How Many Times Has CSK Won the IPL? The Complete Championship History of Chennai Super Kings!

The Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are one of the most successful and popular teams in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history. Led by their charismatic captain, MS Dhoni, the team has consistently been a formidable contender in the tournament. In this article, we will explore how many times CSK has won the IPL and delve into the factors that have contributed to their success.

CSK’s IPL Championships

CSK has won the IPL title five times. Let’s take a closer look at their championship-winning seasons:

How Many Times Have CSK Won the IPL

IPL 2010 Winner CSk

In 2010, CSK claimed their first IPL trophy by defeating Mumbai Indians in the final. Suresh Raina’s crucial knock of 57 runs off 35 balls propelled the team to a competitive score, which proved to be too much for Mumbai to chase down.

Champion of IPL 2011

CSK successfully defended their title in 2011 by overcoming Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in the final. Murali Vijay’s blistering 95-run innings guided the team to a massive total, which RCB could not surpass despite their best efforts.

IPL 2018

After a two-year hiatus due to a suspension, CSK returned to the IPL in 2018 and clinched their third title by beating Sunrisers Hyderabad in the final. Shane Watson’s match-winning unbeaten century ensured a comfortable victory for the team.

IPL 2021

CSK’s latest triumph came in the 2021 season, where they defeated Kolkata Knight Riders in the final. Faf du Plessis’ composed innings and disciplined bowling performance helped them secure their fourth IPL championship.

IPL 2023 Winner

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) emerged victorious in the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL), defeating Gujarat Titans in a thrilling final match. This triumph marked CSK’s fifth IPL title, equaling the record held by Mumbai Indians.

Key Players and Contributions in winning of CSK

CSK’s success can be attributed to the efforts of several key players and their contributions over the years:

MS Dhoni

As the captain and wicketkeeper-batsman, MS Dhoni has been the backbone of the team. His astute leadership, cool temperament, and ability to finish games have been instrumental in CSK’s triumphs.

Suresh Raina

Raina has been a consistent run-scorer for the team and is known for his aggressive batting style. His contributions in crucial games, such as the 2010 final, have been vital to CSK’s success.

Faf du Plessis

The South African batsman has been a reliable opener for CSK, consistently providing solid starts and scoring crucial runs. His performance in the 2021 final was pivotal in securing their fourth IPL title.

Dwayne Bravo

The West Indian all-rounder has been a key player for CSK with his ability to contribute with both bat and ball. His match-winning performances, such as the one against Mumbai Indians in IPL 2018, have been invaluable for the team.

Shane Watson

The Australian all-rounder played a crucial role in CSK’s 2018 IPL victory. His unbeaten century in the final against Sunrisers Hyderabad was a testament to his match-winning abilities.

CSK’s Performance in Other IPL Seasons

Apart from their championship-winning campaigns, CSK has also had strong performances in other IPL seasons:

Runner-up Finishes

CSK finished as runners-up in the 2008, 2012, 2013, and 2019 editions of the IPL, narrowly missing out on adding more titles to their tally.

Playoffs Appearances

CSK has consistently reached the playoffs in almost every season they have participated in, showcasing their ability to perform at a high level year after year.

2020: Missing the Playoffs

The 2020 season was a rare exception when CSK failed to qualify for the playoffs for the first time in their history. However, they bounced back in the following season to win their fourth IPL title.

CSK’s Team Management and Coaching Staff

CSK’s management, led by team owner N Srinivasan, and coaching staff, including head coach Stephen Fleming, have played a crucial role in building a strong and consistent team over the years.

Factors Behind CSK’s Success

Several factors have contributed to CSK’s impressive track record in the IPL:


MS Dhoni’s exceptional leadership skills have been a significant factor in the team’s success, helping them navigate through challenging situations and maintain a winning mentality.

Consistency in Selection

CSK has been known for retaining a core group of players over the years, fostering a strong team culture and camaraderie that has translated into on-field success.

Strong Domestic Talent

The team has consistently nurtured and invested in local talents, such as Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja, who have played key roles in their IPL triumphs.

All-rounders and Match-winners

CSK’s success can also be attributed to their all-rounders and match-winners, such as Dwayne Bravo and Shane Watson, who have the ability to turn the game in their favor with both bat and ball.

Chennai Super Kings’ Fanbase: The Yellow Army

CSK enjoys a massive and passionate fanbase, known as the “Yellow Army,” whose unwavering support has been a driving force behind the team’s success.

IPL Teams with Similar Success

Mumbai Indians, with five IPL titles, is another team that has enjoyed a similar level of success in the tournament.

Challenges and Opportunities for CSK in Future IPL Seasons

As key players like MS Dhoni and Suresh Raina near the end of their careers, CSK will face the challenge of rebuilding and nurturing the next generation of players while maintaining their winning culture.


The Chennai Super Kings have been a dominant force in the IPL, winning the tournament five times and consistently performing at a high level. Their success can be attributed to their strong leadership, consistent team selection, local talent development, and the presence of match-winners.

As they look ahead to future IPL seasons, CSK will aim to continue their winning ways and remain a formidable contender in the tournament.

How many times has CSK won the IPL?

CSK has won the IPL five times, in 2010, 2011, 2018, and 2021.

Who is the captain of CSK?

MS Dhoni has been the captain of CSK since the inception of the IPL in 2008.

What is the role of CSK’s coaching staff in their success?

The coaching staff, led by head coach Stephen Fleming, has played a crucial role in building a strong and consistent team over the years, helping them achieve success in the IPL.

Which other IPL team has enjoyed similar success?

Mumbai Indians is another team that has enjoyed a similar level of success in the IPL, with five titles to their name.

How does CSK’s fanbase contribute to its success?

CSK’s massive and passionate fanbase, known as the “Yellow Army,” provides unwavering support to the team, acting as a driving force behind their success.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.