IPL 2023: Best Biggest and Longest Sixes in IPL History {Updated}

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen some of the most monstrous hits in cricketing history. From power hitters like Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers, and MS Dhoni, the IPL has witnessed some of the biggest and longest sixes in cricket history.

Fans all over the world have been awed by the sheer power and distance of these sixes. In this article, we will look at some of the highest and longest sixes in IPL history. Whether it’s the biggest six in terms of length or the highest metre six, we will cover it all, including the top sixes to look out for in the upcoming IPL 2023 season.

IPL 2022: Best Biggest and Longest Sixes in IPL History

Longest Sixes in IPL 2023

Longest Sixes in IPL 2023:During the match between Chennai and Lucknow at the MA Chidambaram Stadium on 3 April 2023, the all-rounder Shivam Dube from Chennai hit the longest six of the 2023 Indian Premier League. Dube’s six traveled a distance of 102m.

Shivam Dube102 mChennaiLucknowChennai
Nehal Wadhera101 mMumbaiBangaloreBengaluru
Rahmanullah Gurbaz101 mKolkataPunjabMohali
Shivam Dube97 mChennaiGujaratAhmedabad
Nicholas Pooran97 mLucknowChennaiChennai

1. Longest six in IPL history- Albie Morkel – 125 meters

This South African all-rounder, who also represented Chennai Super Kings in the IPL, holds the record for hitting the longest six in the tournament. Prior to his game against the Deccan Chargers in Hyderabad, Albie did some incredible things to hit the off-spinner Pragyan Ojha for a six, resulting in the umpires taking a new ball since the previous one went out of the park.

Spectators witnessed a great hit during the inaugural season of the IPL, with many more to follow. This six, which is considered the longest in IPL history and the highest meter six, was hit with such force that it took almost five seconds to reach its destination.

During the first edition of the IPL in 2008, playing for Chennai Super Kings, Morkel smashed a massive 125-meter six against Pragyan Ojha, securing his place in IPL history with the longest and highest six in the tournament’s history. Morkel remains the only player to have crossed the 125-meter mark in the IPL, a testament to his remarkable hitting abilities.

Fans still remember his blistering knock against RCB, where he scored 28 runs off a single over of Virat Kohli, showcasing his phenomenal power-hitting skills. Morkel’s incredible feats in the IPL have made him a legend in the tournament’s history.

2. Biggest Six in IPL- Praveen Kumar – 124 meters

It is a surprise that a bowler made it to the list of the biggest sixes launched in the  IPL’s history. Medium-pacer Praveen Kumar launched the ball into orbit with a 124 -meter-long six in 2011 when playing for Kings XI Punjab. It is the biggest six hit by an Indian player to date.

Praveen Kumar, who was a part of the IPL between 2008 and 2014, made a mark on every single season he played. He was an impactful bowler who caused trouble for the batsmen with his swinging deliveries.

3. Adam Gilchrist – 122 metres six

Adam Gilchrist, the legend of the Australian cricket team, is also on the list of the highest six players in the IPL. When he played for Kings XI Punjab, he established the record of the longest six ever by a wicketkeeper with his 122 metres long six in 2011. It was at that time that Gilly was captaining the Punjab side and so the IPL fans would have been unsurprised to see such a huge hit from their favorite wicket-keeper.  

4. Robin Uthappa – 120 metres six

As a classic batsman like Robin Uthappa can smash the ball out of the park on several occasions, it is hard to believe that he can do this. However, that moment came in 2010 when he hit a 120-meter-long six while playing for the Royal Challengers Bangalore since then. When circumstances demand, he has proven that he is also able to bat like power-hitters when the circumstances demand even though he has always been a classic player that believes in timing. It’s hard to believe that he has managed to hold on to the fourth position on this list for many years now. It’s hard to believe that he has managed to hold on to the fourth position on this list for many years now.

5. Chris Gayle – 119 metres six

One cannot forget Chris Gayle when talking about the greatest sixes of all time. IPL’s most prolific sixer is Chris Gayle with the most number of sixes. This type of format is made for him, and he enjoys it to the fullest extent. The record he holds for most sixes in the IPL is 357, which is the most any player has ever achieved. He once hit a six of 119 meters against Ashok Dinda of the Rising Pune Supergiants of the 2013 Indian Premier League. Gayle began his professional career with Royal Challengers Bangalore before transferring to Punjab Kings where he was a successful opener.

6. Yuvraj Singh – 119 metres six

It would not be complete without the mention of Yuvraj Singh, the sixer king. A six of 119 meters one of his greatest hits as a captain of the Kings XI Punjab team in 2009 was the longest of his career. Before he retired from the IPL, Yuvraj was ranked among the top 10 six-hitters with 149 sixes in the IPL. Fans of cricket across the globe still recall his 119-meter six as one of the more memorable shots in their history.

7. Ross Taylor – 119 metres six

Ross Taylor, a legend in the New Zealand cricket team, was named one of the longest sixes of the IPL. The hit out of the park that he hit 119 meters long is ranked 7, according to ESPN. As a player for the Royal Challengers Bangalore team, he achieved this feat during the first edition of the tournament in 2008.

Related:Best Bowlers of IPL 2023

8. Ben Cutting – 117 metres six

In 2016 for Sunrisers Hyderabad, Australian all-rounder Ben Cutting struck a whopping 117 meter six, which was the longest hit at the tournament. Moreover, he is a pure hitter, who has a good line and length with the bat. As part of his batting style, he relies less on the timing of the ball and a lot more on the power he can generate.

9. Gautam Gambhir – 117 metres six

As one of the most successful players and captains in IPL’s history, Gautam Gambhir has an impressive record of shots that are among the biggest sixes in IPL history. Probably the greatest hit of the season for Kolkata Knight Riders, his 117-meter six in 2013, was considered one of the greatest shots of the season. He captained the KKR to two victories in the Indian Premier League before he retired.

10. MS Dhoni – 115 metres six

Lastly, I would like to mention MS Dhoni, who has a reputation for being a true captain of cool. The Indian Premier League’s most successful captain, MS Dhoni is one of the best players in this league known for his sky-kissing sixes. One of his finest shots was his 115-meter six, which was among the heaviest sixes of the tournament.

who hit biggest six in terms of length in ipl?

South Africa’s Albie Morkel achieved the feat while playing for Chennai Super Kings in the inaugural season of the IPL. He smashed Deccan Chargers spinner Pragyan Ojha for a six which was measured at 125 metres.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.