KKR All IPL Seasons Captains List (2008 – 2024)

In the first three seasons, Knight Riders performed poorly, tarnishing its image. As the team qualified for the playoffs after qualifying from the fourth season, its performance improved from the fourth season, as well. Under the captaincy of Gautam Gambhir, the Kolkata Knight Riders lifted the IPL trophy two years in a row in 2012 and 2014.

You can find here the KKR captains of all the seasons of the IPL from 2008 to 2024. It is a matter of knowing who was the captain of the Kolkata Knight Riders during which season of the Indian Premier League.

Following is a complete list of all the Kolkata Knight Riders captains in all seasons of the Indian Premier League:

KKR All IPL Seasons Captains List

#1. Sourav Ganguly (2008-2010)

Sourav Ganguly, the iconic former Indian cricket captain, was KKR’s first captain in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. Ganguly’s leadership experience and cricketing acumen helped him guide the team to a respectable sixth-place finish in their first season. Ganguly continued as the captain in the following season, but the team finished in eighth place, leading to his removal as captain in 2011.

Who is the Owner of Rajasthan Royals in IPL

#2. Brendon McCullum (2009-2010)

Brendon McCullum, the Kiwi wicketkeeper-batsman, was appointed as KKR’s captain for the 2009 season. He led the team to a victory in their first game against the reigning champions Rajasthan Royals with a blistering 158 not out, which remains the highest individual score in the IPL. McCullum continued to lead the team in the 2010 season, but the team could not perform well, finishing in sixth place.

#3. Gautam Gambhir (2011-2017)

Gautam Gambhir, the Indian opening batsman, was appointed as KKR’s captain in 2011. Gambhir’s leadership proved to be a turning point for the team, as he led KKR to their first-ever IPL title in 2012. He continued as captain in 2013, leading the team to another championship victory. Gambhir led the team for a total of seven seasons, during which the team finished in the top four in five of those seasons.

#4. Dinesh Karthik (2018-2020)

Dinesh Karthik, the Indian wicketkeeper-batsman, was appointed as KKR’s captain in 2018, replacing Gautam Gambhir. Karthik’s first season as captain was a successful one, as KKR finished third in the IPL standings. However, the team’s performance declined in the following seasons, with the team finishing in fifth place in 2019 and sixth place in 2020. Karthik stepped down as captain midway through the 2020 season and was replaced by Eoin Morgan.

#5. Eoin Morgan (2020-2021)

Eoin Morgan, the English middle-order batsman, was appointed as KKR’s captain in the 2020 season, taking over from Dinesh Karthik. Morgan’s captaincy had an immediate impact, as KKR won four out of their last five games to secure a spot in the playoffs. However, the team was knocked

KKR Captains in All IPL Seasons

IPL SeasonKKR Captain
IPL 2024 Season 17Nitish Rana
IPL 2023 Season 16Nitish Rana
IPL 2022 Season 15Shreyas Iyer
IPL 2021 Season 14Eoin Morgan
IPL 2020 Season 13Eoin Morgan
IPL 2019 Season 12Dinesh Karthik
IPL 2018 Season 11Dinesh Karthik
IPL 2017 Season 10Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2016 Season 9Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2015 Season 8Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2014 Season 7Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2013 Season 6Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2012 Season 5Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2011 Season 4Gautam Gambhir
IPL 2010 Season 3Sourav Ganguly
IPL 2009 Season 2Brendon McCullum
IPL 2008 Season 1Sourav Ganguly

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.