Who Hit the Biggest Six in IPL History

Longest Six in IPL History: Who has hit the longest six in IPL? It is important for teams to have players who are able to reach big sixes on command when playing a cricket tournament like the IPL. There is a popular question among the fans regarding the longest six in IPL history.

Albie Morkel set a record for the longest sixes in the IPL when he played for Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural edition of the game, and it still stands today. Currently, Albie’s humongous six of 125 meters is the longest six in the Indian Premier League. In the second spot on the table, we have the 124 meters long monster by Praveen Kumar. This record was achieved in 2011 while he was playing for Kings XI Punjab (now Punjab Kings).

Who Hit the Biggest Six in IPL History
Longest Six in IPL History

One of the reasons why IPL is considered as one of the best domestic T20 leagues in the world is the ability of the batsmen to clear the ropes at will, making it the best domestic T20 league in the world. There is one question that still remains in the minds of most people: who has hit the longest six in the history of the IPL?

Longest Six in IPL History

As a player in an IPL tournament, it’s important that you can score big sixes whenever you want. There are also power hitters in the tournament who encourage fans to get more enjoyment out of the game by demonstrating some long sixes in the championship. The last edition of the IPL saw Nicholas Pooran smack a 106 meter six, which was the longest six of the season. Given Nicholas Pooran’s free-flowing innings, it wasn’t surprising at all. 

It is worth noting that two other major scorers, MS Dhoni and Sanju Samson, were also able to hit sixes from a distance of 100m. You can check out this article to learn more about the longest six and the biggest hitters of the tournament.

PositionYearPlayerTeamDistance (meters)
12008Albie MorkelChennai Super Kings124 meters
22011Adam GilchristKings XI Punjab122 meters
32013Chris GayleKings XI Punjab119 meters
42016Ben CuttingSunrisers Hyderabad117meters
52009MS DhoniChennai Super Kings115 meters

1.Albie Morkel – 124 meters

The year was 2008, and the batsman Albie Morkel, who was at the height of his powers and one of the hardest hitters in the history of international cricket, was at the peak of his power. Pragyan Ojha is one of the unfortunate bowlers. In the 17th over of the Chennai Super Kings innings, Albie Morkel brought out his big levers when the team was struggling on 97/6. During the second day of the match, Ojha bowled a gentle loopy delivery in the slot, and the big South African got down on one knee and punched it out of his sight over deep midwicket. The ball landed on the roof of the MA Chidambaram stadium and was then seen escaping from the ground within a short period of time. When the six distance was measured, it was found to be 124 meters! This is the longest six in the history of the IPL.

2. Praveen Kumar – 124 meters

The fact that a bowler made it to the list of the biggest sixes launched in the history of the IPL is surprising. While playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2011, medium-pacer Praveen Kumar hit the ball into orbit with a 124-metre-long six that sent the ball into orbit. As of today, this is the largest six ever hit by an Indian player. The former Indian Premier League player, Praveen Kumar, who was a part of the league from 2008 to 2014, left his mark on each of the seasons he played in. With his swinging deliveries, he caused trouble for the batsmen.

Adam Gilchrist – 122 meters

On this list, one cannot miss out on Adam Gilchrist, the Australian star who has become a household name. Gilchrist, playing for Kings XI Punjab in 2011, was on one of his rampages. In fact, he picked out a slower delivery from Langeveldt at the start of the game and had already got his eye into it. Gilchrist was unimpressed when he saw it in his arc, so he dismissed it out of his sight. 122 meters were measured by the stadium manager as the ball sailed to the top tier of the Dharamsala stadium. As a wicketkeeper, the batsman has no doubt hit big sixes in the past, but he might have been surprised at the distance that six covered. To this day, it remains one of the longest sixes in IPL history.

4. Robin Uthappa – 120 meters

I find it hard to believe that a classic batsman like Robin Uthappa can smash the ball out of the park like that. However, he made history when he hit a 120 metre long six in 2010 when he was playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore. Historically, he has been a classic player who believes in timing, but when conditions demand, he has shown that he is capable of batting as a power-hitter as well. Despite the fact that he has managed to secure his fourth position for years now on the list, he still continues to do so. Aside from Robin being one of the top run-getters in the history of the IPL, he has also been a member of two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders.

5. Chris Gayle – 119 meters

Chris Gayle is a name that cannot be ignored when speaking about the greatest sixes in history. In the history of the Indian Premier League, Chris Gayle has the most number of sixes. I truly believe that he was made for this type of interaction, and he enjoys it to the fullest extent. He holds the record for the most sixes in the IPL with 357, more than any other player has ever done. Against Ashok Dinda of the Rising Pune Supergiants, he hit his longest ever IPL six of 119 meters, the longest ever by an IPL player. Before he was transferred to Punjab Kings, Gayle enjoyed a successful period as an opener with Royal Challengers Bangalore.

6. Yuvraj Singh – 119 meters

There is no way that this list would be complete without mentioning the sixer king, Yuvraj Singh. In 2009, he smashed a 119-meter six when he was captain of the Kings XI Punjab cricket team. Yuvraj Singh was among the top 10 six-hitters in the IPL with 149 sixes before he retired from the game. There are still many cricket fans around the world who remember his 119-meter six.

Longest Six in IPL History Related Searches

  • Biggest six in IPL in terms of the length the ball travelled
  • Biggest six in IPL in terms of length the ball travelled
  • Who hit biggest six in IPL in terms of length the ball travelled
  • Who hit biggest six in IPL in terms of the length the ball travelled
  • Highest meter six in IPL

1. Who hit the maximum six on 2009 IPL?

Kings XI Punjab’s Yuvraj Singh hit the longest six of 119 meters.

2. Who hit the maximum six on 2011 IPL?

Kings XI Punjab’s Adam Gilchrist hit a six of 122 meters.

3. who is the batsman with the most sixes in IPL history?

In the history of the IPL, Chris Gayle has hit the most sixes.

4. Who has delivered the Most Dot Balls In IPL?

In his career, Harbhajan Singh has played a total of 160 matches and bowled a total of 1,249 dot balls.

5. Who are the defending champions of IPL now?

IPL champion Mumbai Indians are currently defending their title.

6. Who hit the First six of IPL?

Brendon McCullum scored the first six of the IPL.

About Author

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket.

Similar Posts