Most Not-Outs by Opening Batsmen in the History of the Indian Premier League (IPL)

Most not-outs opening batsmen in IPL:The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a T20 cricket competition established in India in 2007. As a tournament that favors aggressive batting, having reliable opening batsmen that can provide strong starts is crucial for every IPL franchise. Staying not out at the end of an innings is a rare feat for opening batsmen, but some players have managed to do it consistently over the years.

This article reveals the 6 opening batsmen with the most not-outs in IPL history. Understanding these statistics provides insight into the best opening batters.

opening batsmen with the most not-outs in IPL history

Most not-outs by Opening Batsmen in IPL

Shikhar Dhawan19723
Virat Kohli9815
Chris Gayle12215
David Warner15515
Ajinkya Rahane11914
KL Rahul8513
Gautam Gambhir12311
Sachin Tendulkar7410
Jacques Kallis538
Faf du Plessis958

1. Shikhar Dhawan (23 Not-Outs)

Shikhar Dhawan holds the top spot on the list of opening batsmen with the record for the most not-outs in the IPL, registering 23 not-outs in 197 innings. He is also the leading run-scorer among IPL openers and has played a crucial role in successful teams like Mumbai Indians, Sunrisers Hyderabad, and Delhi Capitals.

Dhawan’s unique blend of aggressive shot-making from the beginning, coupled with the ability to stabilize the innings when needed, makes him an invaluable T20 opener.

2. Virat Kohli (15 Not-Outs)

Virat Kohli had 98 innings as opener and stayed unbeaten 15 times. Before becoming one of the best middle order batters, he opened the batting for Royal Challengers Bangalore from 2008 to 2012.

Kohli scored quick runs in the powerplay, allowing players like AB de Villiers to build on the solid foundation.

3. Chris Gayle (15 Not-Outs)

The West Indian batting star is third on this list with 15 not-outs to his name from 122 innings as an IPL opener.

Gayle was part of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team from 2011 and his attacking batting style at the top was central to many of their successful campaigns. No bowler was safe from his big hitting abilities.

4. David Warner (15 Not-Outs)

Australian opener David Warner had 15 unbeaten innings out of the 155 times he opened the batting. He has won the prestigious Orange Cap three times for being the highest run getter of the season.

Warner led Sunrisers Hyderabad to their maiden IPL trophy in 2016. He has scored over 5000 runs at a strike rate close to 140. His aggressive batting often gave Hyderabad blistering starts.

5. Ajinkya Rahane (14 Not-Outs)

Next on this list of Indian batsmen is Ajinkya Rahane with 14 not-outs from his 119 outings as an opener in the IPL.

Rahane opened for Mumbai Indians, Rajasthan Royals and Delhi Capitals, providing stability in the powerplay while also scoring quick runs once set. His ability to adopt different approaches was valuable for those teams.

6. KL Rahul (13 Not-Outs)

KL Rahul has gradually climbed up this ladder with 13 unbeaten knocks as opener out of the 85 times he opened the innings. He has also kept wickets sometimes, showcasing his flexibility.

Rahul’s batting for Punjab Kings, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Lucknow Super Giants has been world-class. In IPL 2022, he scored two centuries and led newcomers Lucknow to the playoffs in their maiden season.

Notable Mentions

Some other renowned opening batsmen with notable not-outs are Gautam Gambhir (11 not-outs), Sachin Tendulkar (10 not-outs) and Faf du Plessis (8 not-outs).

Gambhir’s contribution to Kolkata Knight Riders’ wins included staying unbeaten in a few matches to take them across the line. Meanwhile, Tendulkar and Du Plessis also have multiple half-centuries while carrying their bat through.


Shikhar Dhawan tops this elite list thanks to his consistency for over a decade at the top of the order. Virat Kohli, Chris Gayle and David Warner all used power hitting to great effect during their unbeaten knocks.

Meanwhile, Ajinkya Rahane and KL Rahul blended aggression with risk-free batting during their times as openers. Having these types of adaptable players maximized returns for their respective franchises.

Who has been the most successful IPL opening batsman overall?

Shikhar Dhawan has scored the most runs as an IPL opener, having crossed 6000 runs already. He also has the most half-centuries and not-outs among openers.

Who was the first Indian player to score a century in IPL?

Manish Pandey was the first Indian to score an IPL century, when he made 114* against Deccan Chargers in 2009 while playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore.


Editor at  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.