IPL 2023: Top 4 Best Matches in the History of the Tournament

Best Matches in the History of IPL

IPL 2023 Timetable: The IPL 2023 will be held from March 31st to May 29. The matches will be held at different venues in India.

There will be a total of 10 teams participating in IPL 2023. Two new teams have entered the tournament, the Lucknow SuperGiants and the Gujarat Titans. Therefore, it is expected that a total of 74 matches will be played during the IPL 2023 season.

Here are the Top 6 Best IPL Matches in the History of IPL all Seasons:

From high-scoring run chases to last-ball finishes, the IPL has given us some unforgettable moments. In this article, we bring you the top 6 best IPL matches in the history of all seasons that left the fans on the edge of their seats and provided them with an experience they will never forget. So get ready to relive some of the most memorable moments in IPL history.

1. Mumbai Indians vs Kolkata Knight Riders (2011)

In a thrilling display of resilience and determination, Mumbai Indians (MI) have historically showcased their ability to clinch last-minute victories from the brink of defeat. One such exhilarating encounter took place in Kolkata nine years ago, which epitomizes MI’s knack for staging dramatic comebacks.

MI found themselves on the verge of losing when Kieron Pollard’s leg stump was sent flying, with the team still needing 40 runs off just 15 balls. However, James Franklin stepped up to the challenge and unleashed a series of inspiring hits that turned the tide.

Facing a daunting task of scoring 21 runs in the final over, the New Zealand batsman fearlessly hammered Lakshmipathy Balaji for four consecutive boundaries. Then, Ambati Rayudu seized the moment and dispatched the last delivery – a leg-stump full toss – into the amazed Eden Gardens crowd. This unforgettable six secured MI’s place in the quarter-finals.

With its spectacular twists and turns, this match has undoubtedly earned its place among the best IPL matches ever witnessed.

2. Kolkata Knight Riders Vs Royal Challengers Bangalore, (2008)

A list that talks about the best matches in the International Premier League cannot leave out the very first match of the tournament. On the night of the IPL finals, commentators were talking about how it would change cricket as we knew it, but little did they know that it would also become a reality on that very same night.

On the very first day of the Indian Premier League, Brendon McCullum scored 158 off just 73 balls and remained unbeaten. He played ferociously throughout his spellbinding innings and smashed 13 sixes and 10 boundaries throughout the innings.

3. Punjab Kings vs Kolkata Knight Riders, (2014 IPL Final)

In the final against Kolkata Knight Riders, Punjab Kings, or Kings XI Punjab, had lost the last two encounters against Kolkata Knight Riders. The first qualifying match for the playoffs took place a week ago, and it was the first qualifier in the playoffs. But Punjab still brought their best game to the final.

 Kolkata-native Wriddhiman Saha, who played an exceptional knock of 115 runs from 55 balls, was the man of the match. In addition to Manan Vohra who outscored him with 67 runs from 52 deliveries, he was equally supported by the other players. 

199 for 4 was Punjab’s final score. The KKR lost Robbie Uthappa, the orange cap holder of that season, very early in the innings. In spite of these challenges, Manish Pandey, a Bengaluru native, played one of his best innings ever. However, he was out for 94 runs off 50 balls, leaving KKR on 179 for 6. Having set the match, but not finished it, he needed 21 runs in three overs. 

After that, there was the drama of the final and the pressure that came along with it. The penultimate over was played by Mitchell Johnson, and in the penultimate over, Piyush Chawla hit a six to bring KKR within touching distance of victory. In the last over of the match, he smashed the third ball of the over and sealed the victory for the team. As a result of this win, Kolkata lifted the trophy for the second time, and it also happened to be the last time they won the match.

4. Mumbai Indians Vs. Chennai Super Kings (2019)

Rohit Sharma led Mumbai Indians to their fourth IPL title by defeating an in-form Chennai Super Kings in the final of IPL, 2019.CSK had to chase a target of 150 when Lasith Malinga and Jasprit Bumrah denied them victory.

In the very last delivery of the match, Malinga ruined the party for CSK by trapping Shardul Thakur Leg Before Wicket to help Mumbai Indians to victory. Bumrah bowled 2-14 from his four overs, while Malinga conceded three runs from his final three deliveries. The Indian team managed to pull off a one-run victory with the final ball of the game, this time grabbing another IPL title.

5. Kolkata Knight Riders VS Royal Challengers Bangalore (IPL 2008)

On the inaugural night of the IPL, Brendon McCullum delivered an unforgettable performance that set the tone for how the tournament would revolutionize cricket, just as experts had anticipated.

McCullum’s breathtaking unbeaten knock of 158, featuring 13 sixes and 10 fours, shattered the previous world record for the highest individual score in a T20 innings. The earlier record was held by Cameron White, who had scored an unbeaten 141 in 2006. Propelled by McCullum’s remarkable innings, KKR amassed a total of 222 for 3 wickets. They then went on to defeat RCB by a staggering margin of 140 runs, as RCB could only manage 82 runs in 15.1 overs.

This iconic match, characterized by McCullum’s extraordinary display of power-hitting and KKR’s dominant victory, is often remembered as one of the best IPL matches ever.

6. Mumbai Indians vs Rising Pune Supergiant (2017)

Rohit Sharma’s Mumbai Indians (MI) have a reputation for rising to the occasion when the odds are stacked against them. With the team reeling at 79-7, it seemed like their tournament was all but over. However, Krunal Pandya and Mitchell Johnson’s resilient lower-order batting propelled them to a more competitive total of 129 runs after 20 overs.

In a nail-biting finale, with 7 runs needed from the last 5 balls, Johnson held his nerve and claimed crucial back-to-back wickets of Manoj Tiwary and Steve Smith. The umpire then signaled a bye, ruling out Johnson’s chance for a hat-trick, as RPS required 7 runs from 3 balls. After Christian struck the next delivery for 2 runs, the equation came down to 4 runs from the final ball. Christian and Sundar ran for 2, but Dan was run out on the third, sealing a thrilling victory for MI.

This exhilarating, closely-fought contest, culminating in MI lifting their third IPL trophy, undoubtedly ranks among the best IPL matches ever played.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts