Prize Money for WTC Final 2023

The World Test Championship (WTC) final between India and Australia has generated tremendous anticipation among cricket fans worldwide. With the International Cricket Council (ICC) recently announcing the prize money for the much-awaited event, the stakes have become even higher for the teams involved. Here are the details of the prize money, team distributions, and the tournament’s significance.

510x424 min 1

Prize Money for the WTC Final 2023

Prize Money for the WTC Final 2023

The ICC, the governing body for international cricket, unveiled the prize money allocation for the WTC Final 2023 between India and Australia. The winners of the final will be rewarded handsomely, with a staggering $1.6 million (equivalent to approximately Rs 13.2 crore). The runners-up, although falling short of the title, will still collect a significant amount of $800,000 (around Rs 6.5 crore).

Interestingly, the prize money for the WTC Final 2023 remains consistent with the inaugural edition of the championship held from 2019 to 2021. The total prize purse for the tournament stands at $3.8 million (approximately Rs 31.4 crore).

Distribution of Prize Money Among Participating Teams

While the winners and runners-up claim the lion’s share of the prize money, the remaining teams in the World Test Championship cycle also receive their respective portions. All nine teams that participated in the championship will be entitled to a share in the $3.8 million purse. Let’s take a look at the breakdown of the amounts earned by the teams based on their standings.

  • South Africa, finishing third in the 2021-2023 standings, will receive a substantial sum of $450,000 (approximately Rs 3.72 crore).
  • England, concluding their campaign in the fourth position, will be awarded $350,000 (around Rs 2.89 crore).
  • Sri Lanka, securing the fifth spot in the standings, will earn $200,000 (equivalent to Rs 1.65 crore).
  • The teams placed sixth to ninth, namely New Zealand, Pakistan, West Indies, and Bangladesh, will each receive $100,000 (approximately Rs 82.65 Lakh).

Team India’s Preparation for the WTC Final

In their quest for glory, the Indian cricket team has left no stone unturned in their preparations for the WTC Final 2023. Under the guidance of head coach Rahul Dravid and the support staff, the first batch of players, including the likes of Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, and Umesh Yadav, have already commenced their training for the much-anticipated match.

The squad representing India in the final comprises a formidable lineup featuring Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, Ishan Kishan, KS Bharat (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, and Jaydev Unadkat.

How the WTC Final Prize Money Is Important

The prize money for the WTC Final 2023 holds tremendous significance for the participating teams. Apart from the prestigious title, the substantial monetary rewards serve as a strong motivating factor for the teams involved.

The winners’ prize of $1.6 million (Rs 13.2 crore) presents a lucrative opportunity for the champions to enhance their financial standing. Similarly, the runners-up, with their share of $800,000 (Rs 6.5 crore), will also be rewarded handsomely for their efforts throughout the championship.


As the highly-anticipated WTC Final 2023 draws near, the announcement of the prize money by the ICC has intensified the excitement and expectations surrounding the match. With a generous prize pool of $3.8 million, the winners and runners-up will receive significant monetary rewards, providing them with an added incentive to showcase their best performances. Meanwhile, the other participating teams will also be recognized for their efforts with a fair share of the prize money. The cricketing world eagerly awaits the outcome of the WTC Final, which promises to be a captivating battle between India and Australia.


  1. Q: How much prize money will the winners of the WTC Final 2023 receive?
    • A: The winners of the WTC Final 2023 will receive prize money of $1.6 million (Rs 13.2 crore).
  2. Q: What is the prize money for the runners-up of the WTC Final?
    • A: The runners-up of the WTC Final will collect prize money of $800,000 (Rs 6.5 crore).
  3. Q: Has the prize money for the WTC Final changed from the inaugural edition?
    • A: No, the prize money for the WTC Final 2023 remains the same as it was for the inaugural edition of the championship.
  4. Q: How will the prize money be distributed among the participating teams?
    • A: Apart from the winners and runners-up, all the teams in the World Test Championship cycle will receive a share in the $3.8 million prize purse based on their standings.
  5. Q: How is Team India preparing for the WTC Final 2023?
    • A: The Indian cricket team has begun its training for the WTC Final, with players undergoing intensive preparations under the guidance of head coach Rahul Dravid.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.