World Cup 2023: Most Man of the Match in ODI World Cup History

Most Man of the Match in ODI World Cup – The title of “Man of the Match” is awarded to the best performer in any sport. In cricket, it is presented to a player who contributes significantly to their team’s victory or achieving a winning position. Winning a Man of the Match award holds a unique significance for every cricketer. However, clinching this accolade during the ODI World Cup holds an even more extraordinary meaning.

Sachin Tendulkar holds the notable record for the highest number of Man of the Match awards in international cricket, accumulating a remarkable total of 72 awards. Impressively, he also won the most Man of the Match awards in the history of the ODI World Cup.

Let’s delve into the Most Man of the Match awards in Cricket World Cup.

Also read, Golden Ball Winner in ODI World Cup History | Golden Bat Winner in ODI World Cup

Most Man of the Match in World Cup history

Most Man of the Match in ODI World Cup

Here are the details on Players with Most Man of the Match in World Cup history.

Sachin Tendulkar – 9

Sachin Tendulkar stands proudly at the pinnacle of this category, just as he does in various other records. His remarkable achievements include clinching nine Man of the Match awards throughout the history of the ODI World Cup.

Additionally, he shares the distinction of participating in the highest number of editions. From 1992 to 2011, Sachin actively took part in six editions, amassing a total of 2278 runs at an astounding average of 56.95. His awe-inspiring performance comprises six centuries and an impressive tally of 15 half-centuries.

  • vs PAK in 1992 – 54* runs and 1/37
  • vs ZIM in 1992 – 81 runs and 1/35
  • vs KEN in 1996 – 127* runs and 0/26
  • vs WI in 1996 – 70 runs
  • vs KEN in 1999 – 140* runs and 0/23
  • vs ZIM in 2003 – 81 runs
  • vs NAM in 2003 – 152 runs
  • vs PAK in 2003 – 98 runs
  • vs PAK in 2011 – 85 runs

Glenn McGrath – 6

Glenn McGrath, the former Australian pacemaker who earned the title of Man of the Tournament in 2007, has achieved the distinction of securing six Man of the Match awards during his remarkable World Cup journey.

Displaying his prowess, he actively participated in four editions spanning from 1996 to 2007, emerging as the leading wicket-taker. McGrath’s exceptional bowling skills enabled him to amass a remarkable tally of 71 wickets in a mere 39 matches.

  • vs WI in 1999 – 5/14
  • vs IND in 1999 – 3/34
  • vs NAM in 2003 – 7/15
  • vs BAN in 2007 – 3/16
  • vs IRE in 2007 – 3/17
  • vs SA in 2007 – 3/18

Rohit Sharma – 5

Rohit Sharma has proven himself as one of the quickest achievers in won five Man of the Match awards within World Cup tournaments. A significant contributing factor to this feat was his remarkable five centuries during the 2019 World Cup.

Rohit’s active participation was observed in the 2015 and 2019 editions, where he showcased his talent across 17 matches. His outstanding performance led to a total score of 978 runs, achieving an impressive average of 65.20, along with the remarkable accomplishment of notching six centuries.

  • vs BAN in 2015 – 137 runs
  • vs SA in 2019 – 122* runs
  • vs PAK in 2019 – 140 runs
  • vs BAN in 2019 – 104 runs
  • vs SL in 2019 – 103 runs

Viv Richards – 5

The legendary West Indian cricketer, Viv Richards, won five Man of the Match awards within the annals of World Cup history. His notable contributions spanned across four editions, stretching from 1975 to 1987. Richards played a pivotal role in propelling the West Indies to victory in the 1975 and 1983 tournaments.

Over the course of 23 matches, he showcased his exceptional skills by accumulating a total of 1013 runs, maintaining an impressive batting average of 63.31. Furthermore, his multifaceted talents extended to the bowling arena as well, as he managed to claim 10 wickets during his remarkable World Cup journey.

Sanath Jayasuriya – 5

Sanath Jayasuriya, the former Sri Lankan opening batsman, claimed the prestigious Player of the Tournament accolade during the triumphant 1996 World Cup campaign when Sri Lanka clinched their maiden title. Throughout his illustrious career, Jayasuriya’s brilliance shone as he garnered five well-deserved Man of the Match awards across 38 matches.

Notably, he shares this distinction of five MOTM awards with seven other players. Jayasuriya’s exceptional performances led to these awards, achieved through standout displays against formidable opponents such as India, England, New Zealand, Bangladesh, and the West Indies.

  • vs IND in 1996- 79 runs
  • vs ENG in 1996 – 72 runs and 2/45
  • vs New Zealand in 2003 – 120 runs and 1/32
  • vs Bangladesh in 2007 – 109 runs
  • vs West Indies in 2007 – 115 runs and 3/38

Most Player of the Match in ODI World Cup List

Here is the List of players with Most Man of the Match in ODI World Cup.

Sachin Tendulkar (IND)1992-2011459
Glenn McGrath (AUS)1996-2007396
Rohit Sharma (IND)2015-2019175
Viv Richards (WI)1975-1987235
Sanath Jayasuriya (SL)1992-2007385
Graham Gooch (ENG)1979-1992215
Mark Waugh (AUS)1992-1999225
Lance Klusener (SA)1999-2003145
AB de Villiers (SA)2007-2015235
Shane Warne (AUS)1996-1999174


Who won the most man of the match in the ODI World Cup?

Sachin Tendulkar won 9 the Most MOM Awards in ODI World Cups.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.