Players With The Highest Number of Centuries in a Single IPL Season

Centuries in a Single IPL Season: The Indian Premier League (IPL) is the biggest T20 league in the world that attracts the best cricketing talent globally. The fast-paced nature of T20 cricket makes scoring a century extremely difficult. However, some extraordinary batting talents have managed to smash multiple hundreds in a single IPL season over the years.

Players With The Highest Number of Centuries in a Single IPL Season

Players With The Highest Number of Centuries in a Single IPL Season 

Virat Kohli4RCB2016
Jos Buttler4RR2022
Shubman Gill3GT2023
Virat Kohli2RCB2023
Shikhar Dhawan2DC2020
Hashim Amla2PBKS2017C
Shane Watson2CSK2018
KL Rahul2LSG2022

1. Virat Kohli Hit 4 Centuries in IPL 2016 

Star Indian batsman Virat Kohli had a record-breaking IPL season in 2016 playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore. He smashed 4 brilliant centuries in that single IPL season – the highest by any batsman so far. His centuries came against Gujarat Lions, Rising Pune Supergiants, Kings XI Punjab and Gujarat Lions again.
Kohli amassed a mammoth 973 runs in 16 matches at a staggering average of 81.08 and strike rate of 152.03 in IPL 2016. This included 4 centuries and 7 fifties. He won the Orange Cap for most runs scored that season. His tally of 973 runs in a single IPL season is also the highest ever.

2. Jos Buttler Equals Kohli’s Record With 4 Centuries in IPL 2022

England’s dynamic batsman Jos Buttler displayed sublime form in the 2022 edition of the IPL playing for Rajasthan Royals. He scored 4 centuries against Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore.
Overall, in the final of the IPL 2022, Buttler, who secured the Orange Cap with 863 runs in 17 matches at an average of 57.53 and a strike rate of 149.05, showcased an outstanding performance. His list of players in the tournament included four centuries and four half-centuries, making him a crucial player in Rajasthan Royals’ journey to the final.

3. Shubman Gill- 3 Centuries in IPL 2023

With his outstanding performance in the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL), Shubman Gill has emerged as a strong contender for the title of India’s next big cricketing superstar. The 23-year-old Punjab-born batsman has taken the world by storm with his elegant strokeplay and breathtaking sixes.

His most remarkable feat was smashing three centuries in the last five games of the season, showcasing his ability to consistently deliver under pressure. Interestingly, it only took Gill three more innings to score his second and third centuries after achieving his maiden IPL ton in 87 innings.

4. Universe Boss Chris Gayle Smashed 2 Centuries in IPL 2011  

The Universe Boss Chris Gayle set the IPL on fire in the 2011 season turning around Royal Challengers Bangalore’s fortunes. The big-hitting West Indian smashed two brilliant centuries against Kerala Tuskers and Pune Warriors in single IPL edition.
Gayle ended his 2011 IPL campaign with 608 runs in 12 matches at a mind-boggling strike rate of 183.13. This included 2 hundreds and 3 fifties. Thanks to Gayle’s heroics, RCB reached the final that season. In total, Gayle has scored 6 IPL centuries – the highest by any batsman.

5. Shane Watson Slammed 2 Tons in CSK’s Title-Winning IPL 2018 Season

Australian all-rounder Shane Watson was instrumental in Chennai Super Kings’ third IPL title victory in 2018. He slammed two terrific centuries that season against Rajasthan Royals and Sunrisers Hyderabad. 
Watson aggregated 555 runs in 15 games at a strike rate of 154.59 in IPL 2018, along with 2 hundreds and 3 fifties. His 117 off 57 in the final against SRH helped CSK lift the trophy. With this, Watson also became the first player to score 2 centuries for 2 IPL teams.

6. Hashim Amla Surprised With 2 Centuries For KXIP in IPL 2017  

Renowned Test specialist Hashim Amla raised quite a few eyebrows when he scored two centuries for Kings XI Punjab in the 2017 edition. His tons came against Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Lions.
Amla scored 420 runs in 10 matches at a superb average of 60 and strike rate of 149.14, including 2 hundreds and 2 fifties in IPL 2017. Though mostly an orthodox batsman, Amla’s strokeplay and acceleration against MI and GL won many accolades.  

Other Notable Players Who have Scored Most Centuries in a Single Season  

– David Warner (SRH) – 2 centuries in IPL 2017  
– KL Rahul (PBKS) – 2 centuries in IPL 2020
– Quinton de Kock (MI) – 2 centuries in IPL 2020
– Shikhar Dhawan (DC) – 2 centuries in IPL 2020 
– Inaugural centurion Brendon McCullum (Kolkata Knight Riders) also scored 2 tons in one season – in IPL 2009.


Scoring a century in T20 cricket is very tough. But some extraordinarily talented and consistent batsmen have managed to smash multiple centuries in a single IPL season. Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler hold the joint record with 4 centuries each in one IPL season. Chris Gayle has hit the maximum number of centuries (6) overall in IPL history.  

Other batting giants like Shane Watson, David Warner, KL Rahul have also racked up 2 centuries each in separate seasons. .

Q1. Who hit the most number of centuries in one IPL season?

Ans. Virat Kohli and Jos Buttler hold the record for most centuries in a single IPL season with 4 hundreds each. Kohli achieved this feat in IPL 2016 playing for RCB, while Buttler equalled it in 2022 for RR.

Q2. Which batsman has scored the most centuries overall in IPL history? 

Ans. Universe Boss Chris Gayle has smashed the maximum number of centuries in IPL history. He has scored 6 hundreds playing for RCB and Punjab Kings over the years.

Q3. Who was the first player to score a century in IPL?

Ans. Brendon McCullum scored the first ever century in IPL history. Batting for Kolkata Knight Riders, he smashed 158 not out against RCB in the inaugural IPL match in 2008.

Q4. Which player hit 2 centuries in IPL final matches? 

Ans. Shane Watson is the only player so far to score 2 centuries in IPL finals. He achieved this feat in 2018 while playing for Chennai Super Kings against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Q5. Who smashed the highest individual score in IPL history?

Ans. Chris Gayle holds the record for highest individual score in IPL. He smashed 175 not out for Royal Challengers Bangalore against Pune Warriors India in 2013.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.