Players who won the Man of the Match award in the ICC T20 World Cup Final

T20 cricket is a fast-paced form of the game which is played in a small area. That whole scenario can completely change within the course of a few deliveries. This is why the majority of teams focus more on the shorter format of the game as opposed to the longer format. This is why the success of T20 cricket has made the game an entirely new sport. The team batting first can now feel comfortable in their position even after scoring a high total since the team batting second will be able to chase down any total anyway. Let dig deep to check the players who have won the most man of match awards in the final of the t20 world cup.

The T20 World Cup has provided the opportunity for many superstars to represent their countries in this format. It is also rewarded to the player who can make an impact in a short time with the “Man of the Match” award. We will look at the list of the players who have won MOM awards in Finals, which shows the impact they have on the performance of their teams, so in this article, we will examine the players who have won the most MOM in T20 World Cup Finals.

Irfan Pathan – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2007/08)

irfan pathan
image credit: Twitter

The Indian team was the first nation to win the ICC T20 World Cup. Irfan Pathan, an all-rounder, played a pivotal role in the success of the team at the world championship.

During the final, when the Men in Blue were playing Pakistan, Irfan bowled a game-changing spell of 3/16 to turn the game in the Men in Blue’s favor. As a result of his wicket-taking, Irfan picked up wickets for India from Yasir Arafat, Shahid Afridi, and Shoaib Malik as they won the T20 World Cup for India.

Shahid Afridi – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2009)

shahid afridi
image credit: Twitter

Despite the fact that T20 cricket started in England, Asian teams have dominated this format on a global scale. In 2009, Pakistan and Sri Lanka battled it out in the final of the second T20 World Cup.

During the most crucial game for his team, all-rounder Shahid Afridi shone through. As a result of his bowling, he took 1/20 in the first innings and then he blasted an unbeaten 54 off 40 balls to take Pakistan to victory.

Craig Kieswetter – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2010)

image credit: Twitter

In the T20 World Cup, England’s first-ever victory was thanks to the efforts of Craig Kieswetter. In the final against Australia, the wicketkeeper-batsman hit a match-winning 63 to win the game for England.

The Australians set a 148-run target for the English team to chase. Kieswetter’s 49-ball 63, which included 7 fours and two sixes, pushed the English team to 148/3 after 17 overs.

Marlon Samuels – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2012)

image credit: Twitter

In the history of T20 cricket, Marlon Samuels is one of the most underrated all-rounders. It is fair to say that the Caribbean all-rounder proved himself to be a real match-winner during the T20 World Cup 2012.

Samuels led West Indies to 137/6 after scoring 78 runs off 56 deliveries, as the team battled its way across a tough wicket in Colombo. Sunil Narine and the West Indies team made sure the low score would not become a problem. He won the Man of the Match award again four years later when he faced England in the final of the T20 World Cup. He scored 85 runs off 66 deliveries and played a crucial role in West Indies winning the championship.

Kumar Sangakkara – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2014)

image credit: Twitter

Ahead of the 2014 T20 World Cup, the Indian team met their nearby neighbors, Sri Lanka, in the final. In their first innings, India scored 130 runs in the 20 overs.

Sri Lanka’s run chase was eased with Kumar Sangakkara’s half-century. Sangakkara’s last T20I match was played on the grandest stage and he won the Man of the Match award.

Marlon Samuels – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2016)

image credit: Twitter

Samuels took home the MOM award once again, as he had a crucial role to play in helping his side win the game on the last day of the season. In the final over, Samuels saw off 66 deliveries to remain unbeaten on 85. With a strike rate of 128.78, he smashed nine fours and two sixes to make up his innings.

Mitchell Marsh – ICC T20 World Cup Final (2021)

image credit: Twitter

Mitchell Marsh, who scored an unbeaten 77 off 50 balls, was named the Man of the Match. A total of six fours and four sixes were hit during his innings. “I don’t really know how to describe how amazing these six weeks have been with the group. They have been such a joy to be around. They are world champions after all.

Alice Mirza

Cricket is Alice Mirza’s passion, and he loves playing, watching, and discussing the game. The Cricket blog is my way of spreading my thoughts about the game. Previously, I ghost-wrote for a few websites. For me, cricket is more than just a game.