MI All IPL Final Match List

MI All IPL Final Match List: Mumbai Indians (MI) are clearly the most successful team in Indian Premier League history so far (until 2023). They have played the most finals (6) after Chennai Super Kings, winning five titles in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020 under captain Rohit Sharma.

With legends like Sachin Tendulkar initially and then big names like Rohit, Malinga, Pollard and Pandya brothers leading them over the years, MI has set the benchmark for consistency despite T20 cricket’s unpredictable nature.

As MI looks to recover from their disappointing 2022 season, let’s recap their journey of dominance in IPL finals from 2008 to 2023.

MI All IPL Final Match List

Mumbai Indians Final match List

2010Chennai Super KingsDY PatilApril 25, 2010Runners-up
2013Chennai Super KingsEden GardensMay 26, 2013Champions
2015Chennai Super KingsEden GardensMay 24, 2015Champions
2017Rising Pune SupergiantHyderabadMay 21, 2017Champions
2019Chennai Super KingsHyderabadMay 12, 2019Champions
2020Delhi CapitalsDubai (DSC)November 10, 2020Champions

See Also : DC All IPL Final Match List

1. 2010 Final vs Chennai Super Kings (Runners-up)

In just their third IPL season, MI made their first final under captain Sachin Tendulkar after topping the league stage with 10 wins.Their opponents Chennai Super Kings also had legends like Dhoni, Raina, Hayden and Muralitharan.

In the final at Dr DY Patil Stadium, MI batted first and scored 168/5 thanks to Saurabh Tiwary’s 65 runs. CSK chased down the target with two balls to spare to win their first title, while MI finished as runners-up.

So in summary, MI had a great season but came up just short against a strong CSK team in their first ever IPL final appearance in 2010.

2. 2013 Final vs Chennai Super Kings – (Champions)

In 2013, MI brought in legendary coach John Wright and new captain Rohit Sharma. After finishing second in the league stage with 11 wins, MI faced CSK in Qualifier 1 and lost a close game.

But Rohit led by example in Qualifier 2 win against Rajasthan Royals to set up a rematch with CSK in the final. This time MI took sweet revenge. Thanks to Kieron Pollard’s brilliant 60 runs, MI scored 192/5. Even better was to follow.

MI bowled out CSK for just 169 runs to win their first ever IPL trophy, sparking joyful celebrations. Rohit’s captaincy and Pollard’s match-winning knock were crucial in MI finally breaking their title drought in 2013.

3. 2015 Final vs Chennai Super Kings (Champions)

In 2015, MI were keen to establish their legacy. After finishing first in the league round, they scored more runs than CSK in Qualifier 1 thanks to Simmons’ 68* runs.In the final, MI batted first and put up a daunting total of 202/5 runs, with big contributions from Rohit’s 50 runs and Pollard’s 36 runs off 36 balls.

Even a strong batting team like CSK fell short by 41 runs as MI bowled them out for 161 runs. With this win, MI became the first franchise to win back-to-back IPL titles, cementing their dominance in the tournament’s history.So MI continued their success under Rohit’s captaincy in 2015 through impact batting performances and disciplined bowling efforts.

Check : CSK vs MI Head to Head Record in IPL History

4. 2017 Final vs Rising Pune Supergiant (Champions)

After not qualifying in 2016, MI roared back the next season under captain Rohit Sharma’s leadership. They topped the league stage with 10 wins.In Qualifier 1, they lost to the new team Rising Pune Supergiant, led by Steve Smith.

In the final, Pune batted first and scored 129/8 runs. MI chased it down to win on the very last ball, thanks to crucial performances by the Pandya brothers. This 1-run victory sealed MI’s third IPL title, tying them with CSK’s record.

5. 2019 Final vs Chennai Super Kings (Champions)

After the disappointment of not qualifying for playoffs in 2018, Rohit Sharma’s defending champions MI started IPL 2019 strongly by winning their first five matches.
They faced CSK in Qualifier 1 where CSK restricted them to 162 runs. But MI bounced back to beat CSK in the final yet again – this time by just 1 run in a thrilling contest.
With this narrow victory over their arch-rivals, Mumbai won their record fourth IPL title to cement their undisputed dominance in the tournament.

So MI overcame early setback in Qualifier 1 to eventually lift the 2019 trophy by the barest of margins over CSK. Their resilience and ability to win close games highlighted the franchise’s champion pedigree.

6.2020 Final vs Delhi Capitals (Champions)

Not satisfied with four previous titles, the Mumbai Indians team led by Rohit Sharma kept performing excellently in the 2020 season held in UAE. With strong batting and bowling efforts, MI topped the league stage despite some surprise losses.

They defeated Delhi Capitals convincingly in Qualifier 1 thanks to great batting displays to set up another final clash with them.
In the low-scoring final, it was MI’s all-round bowling attack that sealed a thrilling five-wicket win with just one ball remaining. This clinched MI’s record fifth IPL championship title.

So MI proved their champion mentality again in 2020, overcoming setbacks through collective performances en route to the trophy. Their bowling strength ultimately won them the closest of finals against Delhi.


Mumbai Indians (MI) have set the benchmark in the Indian Premier League with their exceptional consistency and dominance ever since the tournament started in 2008.

They have reached the most finals (6) along with Chennai Super Kings, playing in the title clash from 2010 to 2020. But MI’s 5 title wins put them far ahead of all other teams.
With legendary players like Tendulkar, Rohit, Malinga and explosive stars like Pollard and Pandya brothers delivering in big games over the years, Mumbai has cemented their legacy as IPL’s most successful team so far!

The 2023 season poses a fresh challenge to MI’s dominance with several franchises strengthening their squads in the recent player auction. It remains to be seen whether captain Rohit Sharma can ignite a new spark in Mumbai’s squad to script

Who was the captain when MI played their first IPL final in 2010?

Legendary Sachin Tendulkar was captaining MI when they played their maiden IPL final in the 2010 edition.

Which team did Mumbai beat to win the IPL trophy for a record 4th time in 2019?

Mumbai Indians defeated archrivals Chennai Super Kings in the 2019 final to lift their record fourth IPL title.

Who won the Man of the Match award in MI’s 5th IPL final win in 2020?

Trent Boult bagged the Man of the Match prize in the 2020 final when MI beat Delhi Capitals to clinch their record fifth championship.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.