IPL Winners List All Season Since 2008 With Runner up Details(2008-21)

IPL Winners list from 2008 to 2021: BCCI announced the launch of IPL in the year 2007, and the first season took place at the end of the year 2008. The Indian Premier League has carved out a special place for itself in the hearts of cricket lovers from the very first season itself.

A number of different domestic leagues are played throughout the world, but the Indian Premier League is known as one of the biggest. There are numerous players who come from different parts of the world to join different franchises in order to play different matches.

IPL Winners List All Season Since

Mumbai Indians have been one of the most successful teams of the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the last few years while the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) are the defending champions.

IPL 2021 winner CSK

The Indian Premier League has had 14 successful seasons to date, and this season will be the 15th. In the final of Vivo IPL 2021 between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) was played on October 15, 2021.  When KKR won the toss and chose to bowl in the IPL final against CSK at the Dubai International Stadium, they chose to bowl. IPL champions Chennai Super Kings beat Kolkata Knight Riders by 27 runs to win their fourth title in the Indian Premier League.

IPL Winners & Runners List – From 2008 to 2021

YearWinnerRunner UpVenueNumber of teamsPlayer of the MatchPlayer of the Series
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight RidersDubai8Faf du PlessisHarshal Patel
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi CapitalsDubai8Trent BoultJofra Archer
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsHyderabad8Jasprit BumrahAndre Russell
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers HyderabadMumbai8Shane WatsonSunil Narine
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune SupergiantsHyderabad8Krunal PandyaBen Stokes
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers BangaloreBangalore8Ben CuttingVirat Kohli
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata8Rohit SharmaAndre Russell
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI PunjabBangalore8Manish PandeyGlenn Maxwell
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super KingsKolkata9Kieron PollardShane Watson
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super KingsChennai9Manvinder BislaSunil Narine
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers BangaloreChennai10Murali VijayChris Gayle
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai IndiansMumbai8Suresh RainaSachin Tendulkar
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers BangaloreJohhanesburg8Anil KumbleAdam Gilchrist
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super KingsMumbai8Yusuf PathanShane Watson

IPL 2020 Winner: Mumbai Indians

Having achieved the fifth title in five years, the Mumbai Indians supporters, taking in the entire IPL season in virtual mode, became overwhelmed with joy. As a result, Mumbai Indians is undoubtedly the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League, with Rohit Sharma the most successful captain of the tournament. As a result, Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 5 wickets in Dubai to clinch their fifth IPL title.

IPL 2019 Winner : Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians, who have won four titles so far, are now the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League. For the fourth time in the IPL finals, the Mumbai Indians faced the Chennai Super Kings. There have been three previous encounters between the two sides, and Mumbai leads with a record of 2-1, winning the tournament in 2013 and 2015 and losing in 2010.

IPL 2018 Winner : Chennai Super Kings

As the Chennai Super Kings returned to the game following a two-year ban following the match-fixing scandal, it was a comeback year for the team. With this being CSK’s seventh IPL Final, and Sunrisers Hyderabad playing only their second game at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, this was the seventh IPL Final for CSK.

IPL 2017 Winner : Mumbai Indians

The Mumbai Indians had become accustomed to lifting the IPL trophy every other odd year as if they have been doing it for years. IPL 2017 finals took place at the Rajiv Gandhi International Cricket Stadium, Hyderabad, which saw Mumbai Indians face the Rising Pune Supergiants. It was Mumbai Indians’ third title win under President Rohit Sharma.

IPL 2016 Winner : Sunrisers Hyderabad

During the 2016 IPL Finals, the Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore were matched against each other at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru, India. As Sunrisers batted first, they put up a humongous total of 208 runs for seven wickets in 20 overs. Sunrisers Hyderabad won their first IPL Finals and was RCB’s third final appearance.

While the Royal Challengers Bangalore were in control for most of the chase, after losing the big three: Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle, and AB De Villiers, the rest of their batting line-up failed to achieve the target by 8 runs. After 20 overs, the Royal Challengers Bangalore scored 200 runs for the loss of seven wickets. David Warner and his team caused one of the biggest upsets in the history of the IPL and lifted the first trophy ever awarded to an IPL team.

IPL 2015 Winner : Mumbai Indians

A year after winning the IPL title for the first time, Mumbai Indians lifted the title for the second time. The fact that Mumbai was playing Chennai Super in their third ever IPL finals for a third time was nearly too good to be a coincidence. In the wake of the IPL 2013 finals, the two teams met again in Kolkata’s Eden Gardens.

It was as if there was no difference between the two teams. From 20 overs, Mumbai scored 202 runs at a loss of five wickets in 20 overs, resulting in a massive win. The Chennai Super Kings lost the match by 41 runs as they managed only 161 runs at a loss of 8 wickets in the 20 overs and were defeated by 41 runs. CSK lost to MI for the second and consecutive time at the IPL finals.

About Author

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket.

Similar Posts