Most Matches won Against SRH in IPL 

The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) stormed into the IPL by reaching the playoffs in their debut 2013 season. Under David Warner, they went on to clinch the trophy in 2016 by defeating RCB.

However, recent campaigns have been disappointing for Hyderabad. Naturally, some rival teams relish facing the Orange Army given their superior head-to-head records. Let’s analyze who has the most wins against SRH over the years.

Most Matches won Against SRH in IPL 

Most Matches won Against Sunrisers Hyderabad

Kolkata Knight Riders2008-20222315801
Chennai Super Kings2008-20221813500
Delhi Capitals2008-202221101100
Mumbai Indians2008-2022189900
Royal Challengers Bangalore2008-20222291201
Rajasthan Royals2008-2022168800
Punjab Kings2008-20221961300
Lucknow Super Giants2022-202211000
Gujarat Titans2022-202221100

1. Kolkata Knight Riders – 15 Wins 

Two-time champions Kolkata Knight Riders dominate the head-to-head battle against SRH with 15 victories from their 23 contests so far.

After a slow start, KKR found great rhythm against Hyderabad over the past five seasons. They have registered 7 wins out of 8 matches during this dominant phase.

Matches at Eden Gardens are virtually fortresses for the Knights whenever SRH visit. No wonder Kolkata starts as firm favorites during these high-voltage clashes.

2. Chennai Super Kings – 13 Wins   

Four-time winners Chennai Super Kings boast an exceptional run against Sunrisers Hyderabad as well. MS Dhoni has led CSK to 13 wins out of their 18 meetings so far.

CSK crushed SRH’s dreams in 2018 by securing a thrilling final win under captain Dhoni’s masterful leadership. Seasoned campaigners like Dwayne Bravo and Ambati Rayudu invariably step up against Hyderabad.

With Ravindra Jadeja taking over captaincy duties, CSK will be eager to maintain dominance over SRH next season.

3. Delhi Capitals – 10 Wins 

After initial struggles against Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals have turned the tide recently with a strong 10-11 head-to-head record now.

Delhi will fondly remember young keeper-batsman Rishabh Pant blasting a scintillating 128 not out to flatten SRH in 2018. Pace ace Kagiso Rabada also enjoys hunting SRH batsmen frequently.

Playing under coach Ricky Ponting, DC will be keen to notch consistent wins against 2016 winners Sunrisers Hyderabad next season.

4. Mumbai Indians – 9 Wins 

Surprisingly, four-time defending champions Mumbai Indians don’t rule the roost against SRH. Their battles have been intensely fought on both sides, resulting in a 9-9 record currently from 18 matches.

Skipper Rohit Sharma has amassed 459 runs against Hyderabad to lead MI’s run charts in this rivalry. Seasoned bowlers like Jasprit Bumrah and Rahul Chahar have delivered clinical performances too.

Needless to say, any MI vs SRH contest sparks very high anticipation among fans due to the sheer batting firepower on both sides.

5. Royal Challengers Bangalore – 9 Wins   

Virat Kohli’s Royal Challengers Bangalore share the fourth spot with exactly 9 wins apiece against Sunrisers Hyderabad till date.

Despite RCB’s heartbreak against SRH during the 2016 final, their exciting batsmen enjoy playing against Hyderabad bowlers.

AB de Villiers has often taken apart SRH attacks almost single-handedly during his superb batting for RCB over the years.

With Faf du Plessis as the new captain, RCB will be targeting much more consistent results against the Orange Army next season.

Home Dominance Analysis  

– KKR boasts an exceptional 12 wins out of 14 contests against SRH at Eden Gardens
– Whereas CSK has secured 7 wins out of 8 matches against them at Chepauk Stadium  

Familiar home conditions have clearly helped KKR and CSK severely dominate these fixtures against Hyderabad over the past decade.

SRH’s Best and Worst IPL Seasons  

Not surprisingly, Sunrisers Hyderabad’s most successful IPL campaign came in 2016 under David Warner when they lifted the trophy in only their fourth season.

After finishing second in the league stage, SRH narrowly beat RCB by 8 runs in a thrilling final. Aussie opener Warner was the leading run-scorer with 848 runs in that edition.

By contrast, 2021 turned out to be SRH’s worst season when they finished last, managing just 3 wins from 14 games. Captain Warner was first replaced by Kane Williamson and later dropped from the playing XI itself due to his woeful form.

It underlined the need for a successful team rebuild, which can hopefully vault SRH back into the playoffs next season.

Which team has most wins against SRH?

Kolkata Knight Riders holds the best record against SRH with 15 wins.  

How many times CSK has beaten Sunrisers Hyderabad?

Chennai Super Kings has defeated SRH 13 times in 18 head-to-head contests.

What is the head-to-head between MI and SRH?

Mumbai Indians and Sunrisers Hyderabad have both won 9 matches each out of 18 games.  

When did SRH win their only IPL title?

Sunrisers Hyderabad won their maiden IPL crown in 2016 under captain David Warner.  

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.