History of the T20 World Cup 2022 Winners

A T20 World Cup is held once every two years by the International Cricket Council (ICC). In the last five years, the ICC has made some changes to the planning of their T20 World Cup. This is due to the COVID-19 pandemic and some changes they have made to the planning of the tournament. It is now almost certain that cricket fans will witness two T20 World Cups in two years (2021 and 2022).

Last time, Australia was the winner of the ICC T20 World Cup. In the year 2007, the inaugural event was held, and the T20 World Cup 2022 will be held in Australia.

YearWinnersMargin Won ByRunners UpPlayer of the SeriesTop Run ScorerHighest Wicket TakerHost
2021Australia8 wicketsNew ZealandDavid WarnerBabar AzamWanindu HasarangaOman & UAE
2016West Indies4 wicketsEnglandVirat KohliTamim IqbalMohammad NabiIndia
2014Sri Lanka6 wicketsIndiaVirat KohliVirat KohliAhsan Malik and Imran TahirBangladesh
2012West Indies36 runsSri LankaShane WatsonShane WatsonAjantha MendisSri Lanka
2010England7 wicketsAustraliaKevin PietersenMahela JayawardeneDirk NannesWest Indies
2009Pakistan8 wicketsSri LankaTillakaratne DilshanTillakaratne DilshanUmar GulEngland
2007India5 runsPakistanShahid AfridiMatthew HaydenUmar GulSouth Africa


Which country has won the most T20 World Cup titles?

Team NameNo. of times Champion
West Indies2
Sri Lanka1

The West Indies are the only team in history to have won the ICC T20 World Cup trophy twice. The Australian team, which has won the ICC 50-over Cricket World Cup trophy five times, has not won the ICC T20 World Cup once. There was a close call for them to win the trophy in 2010 when they lost in the final match of the series to their Ashes rivals England.

The 2014 T20 World Cup champions Sri Lanka are the only team to have lost multiple T20 World Cup Finals. In 2009, they lost the final, and in 2012 they lost the final again.

#7 T20 World Cup 2021 Winner – Australia


In the final, Australia defeated New Zealand by 8 wickets to win their maiden T20 World Cup title. It is never easy to chase down a target of 173 in a global final, but with Marsh’s power and reach, he made the task look like a piece of cake in the company of David Warner (53 off 38 balls), who also turned the wheel of fortune for himself and his team during a victory, achieved in 18.5 overs. The player of the match for the match was Mitchell Marsh.

#6 T20 World Cup 2016 Winner – West Indies


West Indies became the first team to win the T20 World Cup twice in the same season. The Caribbean side won the 2016 T20 World Cup in India, becoming the first team from the region to do so. In the final, the Caribbean side defeated England. Only one match was lost by the West Indies to Afghanistan. The other matches were won by the team.

#5 T20 World Cup 2014 Winner – Sri Lanka


In 2014, Sri Lanka defeated India in the final match of the T20 World Cup to become the new champions. The islanders lost one match against England in the group stage, but in the rest of the matches, they were undefeated.

#4 T20 World Cup 2012 Winner – West Indies


While losing to Australia in their opening match at the ICC T20 World Cup 2012, West Indies still won the tournament. In the final match, the Caribbean team defeated the Sri Lankan hosts.

It is a pleasure to watch Marlon Samuels in the final of the T20 World Cup 2012. In the 2012 T20 World Cup final in the Caribbean, the West Indies were 14/2 after the Powerplay and 32/2 after 10 overs.

#3 T20 World Cup 2010 Winner – England


For the first time in history, a non-Asian team won the T20 World Cup in 2010. They defeated their Ashes rivals Australia in the final. However, after losing their first game to the West Indies, the English team went on to win all of their following matches and claimed the trophy.

#2 T20 World Cup 2009 Winner – Pakistan


In 2009, Pakistan won the T20 World Cup two years after finishing runners-up in the first edition. The tournament was held in England, and Pakistan defeated Sri Lanka in the final to become the tournament’s champion. The Pakistani team lost their first match against England and their Super 8 match against Sri Lanka. However, they did manage to win the trophy.

#1 T20 World Cup 2007 Winner – India


In the T20 World Cup for the first time, the Indian cricket team was the winner. The Indian team, captained by MS Dhoni, defeated Pakistan in the finals to win the tournament as a whole. The only game they lost in the tournament was against New Zealand in the Super 8 round.

Which teams have won the T20 World Cup?

West Indies, India, England, Pakistan, Australia, and Sri Lanka have won the ICC T20 World Cup till now.

Who was the first winner of T20 World Cup?

India was the first country to win the T20 World Cup title against their arch-rivals Pakistan.

Who won the T20 World Cup 2016?

West Indies emerged as the champions of the ICC T20 World Cup.

Who won the T20 World Cup 2021?

Australia emerged as the champions in the latest edition of the ICC T20 World Cup.

When did Pakistan win the T20 World Cup?

Pakistan won the T20 World Cup only once in 2009 against Sri Lanka.

How many T20 World Cups has India won?

T20 World Cup has been won only once by India, in 2007 which happened to be the very first edition of the tournament. In 2014, they came very close to winning the cup again but were defeated by Sri Lanka in the final and became the runners-up that season.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts