First Wicket in IPL History

The first ever wicket in IPL history holds a special place in the hearts of cricket enthusiasts, as it marked the beginning of a thrilling and competitive era in the sport. It was in the inaugural match of the Indian Premier League back in 2008 when the first wicket in IPL was taken, and fans have been witness to countless memorable performances since then.


Related:Most Sixes in IPL by Team in IPL History

Who took the first wicket in IPL

Sourav Ganguly was the first batsman to be dismissed in the Indian Premier League (IPL). In the inaugural match of the IPL in 2008, Ganguly, playing for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), was dismissed by Zaheer Khan of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB). The match took place at the M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bangalore.Zaheer Khan bowled the 6th over, and Ganguly was caught by Jacques Kallis in the slip cordon. This marked the first wicket in IPL history.Ganguly, a former captain of the Indian national team, was a key player for KKR. Despite being the first to be dismissed in the IPL, he had a successful career in the tournament, contributing significantly to his team’s performances.

Which bowler took the first wicket in IPL history?

Zaheer Khan took the first wicket in IPL history. In the inaugural match of the IPL in 2008, Zaheer, playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), dismissed Sourav Ganguly of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the 6th over. This historic moment marked the beginning of many memorable performances in the league.

Related:IPL 2022: Most Man of the Match in IPL

First Wicket in IPL Season wise

IPL 2009

Thilan Thushara took the first wicket of IPL 2009. At the start of the sixth over, he took the wicket of Sri Lankan opener Sanath Jayasuriya. Matthew Hayden was able to take the catch. 

IPL 2010

First wicket in IPL 2010 was taken by Chaminda Vaas on the first ball. The wicket of Manoj Tiwary was taken by him and Rohit Sharma caught the ball. 

IPL 2011

Taking the wicket of Murali Vijay in the very first over of IPL 2021 edition, Iqbal Abdulla took the first wicket of the new edition.

IPL 2012

IPL 2012’s first wicket has been taken by a fielder. Ambati Rayudu got Faf du Plessis out early in the match, when he was run out by Ambati Rayudu. There were two teams in the match, Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians. 

IPL 2013

Unmukt Chand was bowled by Brett Lee on the opening ball of IPL 2013. UC was out for a duck. The match took place between the Delhi Daredevils and the Kolkata Knight Riders. 

IPL 2014

IPL 2014 saw the first wicket taker of the year be Lasith Malinga. Gautam Gambhir got out without scoring a run in the first match. The match was between Mumbai Indians and Kolkata Knight Riders. 

IPL 2015

Morning Morkel took the first wicket of Aaron Finch during the first over of the IPL 2015.

IPL 2016

Ishant Sharma took the first wicket of the 2016 IPL. In the second over of the opening match of the season, Rohit Sharma was caught behind, LBW. 

IPL 2017

In the first match of the 2017 Indian Premier League, Aniket Choudhary took the first wicket. In the second over of the match, he burst into the pavilion and secured the wicket of David Warner.

IPL 2018

The first wicket in IPL 2018 was taken by Deepak Chahar. In the third over of the game, Evin Lewis was run out by LBW. 

IPL 2019

The first breakthrough of IPL 2019 has been achieved by Harbhajan Singh. As the 4th over of the match comes to an end, he has taken the wicket of Virat Kohli. 

IPL 2020

The first wicket in IPL 2020 was taken by Piyush Chawla (spinner). In the 5th over of the match, Rohit Sharma was able to get a wicket due to his bowling. 

IPL 2021

The first wicket of IPL 2021 belongs to a fielder. Rohit Sharma was run out by a fielder. He was run out in the fourth over of the match by Virat Kohli and Yuzvendra Chahal. 

IPL 2022

Umesh Yadav of Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) takes the first wicket of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2022. The batsman dismissed is Ruturaj Gaikwad of the Chennai Super Kings (CSK). Gaikwad fails to score any runs before being dismissed and is out for a duck.


Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.