IPL 2023: Most Man of the Match in IPL

Have you ever wondered who holds the record for the most Man of the Match awards in the Indian Premier League? The IPL is one of the most-watched T20 leagues in the world, and every season, players give their best to win this prestigious award. But who has received it the most?

However, today we would like to tell you about five of the most man of the match award-winning players in IPL History. For the T20 format, the Indian Premier League (IPL) has been the benchmark. Each and every player has the opportunity to demonstrate their skills in front of the world and make their mark against the competition, during IPL event.

Some of the IPL players have become legends of the game thanks to their success in the tournament, from Swapnil Asnodkar to Virat Kohli, Hardik Pandya to Chris Gayle. 

Most Man of the Match in IPL
Most Man of the Match in IPL

These players can also earn great rewards, as there is a lot of prize money involved in each match for them. It would be interesting to know which player in the IPL has received the most man of the match awards?

Most Man of the Match in IPL awards winner

In the Indian Premier League season, we see players perform incredible feats each year to assist their teams in winning crucial matches for their teams. It goes without saying that the player with the most impactful performance in any of these matches in this cash-rich league will be recognized as the Player of the Match in IPL.

Here is a listing of five players who have won most Player of the Match awards in IPL:

There is a great deal of excitement in the IPL, as not only the players, but the audience also have the opportunity to display their skills on the betting and fantasy teams side of the game. In case you are planning on playing for the IPL, it is important to know about the players’ statistics and their track records since the IPL fantasy league is on the rise. As far as I’m concerned, the fans’ favorites are players who rake in more than their fair share of the prestigious Man of The Match Award season after season.

In a tournament like the IPL, where the best players from all over the world take part, an award such as Man of the Match reflects the caliber of the awardee.

IPL awards are considered to be extremely prestigious because of a number of factors, including the glamor of the competition, the added crowd pressure at Indian sports grounds that are packed to capacity, and the competitive nature of the matches, which contribute to the winning of man of the match awards.

List of Most Man of The Match in IPL

S.NName of the playerNo. of man of the match awardTeams played for
1AB De Villiers’25Royal Challengers Bangalore, Delhi Daredevils
2Chris Gayle22Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore
3Rohit Sharma19Mumbai Indians, Deccan Chargers
4Mahendra Singh Dhoni17Chennai Super Kings, Rising Pune Supergiant
5David Warner17Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Daredevils

Most Man of The Match Awards in IPL: AB De Villiers: 25

The South African batsman since the start of his career has been awarded no less than 25 man of the match awards in the Indian Premier League over the span of his career. The South African batsman is most often used as a middle-order batsman. Since he joined the Royal Challengers Bangalore in 2011, the RCB-bred batsman has amassed a total of 5306 runs in 181 IPL games.

RCB has had a great deal of success with ABD, as he has a 152.2 strike rate, which makes him an asset when it comes to hitting the ball hard. Even though he has retired from international cricket, he is still considered to be one of the top players and is one of the most commonly called men of the match in the IPL.

Most Man of The Match in IPL-Chris Gayle: 22 

Number two on the list of the most ‘Man of the Match‘ awards in IPL History is the legend Universe Boss with 22. There is no doubt that Chris Gayle is regarded as one of the greatest batters in the history of T20 cricket, having made over 14000 runs, including 22 hundred – the next best player has made 8 hundreds; having scored over 14000 runs and including 22 hundred, Chris Gayle is the best batter in T20 cricket.

He has played for Kolkata Knight Riders, Royal Challengers Bangalore, and Punjab Kings (formerly Kings XI Punjab) in the IPL, making an impact for each team. Gayle is the player who has recorded the highest individual score in the history of the Indian Premier League, as well as a striking rate that is very impressive.

From 2009 to 2010, he played for Kolkata Knight Riders and scored 463 runs in 16 innings at an average of 31 and a strike rate of 142. The PBKS has been playing Gayle since 2018 and during that time Gayle has scored 1339 runs at an average strike rate of 143 and an average run average of 36. The best years of his career for the RCB occurred between 2011 and 2017, during which he amassed 3163 runs in 84 innings at an average of 43, striking out 153 times. Gayle has scored six hundred and 31 fifties in the history of the Indian Premier League.

Most Man of The Match in IPL Indian Player Rohit Sharma: 19

Rohit Sharma holds the record of being the only Indian to have won 19 Player of the Match awards, and he is currently considered the number one player in the world. A record five titles have been won by Mumbai Indians under his leadership in the Indian Premier League, making him the most successful captain in the league’s history. If Rohit’s performance is more impactful than the opposition’s, it can greatly hamper their chances. 

Mahendra Singh Dhoni: 17

In order to complete the list of men of the match, this iconic player must be included. The Indian wicket-keeper batsman is a legend in the Indian Premier League (IPL). During his first season with CSK in 2008, he purchased a contract worth $1.5 million, making him one of the most expensive players that season. Dhoni has won a total of 17 man of the match awards in the IPL. During the course of 217 matches, he has scored 4716 runs. He holds the second Most Man of The Match in IPL by Indian Player.

David Warner: 17 

He has won 17 Player of the Match awards in total, which is joint fourth most among all players. Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad to a championship in the Indian Premier League in 2016, and he is considered to be one of the best batters in the league.

Warner played for both Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and Sunrisers during his career, scoring 5449 runs at a strike rate of 140 and an average of 42 at the age of 28. During the two matches played by the two franchises, the Australian left-hander nominated two hundred each. Following his move to SRH, Warner played for the team for six consecutive seasons, and he produced 500 runs or more in each season.

Who won most man of the match in IPL?

AB de Villiers holds the record for the Player of the Match award (24).

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts