ODI Cricket World Cup Trophies History

The Cricket World Cup is the most prestigious tournament in cricket, and the trophy awarded to the winners is a symbol of the highest achievement in the sport. The trophy has changed several times over the years, reflecting the different sponsors of the tournament. The first Cricket World Cup took place in 1975, and with it, the tradition of awarding a trophy to the winning team began. Let’s explore the evolution and History of all ODI Cricket World Cup Trophies.

Overview ICC Cricket World Cup Trophies

The first five winners of the Cricket World Cup were awarded different trophies. The Prudential Cup was awarded to the winners of the first three World Cups, while the Reliance Cup was awarded to the winner of the 1987 World Cup. The Benson and Hedges Cup and Wills Cup were awarded to the winners of the 1992 and 1996 World Cups, respectively.

In 1999, the International Cricket Council (ICC) decided to create its own trophy for the Cricket World Cup. The new trophy, known as the ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy, is made of gold-plated sterling silver and features a globe on top, surrounded by three winged figures representing the three pillars of the game: skill, courage, and dedication. The names of all the winning teams are engraved on the base of the trophy.

The ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy has been awarded to the winners of every Cricket World Cup since 1999. The most recent winners of the trophy are England, who won the 2019 World Cup.

ODI Cricket World Cup Trophies History

ICC World Cup First Trophy Prudential Cup (1975-1983)

The inaugural Cricket World Cup in 1975 saw the introduction of the Prudential Cup as the first-ever trophy. It was named after its sponsor, Prudential Assurance Company. The trophy was crafted in silver and featured a golden cricket ball on top, adding an exquisite touch to the design. The West Indies emerged victorious, etching their name in cricketing history.

Reliance Cup (1987)

In 1987, the Reliance Cup took center stage as the Cricket World Cup trophy. It was sponsored by Reliance Industries Limited, and like its predecessor, it incorporated a cricket ball in its design. The cup had a contemporary look, reflecting the changing times of the ’80s. Australia triumphed in the tournament, showcasing their cricketing prowess.

Reliance Cup (1987) Trophy Second

Benson & Hedges World Cup (1992)

The 1992 Cricket World Cup introduced the Benson & Hedges World Cup trophy. This unique trophy was known for its distinctive shape, featuring a golden globe encased in a crystal structure. The elegant design exemplified the grace and beauty of cricket. Pakistan emerged as the champions, leaving an indelible mark on the trophy’s legacy.

Benson & Hedges World Cup (1992) Trophy

Wills World Cup (1996)

In 1996, the Wills World Cup took center stage as cricket’s ultimate prize. The trophy featured a cricket ball, stumps, and bails, all crafted in silver and gold. The blend of these materials symbolized the harmonious coexistence of tradition and modernity in the cricketing world. Sri Lanka’s victory in the tournament was a testament to their resilience and determination.

Wills World Cup (1996) Trophy

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophies Since 1999

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy (1999-2010)

The ICC introduced a new trophy for the Cricket World Cup in 1999. The redesigned trophy featured a golden globe resting on three silver columns, representing the spirit of unity among cricketing nations. Australia’s dominant reign during this period saw them lifting the trophy multiple times.

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy (1999-2010)

ICC Cricket World Cup Trophy (2011-present)

The current ICC Cricket World Cup trophy was introduced in 2011 to replace the previous design. It showcases a golden cricket ball with intricate detailing on its surface. The ball is balanced on a silver stump, signifying the harmony between tradition and modernity in cricket. India’s victory in the 2011 World Cup was a moment of national pride, forever etched on the trophy.

Are the Cricket World Cup trophies made of real gold and silver?

The Cricket World Cup trophies have featured a mix of real gold and silver, adding to their prestige and significance.

Which team has won the most Cricket World Cup trophies?

Australia has been the most successful team in the history of the Cricket World Cup, clinching the trophy five times.

How often is the ICC Cricket World Cup held?

The ICC Cricket World Cup takes place once every four years, bringing together the world’s best cricketing nations.

Has any team won the Cricket World Cup on home soil?

Yes, several teams have won the Cricket World Cup on their home soil, benefitting from home crowd support.

What is the significance of the cricket ball in the trophy design?

The cricket ball in the trophy design represents the core essence of the game, highlighting the importance of the cricketing spirit and skill.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.