IPL 2023: Purple Cap Winners – Purple Cap Holders in IPL History

The following is the updated purple cap table of the IPL 2023 season. As you can see from the table below, the top wicket-takers of the season along with their statistics for IPL 2023 can be found here. The most successful teams are those teams that possess better bowling attacks.

In the cash-rich league, the team that has the best bowling attacks is awarded the purple cap after every match. A purple cap is awarded every year to the bowler who takes the most wickets in a given season.

Purple Cap Winners - Purple Cap Holders in IPL History
Purple Cap Winners

Related:Who Hit the Biggest Six in IPL History

How Many Purple Cap Winners have there been so far?

It seems there is a lot of discussion regarding who will wear the purple cap in the 2023 Indian Premier League. It is not uncommon for people to debate about the 2023 IPL purple cap winner as soon as the topic is out, while others who are unfamiliar with IPL lingo are confused as to what the IPL 2023 purple cap winner actually means. In case you are one of them, we would be more than happy to answer any questions you may have.

IPL 2023 : Purple Cap Holders In The History Of The Tournament

1. Sohail Tanvir (Rajasthan -2008)

The first winner of the Purple cap was Pakistan pacer Sohail Tanvir in 2008, who took 22 wickets in the first season. During his debut season, he picked up 22 wickets which included the sensational figures of 6/14 in one of the innings. As a result of his brilliant run in the season, Rajasthan Royals were able to win the title that year.

2. RP Singh Purple Cap in IPL History (Royal Challengers Bangalore-2009)

The Purple Cap winner’s team also won the IPL championship in 2009, the third year in a row for the team. The player who won the purple cap also became a member of the winning team for the second time in a row as Deccan Chargers defeated Royal Challengers Bangalore to win the IPL Championship. RP Singh, a left-arm pacer for Deccan Chargers, won the Purple Cap by taking 23 wickets in 16 games at an economy rate of 6.98.

3. Pragyan Ojha (DC- 2010)

After two mediocre seasons, left-arm spinner Pragyan Ojha finally burst onto the scene in 2010 with a blistering performance for Deccan. Pragyan Ojha took 21 wickets in 16 matches, so he was the highest wicket-taker in 2010. After picking up 21 wickets in 16 games that year, he not only won the Purple Cap, but also won the hearts of many.

4. Lasith  Malinga (Mumbai- 2011)

Lasith Malinga, a four-time Indian T20 League champion with Mumbai, won the Purple Cap in only his third season in the competition. A total of 28 wickets were taken by the Sri Lankan pacer in 16 games played in 2011 at an economy rate of just 5.95.  

5. Morne Morkel (Delhi- 2012)

Overseas bowling has always been an important part of Delhi’s history. Morne Morkel delivered what he promised in 2012 as he went on to pick 25 wickets in 16 matches. However, his performance was not enough to keep his side in the playoffs as they crashed out.

6. Dwayne Bravo (Chennai -2013)

In In 2013, Chennai made the finals of the Indian T20 League for the second time in a row. In addition to their outstanding batting performances, the team’s bowling contingent also exuded a distinct sense of confidence that year, spearheaded by a certain Dwayne Bravo.

The West Indies all-rounder picked up 32 wickets during the Indian T20 League, earning him his first Purple Cap in the process. In a single season, his bowling figures in 2013 have remained unmatched by any other bowler.

7. Mohit Sharma (CSK – 2014)

Mohit Sharma is another Chennai Super Kings pacer who has been awarded the Purple Cap. During the 2014 Indian Premier League, the right-arm fast-medium bowler took 23 wickets in 16 matches.

8. Dwayne Bravo (CSK – 2015)

It is the second time that Dwayne Bravo has won the purple cap in the 2015 season. As a result of the fact that CSK has won the most purple caps in the history of IPL, this fact alone is very important to explain why they are the most dominant team. During that particular season, Bravo managed to pick up 26 wickets in 16 matches.

9. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH – 2016)

In 2016, Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up 23 wickets to help Sunrisers Hyderabad win the IPL title. In the 2016 season, Indian fast bowler Amit Mishra took one four-wicket haul.

10. Bhuvneshwar Kumar (SRH – 2017)

In 2017, Bhuvneshwar Kumar became the first bowler to win back-to-back Purple Caps in the history of the tournament. In 2014, the Sunrisers Hyderabad star retained the Purple Cap as he picked up 26 wickets in 14 matches.

11. Andrew Tye (PBK-2018)

A player from Australia won the Purple Cap after eleven seasons. Tye won the award by taking 24 wickets in 14 matches for the Kings XI Punjab in 2018 while playing for the team.

12. Imran Tahir (CSK-2019)

With 26 wickets in 17 matches, Imran Tahir topped the Purple Cap leaderboard in 2019 with 26 wickets. The Chennai Super Kings’ leg-spinner had an economy rate of 6.69 during that season.

13. Kagiso Rabada Tata IPL Purple Cap (DC -2020)

In IPL 2020, the highest wicket-taker was Kagiso Rabada. As a right-arm pacer, he took 30 wickets for the Delhi Capitals in 17 matches during his career.

14.Harshal Patel – last Year’s Purple Cap Winner(RCB – 2022)

Harshal Patel has taken the most wickets in the IPL 2023 so far. During his 15 matches for the Royal challengers Bangalore, the right-arm pacer picked up a total of 32 wickets for the team.

Who has won the most number of Purple Caps in IPL History?

The West Indies legend Dwayne Bravo and India seam-bowler Bhubaneshwar Kumar have the most number of Purple Caps in the history of the Indian Premier League, which is two times in their IPL careers.

Who gets the Purple Cap in IPL?

The player who has taken the most wickets in the IPL is awarded the Purple cap.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts