Which Bowler Has Delivered the Fastest Ball in IPL History?

In the history of the Indian Premier League from the Indian side, Umran Malik bowled the fastest ball of the tournament, becoming the first Indian to clock 153 kmph. Bowling fast is an art form in itself, and only the best of the best can push it to its limits.

There is no doubt that the Indian Premier League is the pinnacle of all domestic stages. It is here where we see those limits being pushed to their limits. During this stage, the best bowlers from all over the world take the field. 

Fastest Ball in IPL History

Related:IPL 2022 All Teams Kits Jerseys Clothing and Sponsors

Fastest Ball in IPL History

There are many legends in the game from Shoaib Akhtar, Brett Lee, Shaun Tait, to those that have only appeared recently, such as Dale Steyn, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Jofra Archer, Lockie Ferguson, Navdeep Saini, Pat Cummins. Umran Malik, a pacer for the Sunrisers Hyderabad team, has also made waves recently due to his speed and accuracy. Throughout the history of cricket, there have been a number of bowlers who have bowled deliveries exceeding 150 kmph. 

Here are the 5 fastest balls bowled in IPL.

Fastest bowler in IPL: Shaun Tait – 157.71 kmph

Shaun Tait was one of the fastest bowlers to have ever lived. The sheer speed and bounce of his throws could send down thunderbolts that rattled the batters off their feet. A constant source of injuries plagued his career, and he was constantly in and out of the team. Despite this, Tait had a decent IPL career.

It is interesting to note that he played for the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in four seasons (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013) and appeared in 21 games.It is interesting to note that he played for the Rajasthan Royals (RR) in four seasons (2010, 2011, 2012 and 2013) and appeared in. Over the course of those four years, he took 23 wickets. He recorded the fastest delivery in IPL history back in 2011. 

The ball was delivered at 157.7 kmph by Tait to Aaron Finch, who was playing for Delhi Daredevils (now, Delhi Capitals) at the time. Ten years later, the former Australian fast bowler still holds the record for the fastest ball in the IPL.

Related:IPL 2022: Best Fielders of IPL

Fastest bowler in IPL:Anrich Nortje – 156.22 kmph

In the IPL for the first time, Nortje surprised everyone with his blistering pace, and turned out to be the fastest bowler in the tournament. In Nortje, DC came across a player that would break all the pace records in the IPL, and the bowler turned out to be a gem. It’s safe to say that Nortje is the ideal partner for fellow countryman Rabada in DC’s lineup. 

With some bullet-like deliveries, he currently holds three of the top three spots for the fastest ball in the Indian Premier League. He recorded 22 wickets from 16 games during the 2016 Indian Premier League.

Fastest bowler in IPL – Dale Steyn – 154.4 kmph 

Dale Steyn’s inclusion in this list of the top bowlers of the IPL is no surprise since he has been responsible for some of the fastest deliveries in its history. As far as fast bowlers are concerned, he was probably one of the best of his generation. He has been extremely consistent regardless of whether he is playing red-ball cricket or white-ball cricket.

As well as picking wickets, he also releases some absolute thunderbolts when it comes to bowling. At his peak, he was regarded as one of the fastest drivers and was able to consistently go over 150 kilometers per hour. In the Indian Premier League, Steyn has clocked one of the fastest deliveries in the competition. While playing for the now-defunct Deccan Chargers in the 2012 season, he sent a ball down that clocked 154.40 kmph, which is the fifth-fastest ever ball in the history of this cash-rich Indian T20 league.

Despite being injured most of the time, Steyn still has an excellent record in the Indian Premier League. During the course of the tournament, the South African legend has managed to pick up 97 wickets at an economy rate of 6.91. Furthermore, he has also delivered some of the fastest balls in the tournament at a top speed of 154.4 kmph.

Fastest bowler in IPL-Kagiso Rabada – 154.23 kmph, 153.91 kmph

The South African pacer Kagiso Rabada is another gem of a pacer. Last season, he proved to be a trump card for the Washington Capitals, who were able to deliver blitzkrieg performances. He was a major factor in Delhi’s victory in the final. He claimed the purple cap for the highest wicket-taker for the season, by taking 30 wickets in 17 games, and established himself as one of the top comers in the league for a long period.

He has also made it consistently over the 150 kmph mark in the past few. There have been 16 occasions in the history of the IPL that he has exceeded the 150 kmph mark. According to the stats displayed on iplt20.com, Rabada has reached that speed 16 times. It is noteworthy that some of those deliveries were also in the top 10. This includes 154.23 deliveries, which puts him in the top five for these types of deliveries. The other was 153.91 kilometers per hour.

Related:Best IPL Bowlers of All Time

Lockie Ferguson – 153.84 kmph

The way Lockie Ferguson plays for New Zealand means he should be given more recognition, as he probably is one of the most underrated pacers in the game at the moment. As a result of his pace during the middle and the death overs over the past couple of years, he has been extremely important for them.

Although he didn’t play a lot of matches, he was still able to bowl one delivery with a velocity of 153.84 km/h, which made him one of the top 5 fastest bowlers of the IPL 2020. Ferguson has also breached the 150 kmph mark on several occasions during the 2020 season. In fact, Ferguson has recorded one of the fastest deliveries in the history of the IPL during this season. The average speed that he achieved during the season was 153.84 kmph, which places him in the top ten fastest deliveries of all time.

Fastest Ball in IPL History by an Indian

Umran Malik: 152.95kph, 152.05kph

Just three appearances in the IPL have attracted attention to this Jammu-Kashmir pacer from SRH. Even though he picked up only two wickets in 2021, he was impressed with the raw pace and accuracy he displayed, as is the case with many fast bowlers. Malik put up an impressive performance against Virat Kohli and his Royal Challengers Bangalore team, helping him earn a call-up to the Indian team for the T20 World Cup as a net bowler.

About Author

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket.

Similar Posts