CSK All IPL Final Match List

Chennai Super Kings is the most consistent franchise in Indian Premier League (IPL) history. They have played 10 finals out of their 14 seasons, underlining their dominance.

Led by the inspirational MS Dhoni, CSK has won four IPL titles in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021. They have also finished runners-up five times in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015, and 2019.

As CSK eyes more glory in future editions, let’s revisit their journey through every IPL final they have played from 2008 to 2023.

CSK All IPL Final Match List

2008 Final vs Rajasthan Royals

In the inaugural IPL 2008 season, a young CSK led by India veteran Sourav Ganguly stormed into the final. They beat Kings XI Punjab by 9 wickets in the semifinal.

Their opponents in the final were the unheralded Rajasthan Royals led by Shane Warne. Batting first, RR posted 164/7 with Yusuf Pathan top-scoring with 56.

In response, CSK could only manage 163/9 as they lost the final by three wickets. Yusuf Pathan was awarded Man of the Match for his all-round show.

2010 Final vs Mumbai Indians

In 2010, CSK returned stronger under their new captain cool MS Dhoni. After finishing third in the league stage, they won the semifinal against Deccan Chargers by 38 runs.

In the final, they met Sachin Tendulkar’s Mumbai Indians. Batting first, MI scored 168/5 with Saurabh Tiwary top-scoring with 65.

Riding on quickfire fifties from Murali Vijay and Suresh Raina, CSK eased to a 22-run win with two balls to spare. Raina was awarded Player of the Match.

2011 Final vs Royal Challengers Bangalore

In 2011, CSK dominated the league stage, finishing runners-up. They crushed RCB by 43 runs in Qualifier 1 to enter their third straight IPL final.

In the final, RCB won the toss and batted first this time. They could only manage 147/4 in 20 overs with Virat Kohli scoring 65.

In reply, vintage knocks from Michael Hussey (63*) and Murali Vijay (95) steered CSK to a comfortable six-wicket win. Hussey was awarded the Man of the Match.

2012 Final vs Kolkata Knight Riders

The 2012 season saw CSK finish fourth in the league phase. But they won tough playoffs, beating Mumbai (by 38 runs) and Delhi (by 6 wickets) to enter their fourth straight final.

Their opponents were Kolkata Knight Riders led by Gautam Gambhir eyeing their maiden IPL crown. KKR batted first and posted an imposing 190/3 riding on Manvinder Bisla’s 89.

CSK fell short by five wickets as KKR bowled them out for 182. Manvinder Bisla won the Man of the Match for his scintillating fifty.

2013 Final vs Mumbai Indians

In 2013, CSK topped the league table with 11 wins. They crushed Mumbai by 48 runs in Qualifier 1 to enter their fifth IPL final.

In the finals, MI opted to field first this time. Powered by Mike Hussey (86), CSK posted a mammoth 192/1 in 20 overs. But MI chased the target with ease, romping home in 18.4 overs with 23 balls to spare. Kieron Pollard won Man of the Match for his unbeaten 60 off 32 balls.

2015 Final vs Mumbai Indians

After serving a two-year ban in 2016-17, CSK returned hungrier in IPL 2018 under ‘Captain Cool’ Dhoni. They finished second in the league phase with nine wins.

In Qualifier 1, MI restricted them to 162/8. CSK lost by 23 runs as archrivals MI sealed their second IPL crown. Lendl Simmons won Man of the Match for his 68* which demolished CSK. Dhoni’s army ended as runners-up again.

2018 Final vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

Dhoni’s lions returned stronger in 2018 after their two-year ban. They topped the league stage with 18 points and won nine games out of 14.

In Qualifier 1 clash against SRH, Ambati Rayudu starred with 100 to post over 175/7. CSK restricted Kane Williamson’s army to 140/8 to win by eight wickets. Shane Watson smashed a brilliant hundred as CSK lifted their third IPL trophy.

2019 Final vs Mumbai Indians

In 2019, MS Dhoni-led CSK ended the league stage runners-up again with 16 points, winning 10 of their 14 matches.

They crushed Delhi by six wickets in Qualifier 2 to set up a title clash with familiar foes MI. Batting first, Mumbai posted 149/8 as Jasprit Bumrah starred with figures of 2/14.

Incredibly, CSK fell just one agonizing run short, replying with 148/7. As MI snatched a record fourth title from CSK’s grasp in a last-ball thriller.

2021 Final vs Kolkata Knight Riders

After a horror run in 2020 when they finished seventh, not qualifying for playoffs, CSK came back firing under Captain Cool in 2021. They ended the league stage second to qualify for their 11th IPL final.

In Qualifier 1 against Delhi Capitals, MS Dhoni rolled back the years with a vintage knock, scoring 18* off six balls to seal a thrilling four-wicket win off the last ball.

In the final against Eoin Morgan-led KKR, Faf du Plessis smashed 86 as CSK posted 192/3 batting first. KKR finished 165/9 as CSK bowled them out to lift their fourth IPL crown.

2023 Final vs Gujarat Titans

In the IPL 2023 final match, MS Dhoni led his men to a sensational fifth title against IPL debutants Gujarat Titans.

New entrant Gujarat won their maiden IPL edition as Hardik Pandya inspired them to an incredible journey. In Qualifier 1 against Rajasthan Royals, CSK won by 5 wickets to qualify for their 10th IPL final.

In the rain-affected final vs GT in Ahmedabad, CSK defended a tricky revised target in a thriller to become joint-most IPL champions with five titles alongside Mumbai Indians.

CSK’s IPL Legacy

In summary, Chennai Super Kings led by legendary skipper MS Dhoni over the years has set the gold standard for consistency in the IPL.

They have played a record ten finals in 14 seasons, underlining their dominance stretching across over a decade.

With five titles, CSK now shares the record for the most IPL championships won alongside the mighty Mumbai Indians.

Which team has CSK faced most times in IPL finals?

Mumbai Indians faced CSK most times (4 times) in IPL finals.

How many IPL finals has MS Dhoni led CSK in?

MS Dhoni has captained CSK in 9 IPL finals out of their total 10 from 2008-2023.


Editor at Cricfacts.com.  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.