Batsmen with Most Sixes in a Single IPL Season

The fast paced, big-hitting nature of T20 cricket is best exemplified in the Indian Premier League (IPL). Over 16 blockbuster seasons, fans have been treated to towering sixes and dominant batting displays.  

Let’s discuss the 5 batsmen who hit the maximum number of sixes in a single edition of the IPL.

Batsmen with Most Sixes in a Single IPL Season

No discussion about big sixes is complete without the “Universe Boss” Chris Gayle. The tall West Indian has been the most dominant six hitter in IPL history.

#1. Gayle’s 2012 Record – 59 Sixes in a Single IPL Season  

Gayle holds the record for most sixes hit in a single IPL season – a staggering 59 maximums in the 2012 edition playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore! 

He smashed an incredible 733 runs that season at 61 average and 220+ strike rate from just 15 innings. This encapsulates Gayle’s explosive batting.

Also Topped Six Hitting Charts in 2011, 2013 & 2015

Remarkably, Gayle has topped the six hitting charts in 4 out of 12 IPL seasons. Apart from his 59 sixes in 2012, he also notched up 51 sixes in 2013, 44 sixes in 2011 and 38 big hits in 2015 season.  

Clearly the T20 legend has set unprecedented benchmarks in IPL history.

#2. Jos Buttler in 2022 IPL Season  

The 2022 IPL league phase saw a Gaylesque performance, this time by English dasher Jos Buttler.  

45 Sixes Along With Four Centuries 

Batting for Rajasthan Royals, Buttler amassed a whopping 45 sixes in just 17 innings at an incredible strike rate of almost 150! 

He smashed four centuries in the season, equaling Virat Kohli’s record set in 2016. Buttler also notched up most boundaries hitting 83 fours that capped off his dominance.  

Orange Cap Winner With Most Boundaries  

Buttler amassed 863 runs at an average of almost 58 and was the unanimous choice for Orange Cap winner in 2022. His six hitting ability coupled with all round batting prowess underlined his status among the best IPL batters recently.

#3. Andre Russell – Most Sixes in 2019 Season  

The burly West Indian Andre Russell announced himself in IPL 2019 smashing 52 towering sixes while playing for Kolkata Knight Riders. 

This outpaced even Gayle’s season tallies highlighting Russell’s explosive power and big hitting abilities down the order.   

Others like fellow West Indians Kieron Pollard and Evin Lewis have also consistently notched up high six tallies season on season.

Among Indians, Hardik Pandya and KL Rahul have emerged as prolific six hitters in recent years.  

#4. KL Rahul and Hardik Pandya Leading Currently

In IPL 2022 itself, Rahul hit 30 sixes in 15 innings alongside 616 runs to underline his batting fireworks.  

Allrounder Hardik Pandya led Gujarat Titans to their maiden title in a stellar comeback season. He slammed 31 sixes from just 15 innings besides his brilliant bowling performances.

List of Fastest Fifty in IPL History 

Big Sixes in IPL Batting Dominance

The ability of the above batters to consistently clear the boundary underlines their clean and powerful hitting abilities. Muscle power, timing and hand-eye coordination have to be top-notch.  

It enables teams to rapidly up the scoring rate, especially during middle overs and death overs. Moments where matches take a decisive turn.  

Chris Gayle’s explosive batsmanship has single-handedly won many games over the years for his franchises. Buttler’s scoring rate led Rajasthan Royals to the 2022 final.  

In T20 cricket, such six hitting match-winners who can change games in minutes are invaluable. It exemplifies why power hitters are much sought after by franchises during the IPL auction. 

The tallies above showcase why the likes of Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and Andre Russell have achieved almost legendary status among fans worldwide thanks to their big sixes and batting fireworks!


Editor at  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.