince the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) to continue signing him and eventually retain him.

As the contract window closed on Tuesday, Indian Premier League sides Royal Challengers Bangalore and Chennai Super Kings each retained their players from the previous season for the 2023 season. Virat Kohli of Royal Challengers Bangalore remains with the team, while MS Dhoni continues to represent the Chennai Super Kings.

The $30 million fee Kli was paid by the Indian team was equivalent to150 million Indian rupees ($2 million) plus $200,000 in retention fee. Before Tuesday’s deadline, his team had also signed on Mohammed Siraj and Glenn Maxwell from Australia, so they had 570 million Indian rupees left to spend in the auction.Each team will have a combined salary cap of 900 million Indian rupees to spend at the auction, minus the retention deduction.

Check out the list of all retained and released players by all eight IPL franchises

Full list of players retained:

Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Ravindra Jadeja (16 crore), MS Dhoni (12 crore), Moeen Ali (8 crore), Ruturaj Gaikwad (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Andre Russell (12 crore, 16 crore to be deducted from purse), Varun Chakravarthy (8 crore, 12 crore to be deducted from purse), Venkatesh Iyer (8 crore), Sunil Narine (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Kane Williamson (14 crore), Abdul Samad (4 crore), Umran Malik (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 68 crore

Mumbai Indians (MI): Rohit Sharma (16 crore), Jasprit Bumrah (12 crore), Suryakumar Yadav(8 crore), Kieron Pollard (6 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 48 crore

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Virat Kohli (15 crore), Glenn Maxwell (11 crore), Mohammed Siraj (7 crore)

Balance purse: Rs. 57 crore

Delhi Capitals (DC): Rishabh Pant (16 crore), Axar Patel (9 crore, 12 crore to be deducted from purse), Prithvi Shaw (7.5 crore, 8 crore to be deducted from purse), Anrich Nortje (6.5 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 47.5 crore

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Sanju Samson (14 crore), Jos Buttler (10 crore), Yashasvi Jaiswal (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 62 crore

Punjab Kings (PBKS): Mayank Agarwal (12 crore, 14 crore to be deducted from purse), Arshdeep Singh (4 crore)

Balance purse: Rs 72 crore

Full list of players released: 

Chennai Super Kings (CSK): Faf du Plessis, Dwayne Bravo, Suresh Raina, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur

Delhi Capitals (DC): Shreyas Iyer, Avesh Khan, Kagiso Rabada, R Ashwin

Mumbai Indians (MI): Hardik Pandya, Ishan Kishan, Trent Boult, Rahul Chahar

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH): Rashid Khan, David Warner, Jonny Bairstow, Manish Pandey

Rajasthan Royals (RR): Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer, David Miller, Chris Morris, Liam Livingstone

Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR): Eoin Morgan, Shubman Gill, Lockie Ferguson, Nitish Rana

Punjab Kings (PBKS): KL Rahul, Chris Gayle, Ravi Bishnoi, Nicholas Pooran, Shahrukh Khan

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB): Devdutt Padikkal, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Washington Sundar

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts