WTC 2023: India Squad For ICC World Test Championship Final 2023

India Squad For ICC World Test Championship Final 2023 – The BCCI announced India’s squad for the ICC World Test Championship Final against Australia on Tuesday. The highly anticipated final will take place at the Oval in England from June 7 to 11. Ajinkya Rahane secured his spot in the final squad due to his exceptional performances for the Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the ongoing IPL 2023.

In the ICC Test tournament, Australia actively participated in 19 Test matches, emerging victorious in 11 encounters, suffering defeat in 3 matches, and settling for draws in 5 games. This impressive performance allowed Australia to secure the top spot in the points table, attaining a win percentage of 66.67.

Meanwhile, India claimed the second position after winning 10 matches and facing defeat in 5 out of the 18 matches played (with 3 draws). With a win percentage of 58.80, India showcased commendable performances throughout the tournament.

The final of the World Test Championship 2023 will witness an exciting clash between India and Australia. Scheduled for June, the prestigious WTC final will be held from June 7 to 11 at the renowned Kennington Oval Stadium in London, UK.

Both Australia and India secured their places in the final by finishing in the top two spots in the World Test Championship points table. Cricket enthusiasts around the world eagerly anticipate this highly anticipated showdown between two cricketing powerhouses.

India Squad for WTC 2023

India and Australia have their sights set on securing their maiden World Test Championship (WTC) title as they gear up for the highly anticipated WTC final in 2023. Both teams are preparing to field a formidable squad for this epic encounter. Let’s take a closer look at the probable squad for India in the upcoming WTC final.

India Squad for World Test Championship 2023 Final

India Squad for ICC World Test Championship Final
Rohit Sharma (C), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KL Rahul. KS Bharat, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat

Australia Squad for World Test Championship 2023 Final

Australia Squad for ICC World Test Championship Final
Pat Cummins (c), Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Marcus Harris, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Marsh, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, David Warner

India Squad For ICC World Test Championship Final 2023

India Opening Batsmen for World Test Championship Final 2023

Rohit Sharma has been appointed as the captain of the Indian team for the WTC final, and he will also fulfill the role of opening the innings. In a Test match against Australia just last month, Rohit Sharma displayed his prowess by scoring a century.

Similarly, Shubman Gill also showcased his batting prowess by notching up a century during the Test series. Both players have exhibited exceptional form in the longest format of the game this year, further strengthening India’s batting lineup for the upcoming WTC final.

India Middle-Order for World Test Championship Final 2023

In the Indian team for the WTC final, Cheteshwar Pujara and Virat Kohli will assume the role of the first two middle-order batters. Kohli showcased his brilliance with a remarkable knock of 186 runs in a recent Test match against Australia, highlighting his exceptional form.

Pujara has been in excellent form this year, accumulating 140 runs in 6 innings. Additionally, Suryakumar Yadav is a strong contender to be selected as a middle-order batsman in the WTC final squad. With the anticipated absence of Shreyas Iyer, Yadav stands a good chance to fill the vacant spot in the squad.

India Wicketkeepers for WTC Final 2023

KS Bharat is a strong contender to be chosen as the wicketkeeper for the Indian team in the WTC final. The right-handed batsman displayed his wicketkeeping skills by donning the gloves for Team India in all four Tests during the previous series against Australia. Given the absence of Rishabh Pant, KS Bharat is likely to be the primary choice for the wicketkeeper position in the final.

KL Rahul, on the other hand, may secure a place in the squad as a backup wicketkeeper, providing additional depth to the team. Rahul’s versatility as a batsman enables him to contribute in the middle order. He also showcased his wicketkeeping abilities during the recent IND vs AUS ODI series last month. As a result, KL Rahul can serve as the secondary wicketkeeper for the Indian team in the WTC final.

India All-Rounders in WTC 2023 Final

Ravindra Jadeja and Ravichandran Ashwin are strong contenders to be selected as spin all-rounders in the Indian team for the WTC final. Both players delivered impeccable performances during the IND vs AUS Test series. Ashwin claimed an impressive tally of 25 wickets across four Tests, while Jadeja secured 22 wickets. Their outstanding contributions with both bat and ball earned them the well-deserved Player of the Series awards.

Although Axar Patel had limited bowling opportunities in the series, he displayed exceptional batting prowess, accumulating 264 runs in five innings at an impressive average of 88.0. Patel showcased his skills with the bat by smashing three half-centuries, with a top score of 84 runs. His remarkable performance strengthens his case for selection as a spin all-rounder in the squad for the WTC final.

India Spin Bowlers for World Test Championship Final 2023

Kuldeep Yadav is a potential addition to the India squad for the WTC final as another spinner. In December of the previous year, Yadav showcased his skills in a Test match against Bangladesh, securing 8 wickets. Although he was part of India vs Australia Test series, he did not feature in any of the matches.

Nevertheless, Yadav’s past performances and experience make him a valuable candidate for the spin bowling department in the upcoming WTC final.

India Fast Bowlers for World Test Championship Final 2023

Pacers are expected to play a pivotal role in the WTC final, considering the match will be held at the pace-friendly Kennington Oval Stadium in the United Kingdom. The Indian team will rely on the skills of Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj, who have been leading the pace attack in red-ball cricket throughout the year.

Joining them in the India squad, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav, and Umran Malik are strong contenders to be selected as additional pacers. Shardul Thakur’s inclusion in the WTC final squad is highly likely, given his ability to contribute with the bat as well. Umesh Yadav has demonstrated good form in the recent Test series, making him a potential candidate for the WTC final squad.

With the pacers playing a crucial role in the match, India aims to field a formidable pace attack to take on the challenges posed by the conditions at Kennington Oval.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.