Bowlers With Most Expensive over in IPL History

Bowlers With Most Expensive Single over in IPL History: A monumental celebration of batting performances, the T20 tournament is very well known among cricket fans for its repertoire of breathtaking batting displays. India’s official league called the Indian Premier League (IPL) consists of players from all over the world playing for a single franchise.

Most Expensive Over in IPL History

There have been some impressive scoring performances by batsmen in one over. In the history of league, here are the Top 5 most expensive overs in IPL :

Most Expensive Spell in IPL History

1. Prashanth Parameshwaran – Most Expensive Spell in IPL History -37 Runs

Prasanth Parameswaran is a talented Indian cricketer who has performed well in domestic tournaments. However, he is also known for the most expensive over in IPL history, conceding 37 runs to Chris Gayle in 2011.

This unfortunate over is a testament to Gayle’s destructive batting prowess, but it also highlights the challenges that bowlers face in the IPL. The league’s fast-paced and high-scoring nature makes it difficult for bowlers to maintain control, and even the best bowlers can have bad days.

Runs per ball are: 6, nb+6,4, 4, 6, 6, 4

2. Harshal Patel – 37 Runs

Royal Challengers Bangalore bowler Harshal Patel conceded the most expensive over in IPL history against Chennai Super Kings in 2021. Ravindra Jadeja smashed 36 runs in the over, including five sixes and one four. Patel had been bowling well before that, with figures of 3/14 in three overs.

But in the final over, Jadeja went on a rampage, hitting the first two balls for sixes, then a beamer for six, and then the free hit for six. He finished the over with a six and a four to give CSK a total of 191/4. Patel still leads the wicket charts this season, but that over will be one he wants to forget.

Runs per ball are: 6 6 nb6 6 2 6 4

3. Daniel Sams (MI) – 35 Runs

On April 6, 2022, Daniel Sams of Mumbai Indians conceded 35 runs in an over against Pat Cummins of Kolkata Knight Riders, the third most expensive over in the history of the Indian Premier League. Cummins smashed Sams for six 4s and 6s, including a no-ball.

Runs per ball are: 6 4 6 6 nb2 4 6

4. Parwinder Awana – Most Expensive Bowler in IPL

As it happened during the match against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the 2014 season, Awana became the fourth most expensive bowler in the history of the IPL. 

Afterward, Awana was signed by the Kings XI Punjab franchise. As Suresh Raina made a huge run in almost an entire over of the second innings, it was in the sixth over of the innings. The total runs he scored from that over was 33, which is the second most runs he ever scored in a single over in IPL history.

The following runs are recorded per ball: 6, 6, 4, 4, nb+4, 4, 4

5.  Ravi Bopara –

There is no doubt that Ravi Bopara is one of the most famous bowlers in England. However, he has another record that he holds dear to his heart. In IPL, he has the fifth most expensive over ever.

The number of runs Bopara conceded in an over was 33 during the 2010 season of the Indian Premier League. Chris Gayle scored four consecutive sixes in the over he bowled against Kolkata Knight Riders. It was a score of 33 runs he gave to that team.

Using the following statistics, the runs per ball are 1, 6, 6, 6, 6, wide+4, wide+1, 1

Top 5 most Expensive Spells in IPL history:

Here’s a look at the most expensive overs in IPL history: 

Most runs made in an over in IPL cricket

RunsRun sequenceBowler (for)BatterForVenueDate
376 nb 6 4 4 6 6 4P. Parameswaran (KTK)Chris Gayle (36), nb1RCBBangaloreMay 8, 2011
376 6 nb6 6 2 6 4Harshal Patel (RCB)Ravindra Jadeja (36), nb1CSKMumbai WSApr 25, 2021
356 4 6 6 nb2 4 6Daniel Sams (MI)Pat Cummins (34), nb1KKRPuneApr 6, 2022
336 6 4 4 nb4 4 4Parvinder Awana (KXIP)Suresh Raina (32), nb1CSKMumbai WSMay 30, 2014
331 6 6 6 6 wd5 wd1 1Ravi Bopara (KXIP)Chris Gayle (25), Manoj Tiwary (2), wd6KKRKolkataApril 4, 2010

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.