Best bowling figures in IPL 2024: Sandeep Sharma picks up five wickets against Mumbai

Best bowling figures in IPL 2024: During the IPL 2024 match between Mumbai Indians and Sawai Mansingh Indoor Stadium, Sandeep Sharma claimed five wickets for 18 runs.

On Monday, Sandeep Sharma achieved his first ever five-wicket haul in T20 cricket after picking up five wickets against Mumbai Indians in Jaipur. Furthermore, it was also the best return in the history of the IPL 2024.

Best bowling figures in IPL 2024: Sandeep Sharma picks up five wickets against Mumbai

There are several players who have picked up a five-wicket haul in the ongoing season, such as Jasprit Bumrah, Yash Thakur, T Natarajan, and Matheesha Pathirana.

  • Sandeep Sharma – 5/18 – RR vs MI
  • Jasprit Bumrah – 5/21 – MI vs RCB
  • Yash Thakur – 5/30 – LSG vs GT
  • T Natarajan – 4/19 – DC vs SRH
  • Matheesha Pathirana – 4/28 – MI vs CSK

It was a closely contested match between the Mumbai Indians and Royal Challengers Bangalore, where Mumbai Indians won the toss and elected to bat. MI opener Rohit Sharma was sent back to the dugout by Trent Boult in the very first over of the match.

During the match, Sandeep Sharma picked up two wickets for 0 runs and 10 runs of Ishan Kishan and Suryakumar Yadav respectively. By the end of the power play, MI had scored only 45 runs and lost three wickets.

Mohammad Nabi, who played 23 deliveries during his innings, helped stabilize the score of MI by scoring 23 runs in 17 deliveries before being dismissed by Chahal with MI struggling to score runs.

As a result of losing four wickets in the game, they were only able to score 54 runs. The partnership between Tilak Varma and Nehal Wadhera resulted in over 50 runs scored as a result of their cooperation. After 15 overs, Mumbai Indians had scored 131/4 by the end of their 15 overs at Jaipur.

Sandeep Sharma dismissed Tilak Varma after 65 runs in 45 deliveries. Trent Boult dismissed Nehal Wadhera for 49 runs.

Sandeep Sharma picked up his five-wicket haul with an economy rate of 4.50 whilst dismissing Hardik Pandya for 10 runs. Meanwhile, Tim David and Gerald Coetzee fell for 10 runs, handing Sharma a five-wicket haul with an economy rate of 4.50. As a result, Mumbai Indians managed to score 179 runs in 20 overs, losing 9 wickets in the process.

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Jos Buttler, the opening pair for the Rajasthan Royals, were able to score 61 runs jointly in the powerplay when faced with the target of 180 runs.

Rain interrupted the match, leading to a restart in which Jos Buttler was dismissed by Piyush Chawla after scoring 35 runs from 25 deliveries against him.

As part of a partnership with Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sanju Samson scored 100+ runs in a single innings. In just 59 deliveries, Yashasvi Jaiswal managed to score 100 runs. The Rajasthan Royals scored 183 runs and won the match by 9 wickets after scoring 183.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.