IPL 2011 Final Winner: Chennai vs Bangalore

IPL 2011 Final Winner: The Chennai Super Kings blew away the Royal Challengers Bangalore, winning by 58 runs, in the 2011 IPL final at Chennai to clinch the title in emphatic style.

This was their second IPL crown in four years of competition and they have made the knock-out stage every single year. For Bangalore, this was the second time unlucky in the finals after they finished runners-up in 2009.

IPL 2011 Final Statistics – IPL 2011 Final Winner?

Winning TeamChennai Super Kings
Highest Scorer (Orange Cap)Chris Gayle (608 runs)
Highest Wickets TakerLasith Malinga (28)
Man of the SeriesChris Gayle
Winning Team CaptainMS Dhoni
Maximum SixesChris Gayle
Runner Up TeamRoyal Challengers Bangalore

In the 2011 IPL final match Chennai won the toss and skipper Mahendra Singh Dhoni didn’t have any hesitation in opting to bat first in the high-stakes game. Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay gave them a flying start bringing up the 50 in only six overs and then went on to put on a record partnership for the first wicket.

The duo added 159 runs during their stay at the wicket spanning 14.5 overs. Hussey seemed to play a holding role and even so made 63 runs off 45 balls, with three fours and three sixes. But it was Vijay’s belligerence put paid to Bangalore’s chances. He made 95 runs off only 52 balls, hitting four fours and six sixes.

Vijay was out in the 19th over, cramping up obviously and exhaustion robbing him a chance to complete a chanceless hundred. Dhoni who had promoted himself to number three garnered 29 runs with Vijay in quick time, taking most of the strike himself.

IPL 2011 Final Winner: Chennai vs Bangalore

He scored a blazing 22 runs off 13 balls with two sixes. The following batsmen all tried to slog with around ten balls remaining, as Chris Gayle took two wickets in the last over, and for a minute it appeared as if Chennai might just fall short of 200. But Dwayne Bravo came in and hit the last ball for six, taking them to 205 for five.

The run chase was all about what Gayle could do. Unfortunately, he was out for a three-ball duck as Ravichandran Ashwin had him caught behind the wicket.

Mayank Agarwal was out for ten and they were already 16 for two in the third over. If any hope was remaining, it was in Virat Kohli who tried his best in the losing cause, scoring 35 runs off 32 balls.

But that the top score of the innings was 42 runs by Saurabh Tiwary who came down later in the order told a tale of woe for Bangalore. Ashwin took three for 16 in four overs and Shadab Jakati finished with two for 21 as Chennai outplayed their opponents on the day.

CSK vs RCB 2011 IPL Final Scorecard

Chennai Super Kings Innings

Michael Hussey
c Mithun b Syed Mohammad
Murali Vijay
c Vettori b Aravind
MS Dhoni (c)
c Kohli b Aravind
Suresh Raina
b Gayle
Albie Morkel
c Kohli b Gayle
S Badrinath
not out
Dwayne Bravo
not out
Extras9 (b 0, lb 7, w 2, nb 0, p 0)
Total205 (5 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batWriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Shadab Jakati, Doug Bollinger

IPL 2011 Final Scorecard: CSK Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
159-1 (M Hussey, 14.5), 188-2 (Vijay, 18.1), 188-3 (Dhoni, 18.2), 199-4 (Albie Morkel, 19.4), 199-5 (Raina, 19.5)

CSK vs RCB IPL Final Match: RCB Bowlers

Zaheer Khan40300007.50
Sreenath Aravind303920213.00
Chris Gayle40342008.50
JS Mohammad303910013.00
Daniel Vettori40340008.50
Abhimanyu Mithun202200011.00

Royal Challengers Bangalore Innings

Mayank Agarwal
b R Ashwin
Chris Gayle
lbw b Raina
Virat Kohli
lbw b S Raina
AB de Villiers
lbw b S Jakati
Luke Pomersbach
c & b S Jakati
Saurabh Tiwary
not out
Daniel Vettori
c & b R Ashwin
Abhimanyu Mithun
c D Bollinger b DJ Bravo
Zaheer Khan
c M Hussey b D Bollinger
JS Mohammad
not out
Extras6 (b 2, lb 2, w 1, nb 1, p 0)
Total147 (8 wkts, 20 Ov)
Did not batSreenath Aravind

IPL 2011 Final Scorecard: RCB Fall of Wickets

Fall of Wickets
1-1 (Gayle, 0.4), 16-2 (Mayank Agarwal, 2.3), 48-3 (de Villiers, 6.3), 62-4 (Pomersbach, 8.3), 69-5 (Kohli, 9.6), 70-6 (Vettori, 10.2), 92-7 (Mithun, 12.6), 130-8 (Zaheer, 18.4)

CSK vs RCB IPL 2011 Final Match: CSK Bowlers

Ravichandran Ashwin40163004.00
Albie Morkel30240008.00
Doug Bollinger30281019.33
Shadab Jakati40212105.25
Suresh Raina40391009.75
Dwayne Bravo20151007.50

Who Won the IPL 2011 final Match?

The Chennai Super Kings won the IPL 2011 final match.

Alice Mirza

Cricket is Alice Mirza’s passion, and he loves playing, watching, and discussing the game. The Cricket blog is my way of spreading my thoughts about the game. Previously, I ghost-wrote for a few websites. For me, cricket is more than just a game.