Most Consecutive Losses in IPL

Do you want to know who has the longest losing streak in IPL? Which team has lost the most games in IPL continuously? You will be shocked to find out the answer in this article. We have compiled the data from all the IPL seasons and ranked the teams based on their worst losing runs.

Some of these teams are still struggling to break their curse, while others have bounced back from their slump.

Who has the longest losing streak in IPL?
Most Consecutive Losses in IPL

Most consecutive Losses in IPL 2023 – Updated (DC)

Delhi Capitals has four consecutive losses in the season 16 IPL 2023. Four defeats to start off the 2023 campaign for Delhi Capitals – the second-worst start to a season for them after six straight losses in 2013.

Most Consecutive Losses in IPL History

Over the years, several teams have gone through rough patches and struggled to find their form in the IPL. Here are the top 9 longest-losing streaks in IPL history:

1. Pune Warriors India (11 consecutive losses)

Pune Warriors India had the lowest win percentage in IPL history and struggled to find their footing in the tournament. Pune Warriors India holds the record for the longest losing streak in IPL history, with 11 consecutive losses across the 2012 and 2013 seasons.

Despite a promising start in the 2012 season, where they won 3 of their first 4 matches, they lost their momentum in the middle of the season and went on to lose their final 9 matches. They started the 2013 season with 2 consecutive losses, extending their losing streak to 11 matches.

2. Delhi Daredevils (11 consecutive losses 2014-2015)

Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) had a rough patch in the 2014 and 2015 seasons, losing 11 consecutive matches. They ended the 2014 season at the bottom of the table, with just 2 wins from 14 matches, and started the 2015 season with 2 consecutive

Despite the challenges that come with consecutive losses, some teams in the IPL have experienced a significant number of defeats in a row.

3. Pune Warriors India – (9 consecutive losses in 2013 )

Pune Warriors India also had the lowest win percentage in IPL and struggled to find their footing in the tournament. During the 2013 season, the team lost nine consecutive matches, which included defeats to the Chennai Super Kings, Kings XI Punjab, and Sunrisers Hyderabad. Although they managed to win a few games towards the end of the season, it wasn’t enough to salvage their campaign.

4. Kolkata Knight Riders – ( 9 Losses 2009)

Kolkata Knight Riders may have won the IPL twice, but they had a tough time during the 2009 season. The tournament was played in South Africa, which seemed to throw KKR off their game, resulting in nine consecutive losses.

Despite having some big names in the squad, such as Chris Gayle and Sourav Ganguly, KKR struggled to adapt to the change in conditions and ended up at the bottom of the table.

5. Mumbai Indians – ( 8 Losses 2022)

Mumbai Indians are known for their consistency and success in the IPL, having won the tournament a record five times.

However, they had a tough time during the 2022 season, losing eight consecutive games. The team made a lot of changes to their playing XI, which affected their stability, and they struggled to find their form.

Most Consecutive Losses in IPL History

Losing or winning is part of the game, but when a team loses a few straight games, it can become a habit. There have been a few teams that have lost a significant number of games in a row.

Below are the top 10 longest-losing streaks in IPL history:

Pune Warriors India112012-2013
Pune Warriors India92009
Pune Warriors India72011
Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals)112014-2015
Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals)82012-2013
Kolkata Knight Riders92013
Mumbai Indians82022
Royal Challengers Bangalore72019
Deccan Chargers72008
Rajasthan Royals62015


Losing streaks are a part of the game, and it’s up to the teams to learn from their mistakes and come back stronger. While it’s never easy to endure a long losing streak, it’s important to remember that winning and losing are both part of the game. Teams that can stay resilient in the face of adversity and work together as a cohesive unit will ultimately find success in the IPL.

Alice Mirza

Cricket is Alice Mirza’s passion, and he loves playing, watching, and discussing the game. The Cricket blog is my way of spreading my thoughts about the game. Previously, I ghost-wrote for a few websites. For me, cricket is more than just a game.