IPL 2023: Teams divided into two groups, 70 league matches

There will be a change in format in the 2023 Indian as 10 teams will be divided. groups of five but the number of matches per side will remain 14.The BCCI has grouped the 10 teams into Group A and Group B based on how many IPL finals each franchise has won, and then on the number of finals each of them has played.

IPL 2022: Teams divided into two groups, 70 league matches
image credit: twitter.com


The 10 teams participating in IPL 2023, including the two new teams Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) and Gujarat Titans (GT), have been divided into two groups of 5 teams each.

IPL 2023 fixtures: New Format and Groups Explained from Schedule Matrix

The defending champion Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are placed in Group B, while Mumbai Indians (MI), the five-time champions, are placed in Group A. Here are the full details of both groups:

According to the groupings released, group A includes Mumbai Indians, KKR, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals and Lucknow Supergiants.

There will be five teams in group B: Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bengaluru, Punjab Kings, and Gujarat Titans.

During this round, each team will play twice against the other teams in their group as well as against the team in the next row in the other group. In the same manner, for the four remaining teams in the other group, each side will play only once against them.

How each plays 14 games

During the course of the season, every team plays the other teams in their group twice, which makes eight matches.As for the remaining six games, they will be playing against the five teams in the other group.

In other words, MI from group A will have to play two matches against CSK, its equivalent in group B, and one match against the other four teams.

Similarly, RCB, the second placed team in group A, plays SRH twice in group B, and all other teams once.This is how teams reach (8+6) 14 group league games.

How many matches will be played in IPL 2023?

The IPL 2023 will consist of 74 matches between the 26th of March and the 29th of May. There will be 70 matches taking place in Mumbai and Pune. A BCCI statement said on Friday that the venues for the four play-off matches, including the final, will be decided at a later date.

What are the venues for IPL 2023?

There will be three stadiums in Mumbai and one in Pune that will host all 70 league matches.

About Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts