SRH All IPL Final Match List

SRH All IPL Final Match List: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) is a franchise cricket team based in Hyderabad that plays in the Indian Premier League (IPL). The franchise is owned by Kalanithi Maran of the Sun TV Network. SRH was founded in 2012 after the Hyderabad-based Deccan Chargers were terminated by the IPL. Since making their IPL debut in 2013, SRH has reached the playoffs in every season, including winning the title in 2016.

SRH All IPL Final Match List

SRH has reached the IPL final twice in their short history, winning once in 2016 and finishing runner-up in 2018. As we can see from the table, they faced Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2016 and Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in 2018. Let’s look at some details around both those IPL finals.

SRH All IPL Final Match List

2016Royal Challengers BangaloreBengaluruMay 29, 2016Champion
2018Chennai Super KingsWankhedeMay 27, 2018Runners-up

SRH’s Maiden IPL Title in 2016

SRH All IPL Final Match List: With the hard-hitting batting lineup featuring David Warner and captain Kane Williamson, SRH was a strong title contender in 2016 under Warner’s leadership. They finished 3rd in the group stage with 8 wins in 14 matches.

In the playoffs, SRH won the eliminator against KKR and then beat Gujarat Lions in Qualifier 2. That set up a finals clash with RCB, led by batting phenom Virat Kohli who was in sublime form.

In the final on May 29, 2016, SRH batted first and posted a strong total of 208/7 thanks to quickfire half-centuries from Warner (69 off 38 balls) and Williamson (47 off 36 balls). RCB got off to a flying start as well with Virat Kohli (54 off 35 balls) and Chris Gayle (76 off 38 balls) putting on 114 runs.

But once Gayle was dismissed, SRH regained control as RCB finished with 200/7. SRH won their maiden IPL title by 8 runs in a thrilling final against RCB.

Heartbreak in 2018 IPL Final vs CSK

SRH could not defend their IPL title in 2017, losing in the playoffs. But they came back strong in 2018 and finished atop the group stage with 9 wins, led by captain Kane Williamson.

They came up against a dominant CSK led by MS Dhoni who had beaten them 3 times earlier in the season. In the final, SRH batted first and posted 178/6 courtesy fifties from Williamson (47 off 36 balls) and Yusuf Pathan (45* off 25 balls).

However, CSK opener Shane Watson stole the show with a spectacular match-winning century. His unbeaten 117 off 57 balls powered CSK to 181/2 and a comfortable win by 8 wickets. SRH had to be content with a runner-up finish as MS Dhoni lifted the 2018 IPL trophy with the mighty CSK.

Key Takeaways

In summary, here are some key takeaways about SRH’s journey to IPL finals:

  • Made IPL debut in 2013, won maiden title under David Warner in 2016
  • Defeated RCB by 8 runs in 2016 final to become IPL champions
  • Qualified for playoffs every season since their debut year
  • Came up short against CSK in 2018 final, losing by 8 wickets
  • Faced RCB and CSK in their only two IPL final appearances till date
  • Will be aiming for more final appearances and titles in the coming years

Going forward, the Sunrisers Hyderabad will be keen to bolster their squad with star players to make more deep playoff runs. With match-winners like skipper Kane Williamson, Rashid Khan, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, and Umran Malik, they have the ammunition to contend for more titles. It remains to be seen if SRH can capture that elusive second IPL trophy in the next few seasons!

Frequently Asked Questions

Q: Who is the current captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad?
A: Kane Williamson is the current captain of SRH.

Q: How many times has SRH reached the IPL final?
A: SRH has reached the IPL final twice (2016 and 2018).

Q: Who did SRH defeat to win their first IPL title in 2016?
A: SRH defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore by 8 runs to win their maiden IPL title in 2016.

Q: Which team beat SRH in the 2018 IPL final?
A: Chennai Super Kings defeated SRH by 8 wickets in the 2018 IPL final.

Q: Has SRH won or lost more IPL finals?
A: SRH has won 1 and lost 1 IPL final they’ve reached till date.


Editor at  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.