RR (Rajasthan Royals) All IPL Final Match List

RR all IPL final match List: Not many would have considered Rajasthan Royals as favorites to win the inaugural IPL season in 2008. After all, there were formidable teams like Chennai Super Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Kolkata Knight Riders with star-studded lineups.

However, legendary Australian leg-spinner and captain Shane Warne weaved his magic with RR. Riding on impact performances from players like Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson, RR remained the table-toppers in the league stage.

RR (Rajasthan Royals) All IPL Final Match List

Rajasthan Royals final match List

2008Chennai Super KingsDY PatilJune 1, 2008Champion
2022Gujarat TitansAhmedabadMay 29, 2022Runners-up

In a thrilling final against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) at the DY Patil Stadium on June 1, 2008, RR etched their name in history books.

Batting first, CSK posted a decent 163/5 in 20 overs. Yusuf Pathan was the wrecker-in-chief for RR with figures of 3/22.

In response, RR were reeling at 42/3 before Shane Watson (28 off 19 balls) resurrected the innings. His 65-run partnership with Yusuf Pathan brought RR back into the game.

Needing 9 off the last over, RR held their nerves to pull off a dramatic 3-wicket win off the final ball. Thus, Rajasthan Royals were crowned champions of the inaugural IPL season under the genius of Shane Warne. Little did they know this would kickstart a long wait spanning over a decade to reach another IPL final!

Long Wait Between 2008-2021 Without a Final Appearance

While Rajasthan Royals had a fantastic time winning the IPL trophy in 2008, the years that came after were challenging. From 2009 to 2021, they didn’t make it to the finals even once.

In the 2009 IPL season, Rajasthan Royals finished 6th out of 8 teams, not making it to the playoffs. Players like Shane Watson and Yusuf Pathan performed well, but they needed more support.

Things got better in the 2013 IPL when Rajasthan Royals reached the playoffs under Rahul Dravid’s captaincy. With consistent performances from Shane Watson, Ajinkya Rahane, Sanju Samson, and Stuart Binny, they finished 3rd in the league stage. However, they lost to Mumbai Indians in Qualifier 2.

Again in 2015, Rajasthan Royals made it to the playoffs and faced Chennai Super Kings in Qualifier 2. Despite Sanju Samson’s fantastic innings of 90 runs off 47 balls, they lost by 4 wickets, unable to defend 200 runs.

In 2018, Rajasthan Royals qualified for the playoffs under captain Ajinkya Rahane, but Sunrisers Hyderabad knocked them out in the Eliminator match.

Until 2020, Rajasthan Royals reached the playoffs three times, but the magic of 2008 couldn’t be recreated. Their wait for the second IPL final appearance continued.

Sanju Samson Leads Rajasthan Royals to the 2024 Final

Before the 2022 IPL season, Rajasthan Royals chose Sanju Samson as their captain, replacing former captain Steve Smith.

Under Samson’s leadership, Rajasthan Royals performed well from the beginning of the IPL 2022. Key players like Jos Buttler, Trent Boult, and Yuzvendra Chahal all played consistently throughout the season.

With 9 wins in 14 matches, Rajasthan Royals secured the 2nd spot in the league standings. In Qualifier 1, Gujarat Titans edged past Rajasthan Royals by 7 wickets to secure a place in the final.

However, in Qualifier 2, Rajasthan Royals bounced back strongly to defeat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 7 wickets. Jos Buttler finally delivered a spectacular performance with a brilliant 106 off 60 balls, single-handedly taking Rajasthan Royals to their 2nd IPL final since 2008.

In the final against the mighty Gujarat Titans (GT), Rajasthan Royals struggled to set up a big total. Except for Buttler (39) and Samson (14), none of the other batters reached double figures. Rajasthan Royals crawled their way to 130/9 in 20 overs.

In response, Gujarat Titans overhauled the target in 18.1 overs with 7 wickets in hand. Unfortunately, Rajasthan Royals fell agonizingly short of their 2nd IPL title. Nevertheless, the team and its passionate fan base received praise for making it to the final after 14 long years.

IPL 2024 – Can Rajasthan Royals Win Their Second Title?

Having made it to the IPL final last year itself, expectations will be high from the Rajasthan Royals in IPL 2024. Under the captaincy of Sanju Samson, RR would be aiming to go one step further this year.

If RR manages to retain the core of Jos Buttler, Yuzvendra Chahal, Trent Boult, Prasidh Krishna, then they’ll be a formidable unit once again.

List of All IPL Winners from 2008 to 2022

Here is the list of winners of all IPL seasons from 2008 to 2022:

  • 2008 – Rajasthan Royals
  • 2009 – Deccan Chargers
  • 2010 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2011 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2012 – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2013 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders
  • 2015 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2016 – Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • 2017 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2018 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2019 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2020 – Mumbai Indians
  • 2021 – Chennai Super Kings
  • 2022 – Gujarat Titans


Editor at Cricfacts.com.  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.