Highest Partnership in T20 International History

Highest Partnership in T20 International History - Cricfacts.com

Cricket is a game where the partnership between the two batsmen plays a very important role, and every team, whether it is a one-day international, T20 international, or a test match is wanting some big partnerships that will put a high total on the scoreboard.

There is no doubt that when a team has some big partnerships in the middle, they are releasing pressure from the other upcoming batsmen and allowing them to play their game more freely. There have been only three occurrences in the history of T20 Internationals in which a team has formed a partnership that has gone beyond 200 runs.

Hazratullah Zazai and Usman Ghani of Afghanistan have made the highest partnership in the history of T20I cricket, which stands at 236 runs made against Ireland at Dehradun on 23 February 2019. The Afghanistan opener, Hazratullah Zazai, played a brilliant inning along the way by scoring a massive 162 runs from just 62 balls at a strike rate of 261.29 from just 62 balls.

The partnership between the two players contributed to Afghanistan scoring a very high total on the scoreboard in the form of 278 runs.

On 7 May 2010, Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul built the highest partnership between the two Indian players, scoring 165 runs against Sri Lanka at Bridgetown, which was a record for the country. With just 43 balls to his name, Rohit Sharma struck a century and added 118 runs to his score.

There have been only three teams with a score of 200 or more as a partnership, and they are Afghanistan, Australia, and the Scottish team. There was a significant difference between Afghanistan’s total of 223 runs and Australia’s total of 192 runs at number two, and Scotland’s total of 200 runs at number three.

T20 International’s Top Partnership

T20 International partnership list

Batsmen (Team)RunsAgainstVenueDate
Hazratullah Zazai and Usman Ghani (Afghanistan)236IrelandDehradun23 Feb 2019
Aaron Finch and D’Arcy Short (Australia)223ZimbabweHarare3 Jul 2018
George Munsey and Kyle Coetzer (Scotland)200NetherlandsDublin (Malahide)16 Sep 2019
Mohammad Rizwan, Babar Azam (Pakistan)197South AfricaCenturian14 Apr 2021
Devon Conway and Glenn Phillips (New Zealand)184West IndiesMount Maunganui29 Nov 2020
Dawid Malan and Eoin Morgan (England)182New ZealandNapier8 Nov 2019
Sanju Samson and Deepak Hooda (India)176IrelandDublin28 Jun 2022
Martin Guptill and Kane Williamson (New Zealand)171*PakistanHamilton17 Jan 2016
Graeme Smith and Loots Bosman (South Africa)170EnglandCenturion15 Nov 2009
Jos Buttler and Dawid Malan (England)167*South AfricaCape Town1 Dec 2020
Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka)166West IndiesBridgetown7 May 2010
Rohit Sharma and KL Rahul (India)165Sri LankaIndore22 Dec 2017
David Warner and Glenn Maxwell (Australia)161South AfricaJohannesburg6 Mar 2016
Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan (India)160Ireland Dublin (Malahide)27 Jun 2018
Alex Hales and Ravi Bopara (England)159West IndiesNottingham24 Jun 2012
Rohit Sharma and Shikhar Dhawan (India)158New ZealandDelhi1 Nov 2017

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts