Teams with Most Wins Against Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL History

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has been a crowd-pleaser since joining the Indian Premier League (IPL) in 2008. With big names like Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers, RCB has always had star players.

But even though they’ve reached the final three times, RCB hasn’t been able to win the IPL trophy. Other teams have just been tougher to beat, stopping RCB from reaching their championship dreams.

Teams with Most Wins Against Royal Challengers Bangalore in IPL History

5th Most Wins vs RCB – Sunrisers Hyderabad  

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are a relatively new team, joining the IPL in 2013.They’ve played RCB 22 times since then, and they’ve actually won more often than not. SRH has won 12 out of those 22 matches, which means they’ve won over half (54.54%) of the time!

One of SRH’s most famous wins against RCB came in the 2016 IPL final. Led by the explosive David Warner, SRH crushed RCB and took home their first-ever IPL trophy. They also beat RCB convincingly during the 2017 and 2019 IPL seasons, showing that they’re a tough matchup for Virat Kohli and his men.

4th Most Wins vs RCB – Kolkata Knight Riders  

In their 30 matches until now, the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) have won against RCB 16 times and lost 14 times. KKR has a good win percentage of 53.33%.

Gautam Gambhir, the leader of Kolkata, guided them to many important victories against Bangalore when they won the titles in 2012 and 2014. They also broke through RCB’s strong position in the Eliminator in 2021, changing their head-to-head competition.

3rd Most Wins vs RCB – Punjab Kings  

The Punjab Kings (PBKS) have struggled to win the IPL title but have consistently performed well against Kohli and de Villiers’ RCB in 30 matches.

Punjab has a significant 17-13 lead in terms of match wins against Bangalore. Under the leadership of Adam Gilchrist and KL Rahul, PBKS has outperformed RCB’s batting line-up multiple times, including in subsequent final appearances in 2014 and 2020.

2nd Most Wins vs RCB – Mumbai Indians   

The defending champions, Mumbai Indians (MI), have a fierce rivalry with Virat Kohli’s RCB, and MI has been the dominant force. In 30 encounters, Mumbai has won 17 times, while Bangalore secured 13 victories.

Under leaders like Sachin, Rohit, and Bumrah, MI has excelled in limiting the star-studded RCB batting lineup and effortlessly chasing down targets. They achieved victories against RCB in IPL 2013, 2015, and completed a hat-trick in 2021.

1st Most Wins vs RCB – Chennai Super Kings   

No team has defeated RCB more times than the powerful Chennai Super Kings (CSK). In their 30 meetings, MS Dhoni’s CSK has triumphed over Bangalore 19 times, securing famous final wins in 2011 and 2021.

CSK’s sophisticated batting lineup and effective bowling attack have consistently countered RCB’s strengths. Even during off seasons for CSK, such as in 2022, they have showcased their ability to outclass RCB’s talented squad.


The Royal Challengers Bangalore have faced consistent challenges despite having exceptional individual talents. Teams like CSK and MI have effectively exploited Bangalore’s weaknesses, securing important victories against them.

Even less-heralded teams like PBKS and SRH have successfully contained the formidable RCB batting order in critical matches over the years. Looking ahead, new captain Faf du Plessis must motivate his team to overcome past setbacks as they aim for their first IPL title.

Who won IPL 2011 final between RCB and CSK?

CSK won by 58 runs.

How many IPL finals has RCB played?

RCB has featured in 3 IPL finals (2009, 2011, 2016).


Editor at  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.