List Of All The Winners of Fair Play Award In IPL From 2008 To 2021

In the Indian Premier League, teams that play in the spirit of the game are appreciated and rewarded for their efforts. Let’s look back at the winners of the Fair Play Award in every season of the IPL. A list of all the teams that won the IPL fair play award from 2008 to 2021.

When the IPL was introduced in 2008, the Fair Play award was a way to reward the team that had the best on-field conduct. The teams in every match are judged purely on the basis of their behavior on the field.

List Of All The Winners of Fair Play Award In IPL

Fair play award winners list in IPL history

As a result of good sportsmanship on both sides of the pitch, fair play awards are given to teams. In addition, the on-field umpires rate the teams on three different criteria after the match, including the third umpire whose job it is to oversee the third umpire. During each match, teams have the opportunity to collect a total of ten points.
The points of fair play are distributed as follows:

  • Spirit of the Game: 4 Points
  • Respect to their opposition: 2 Points
  • Shown respect towards the laws of the game: 2 Points
  • Shown respect to all the umpires: 2 Points

CSK prime the Checklist within the IPL

Chennai Super Kings have won the award for the most times (six) for all the 13 seasons that have taken place so far. It should be noted, however, that all of these awards were won until the 2015 season. Since 2016, the team has failed to win a fair award play.

It has won the award twice for the Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad, while the Rajasthan Royals and the Punjab Kings are the only teams to have won the award for a particular season.
As of yet, RCB, DC, and KKR have not topped the list in terms of fair-play awards in IPL 2021.

2008: Chennai Super Kings
2009: Kings XI Punjab
2010: Chennai Super Kings
2011: Chennai Super Kings
2012: Rajasthan Royals
2013: Chennai Super Kings
2014: Chennai Super Kings
2015: Chennai Super Kings
2016: Sunrisers Hyderabad
2017: Gujarat Lions
2018: Mumbai Indians
2019: Sunrisers Hyderabad
2020: Mumbai Indians
2021: Rajasthan Royals

About Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts