IPL Teams who Qualified Most Times for Playoffs

Teams with most IPL playoff qualifications: As the IPL enters its 17th edition season in 2024, millions of fans are eager to see which teams will qualify for the lucrative playoffs.

In this article, we will look at the IPL Teams who qualified most times for Playoffs over the years. The data covers all seasons from 2008 to 2023.

IPL Teams who Qualified Most Times for Playoffs

List of IPL Playoff Teams

The table below shows which IPL teams have made the playoffs the most. Check out Chennai Super Kings, they’ve qualified 10 times out of only 14 seasons!

TeamTotal SeasonTotal PlayoffsWonRunners-up
Chennai Super Kings14122010, 2011, 2018, 2021,20232010
Mumbai Indians16102013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 20202008, 2012, 2013, 2015, 2019
Royal Challengers Bangalore1682009, 2011, 2016
Kolkata Knight Riders1662012, 20142021
Sunrisers Hyderabad11620162018
Delhi Capitals1662020
Rajasthan Royals14520082022
Gujarat Titans222022
Lucknow Super Giants22
Punjab Kings1622014

#1. Chennai Super Kings – 12 Times

The Chennai Super Kings have been the most consistent IPL team over the years. They have reached the playoffs a whopping 12 times out of the 14 seasons they have been part of.

The CSK team led by legendary captain MS Dhoni has lifted the IPL trophy five times in 2010, 2011, 2018, 2021 and 2023. They have also finished as runners-up five times.

#2. Mumbai Indians – 10 Times   

The defending champions Mumbai Indians are close behind with 10 playoff appearances. Under captain Rohit Sharma, MI has won a record five IPL titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. 

Overall, Mumbai has played six finals, ending up as runners-up in 2008, 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2019. MI is clearly one of the strongest and most successful teams in IPL history.

#3. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 8 Times 

The Royal Challengers Bangalore franchise featuring superstars like Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers has qualified eight times for the playoffs in 16 seasons.

They are yet to win their maiden IPL title, having lost three finals in 2009, 2011 and 2016. But RCB remains one of the most popular teams in the IPL.  

#4. Kolkata Knight Riders – 6 Times    

The KKR, led by Eoin Morgan, have reached the playoffs six times in their history. They were the champions in 2012 and 2014, and finished as runners-up in the 2021 season. 

KKR made it to the playoffs from 2016-2018, demonstrating their consistency over the years. With a balanced squad, they will look to add to their playoff qualifications tally.

#5. Sunrisers Hyderabad – 6 Times 

SRH, one of the newer IPL teams, has made playoffs six times since their debut in 2013. Under captain Kane Williamson, SRH won their maiden title in 2016 and finished as runners-up in 2018.   

They had an impressive run making the playoffs four seasons in a row from 2016-2020. But SRH had a poor season in 2021 and 2022 and would be hoping to bounce back.  

#6. Delhi Capitals – 6 Times  

The Delhi Capitals franchise has seen its fair share of struggles, but they’ve still managed six playoff qualifications.

They finished top four in 2008, 2009, 2012, 2019, 2020, and 2021 but are yet to win their first IPL title. DC reached the finals once in 2020 but lost to Mumbai Indians.

#7. Rajasthan Royals – 5 Times 

The inaugural champions Royals have five playoff appearances in their history. They were table toppers in the first season in 2008 under legendary Shane Warne’s captaincy.  

After their title win in 2008, RR made three more playoff entries in 2013, 2015 and 2018 but couldn’t replicate their success. They would be aiming to get back to their best in the coming seasons.

Other Teams   

The Punjab franchise has struggled to find consistency, only making the playoffs twice in 2014 and 2021. On the other hand, both the new comers – Lucknow and Gujarat – made the playoffs in their debut season in 2022.


In summary, CSK leads the table with a whopping twelve playoff qualifications in fourteen seasons. They are followed by five time champions Mumbai (10 times), RCB (8 times), KKR & SRH (six times each), and Delhi (six times).  

It will be interesting to see if CSK can hold onto their pole position in the coming years as other teams aim to topple them from the perch.

Which IPL team has qualified for playoffs the maximum number of times?

The Chennai Super Kings have made the playoffs a record 12 times out of 14 seasons.

How many times have Mumbai Indians reached the IPL playoffs? 

Defending champions Mumbai Indians have qualified for the playoffs 10 times in IPL history.

Which team has never won an IPL title despite multiple playoff qualifications?

Royal Challengers Bangalore remains the only major team to have never won the IPL title despite 8 playoff appearances.

Who was the first-ever IPL champion? 

Rajasthan Royals, led by Shane Warne, won the inaugural edition of the IPL in 2008.

Which new IPL team made the playoffs in their debut season?

Both the new franchises in IPL 2022 – Lucknow Super Giants and Gujarat Titans – qualified for the playoffs in their very first season.


Editor at Cricfacts.com.  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.