Players with Centuries for Two Different IPL Teams

The Indian Premier League has witnessed several outstanding batting performances over 15 seasons. But only a select few batsmen have managed to score centuries playing for two different IPL franchises.

In this blog post, we look at the 11 batsmen who have scored Centuries for Two Different IPL Teams.

Players with Centuries for Two Different IPL Teams

Adam Gilchrist – Ton for KXIP & Delhi Capitals

The legendary Aussie wicketkeeper Adam Gilchrist has the distinction of being the first to score centuries for two teams – an unbeaten 109 for Deccan Chargers in 2008 followed by 106 for Kings XI Punjab in 2011.

Gilchrist destroyed the Mumbai Indians bowling in his second IPL game ever, smashing 109* off just 47 balls for the Chargers. He then scored a 55-ball 106 against Virat Kohli’s RCB while playing for KXIP in 2011.

Virender Sehwag – Smashed Centuries for DD & Punjab  

Another aggressive opener Virender Sehwag is next on this elite list. First, he blitzed 119 off 56 balls chasing 177 against Deccan Chargers in 2011. 

Then after moving to Kings XI Punjab, Sehwag clobbered 122 off only 58 balls versus CSK in the 2014 playoffs qualifier.

Brendon McCullum – KKR & CSK Hundreds

The first ever IPL century in 2008 belongs to another swash buckling batsman, Brendon McCullum. Opening the tournament for KKR against RCB, he smashed a scarcely believable 158* off 73 balls.

McCullum scored his second IPL hundred for Chennai Super Kings in 2015 – a 56-ball 100 against Sunrisers Hyderabad.

Also Read : Players Who Missed IPL Century (99 runs score)

AB de Villiers – 3 Hundreds for RCB & Delhi   

South African genius AB de Villiers has scored a total of 3 centuries in his IPL career. 

He first scored a whirlwind 105* off 54 balls against CSK batting for Delhi Daredevils in 2010. De Villiers then smashed two more tons for his beloved Royal Challengers Bangalore – 133* versus Mumbai in 2015 and 129* against Gujarat Lions in 2016.

David Warner – Orange Army and Delhi Tons 

Australian stalwart David Warner registered IPL centuries for two franchises – Delhi Daredevils and Sunrisers Hyderabad.

First, he scored 107* off 69 balls in 2010 against KKR batting for Delhi. Warner then smashed 126 off 59 balls versus KKR yet again, this time for his beloved Orange Army SRH in 2017.

In 2019, opening for Sunrisers with Jonny Bairstow, Warner scored 100* off 55 balls against RCB cementing his place among IPL legends.

Chris Gayle – Maximum Sixes While Scoring IPL Centuries  

The Universe Boss Chris Gayle dominates this list with a mindboggling 6 centuries – 5 for his long term team RCB and 1 for Punjab.

Gayle has enthralled fans over the years with his explosive batting, striking towering sixes almost at will. His highest is the monumental 175* off 66 balls versus the hapless Pune Warriors India in 2013.

Shane Watson – CSK and Rajasthan Royals Titan

Star Australian all-rounder Shane Watson is another player with multiple IPL hundreds for two teams – Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings.

Watson smashed two tons for the Royals in 2008 and 2013 respectively. After joining CSK in 2018, Watson smashed a match-winning 117* in the final and led them to their third IPL crown.

Sanju Samson – Hundreds for RR and Delhi Capitals 

Exciting Indian batter Sanju Samson first came into prominence smashing 102 off 63 in 2017 against RPS while playing for Delhi Daredevils.

He scored his second IPL century in 2019 against SRH, this time turning out for his beloved Rajasthan Royals. Sanju made an unbeaten 102 off just 55 deliveries almost single-handedly gunning down the target.

Ben Stokes – Impact Knocks for RPSG & Rajasthan  

Fiery England all-rounder Ben Stokes has also scored match-defining hundreds for two IPL franchises.

First came a scintillating 103* off 63 balls in 2017 against Gujarat Lions that sealed a thriller for Rising Pune Supergiant. 

Stokes followed it up with a whirlwind 60-ball 107* in 2020 against MI, almost taking Rajasthan Royals to victory in another last over thriller.

KL Rahul – Punjab and New Captain LSG Tons   

Stylish Kannur Lokesh Rahul has been among the most dominant IPL batters recently. He has scored tons as captain for both Punjab Kings and new franchise Lucknow Super Giants.

Rahul smashed an unbeaten 132 off 69 balls carrying his bat through against RCB in 2020. In 2022 as captain of newcomers LSG, Rahul scored a regal 103* to defeat five-time champions MI.

Quinton de Kock – DD and New Team LSG Centuries  

Wicketkeeper-batsman Quinton de Kock registered his maiden IPL century back in 2016, scoring 108 off 51 balls for Delhi Daredevils against RCB.

After stints with RCB and MI, de Kock joined the new Lucknow franchise in 2022. Opening the batting with KL Rahul this season, de Kock has smashed 140 off 70 balls in an epic opening stand.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.