Star Sports IPL Incredible Awards: Full List of Award Winners, Best Captain, Batters and More

The 2023 season of the Indian Premier League (IPL) will be the 16th edition of the tournament. The first player auction for the inaugural IPL was held on February 20, 2008, and since then, the tournament has become an integral part of the Indian, and even international, cricket calendar.

510x424 min 1

Star Sports, who have the television broadcast rights for the 2023 edition, decided to celebrate the occasion by handing out awards to some of the greatest-ever performers in the tournament’s history. Its main goal was to memorialize and honor the unique players who, since the commencement of the IPL, have contributed to the growth and popularity of cricket around the world through their performances.

ipl awards list by star sports

Here are the winners of the Star Sports IPL Incredible Awards

Former India cricketers Virender Sehwag, Harbhajan Singh, and Irfan Pathan formed the jury that decided the winners in various categories.

  • Best Batting in an IPL season: Virat Kohli (2016)
  • Best Batter in the IPL: Ab De Villiers
  • Best Captain in the IPL: Rohit Sharma
  • Best Bowling in an IPL season: Sunil Narine (2012)
  • Best Overall Impact in the IPL: Andre Russell
  • Best Bowler in the IPL: Jasprit Bumrah

Best Batting Performance in a Season: Virat Kohli

Virat Kohli was awarded the Best Batting Performance in a Season for his dominant display in the 2016 season when he scored 973 runs with four centuries.

Nominees for Best Batting in an IPL season

  • Chris Gayle – 2011
  • David Warner – 2016
  • Jos Buttler – 2022
  • Virat Kohli – 2016

Best Batter in the IPL – AB De Villiers

AB De Villiers won the Best Batter award for his significant contributions to Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Daredevils has been one of the most influential batters for the former franchise.

Nominees for Best Batter in the IPL

  • David Warner
  • AB de Villiers
  • Chris Gayle
  • Suresh Raina

Best Captain in the IPL – Rohit Sharma

Rohit Sharma, the captain of the Mumbai Indians, won the Best Captain award unanimously for leading his team to five IPL titles.It was thus clear to all that Rohit Sharma had mastered the art of winning titles with the best team, and that there was no one who deserved this award more than he did.

Nominees for Best Captain in the IPL

  • Gautam Gambhir
  • MS Dhoni
  • Rohit Sharma
  • Shane Warne

Best Bowling Performance in a Season: Sunil Narine

Sunil Narine won the Best Bowling Performance in a Season for his performance with the Kolkata Knight Riders in 2012, where he took 24 wickets at an economy rate of 5.5.

  • Sunil Narine, 2010
  • Jofra Archer, 2020
  • Rashid Khan, 2010
  • Yuzvendra Chahal, 2022

Incredible Overall Impact: Andre Russell

Finally, Andre Russell was awarded the Incredible Overall Impact award for his contribution to the Kolkata Knight Riders’ success with both the bat and the ball. Russell has been the most dependable batsman for the Men in Purple and Gold and has won numerous matches for the team single-handedly.

Nominees for Best Overall Impact in the IPL:

  • Sunil Narine
  • Andre Russell
  • Shane Watson
  • Rashid Khan

Best Bowler in IPL: Jasprit Bumrah

As a regular for the Mumbai Indians, Jasprit Bumrah has played a significant role in the team since 2013. Throughout the years, he has contributed in every way possible to the franchise and has led them to victory in the most unexpected of circumstances.  In the last four years, he has been a fixture of the Mumbai franchise’s bowling attack since he debuted, racking up 145 wickets for the franchise.

Nominees for Best Bowler in the IPL:

  • Rashid Khan
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Sunil Narine
  • Yuzvendra Chahal

Moonda Ale

Cricket Content Writer at  A seasoned sports journalist who is working in the industry for more than two decades. He is now on facebook also.