SRH All IPL Seasons Captains List (2008 – 2024)

As we look back at the history of Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the Indian Premier League (IPL), it’s important to know the captains who have led the team from 2013 to 2024.

SRH all IPL seasons captains lists from 2008 to 2021 are presented here for your perusal. During which season of the IPL will you know who was the captain of Sunrisers Hyderabad?

The following are all the captains of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team from all the seasons in the history of the Indian Premier League:

SRH All IPL Seasons Captains List

KKR All Captains List can be found here.

SRH All Captains List:

Since its inception in 2013, SRH has had a total of six captains. Let’s take a closer look at each of them and what they brought to the team.

Kumar Sangakkara (2013-2012):

The former Sri Lankan captain and wicket-keeper batsman was the first captain of the Sunrisers Hyderabad team. Sangakkara’s leadership and experience were instrumental in leading the team to their first playoff appearance in 2013. Despite not winning the trophy, Sangakkara’s calm and composed captaincy was a huge asset for the team.

Cameron White (2013):

After Sangakkara was unavailable for the 2013 season, Australian batsman Cameron White was appointed as the captain. Unfortunately, White’s captaincy stint was short-lived, and the team did not perform well that season.

Shikhar Dhawan (2014-2014):

Indian opener Shikhar Dhawan was one of the most consistent performers for SRH in the league. , Shikhar Dhawan led the team from 2014 to 2014. Dhawan’s aggressive batting and astute captaincy were critical in guiding the team to success.

DJG Sammy (2014 – 2014)

During SRH’s struggling campaign in IPL 2014, the team management appointed West Indies’ T20 World Cup-winning captain, Darren Sammy, as the new skipper, replacing Shikhar Dhawan for the last four matches of the season.
Unfortunately, Sammy’s brief tenure as captain did not change the team’s fortunes, and they failed to qualify for the playoffs.

David Warner (2015, 2019-2021):

The Australian opener, David Warner, was appointed as the captain of SRH in 2015 when Dhawan was injured. He then took over the captaincy full-time from 2019 to 2021. Under his leadership, SRH qualified for the playoffs in 2019 and made it to Qualifier 2 in 2020. Warner’s aggressive captaincy and batting prowess were crucial for the team.

Kane Williamson (2018, 2022):

Kane Williamson, the New Zealand captain, took over the captaincy duties from an injured Shikhar Dhawan in 2018. He then led the team in 2021 when David Warner was removed as captain mid-season. Williamson’s calm and composed captaincy and tactical acumen were well-received by the team.

B Kumar ( 2019-2023)

SRH’s experienced fast bowler, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, occasionally captained the team between IPL 2019 and IPL 2023 as a stand-in skipper. With only two wins from eight matches under his leadership, the team management never gave him the full-time captaincy.

MK Pandey (2021-2021)

Indian batsman Manish Pandey captained Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in their final match of IPL 2021 when senior players David Warner and Kane Williamson were rested. Pandey scored an unbeaten 69 off 41 balls in his first game as SRH captain, but the team lost to Mumbai Indians by 42 runs in Abu Dhabi.This match remains Pandey’s only appearance as SRH captain.

Aiden Markram (2023)

Markram was appointed as SRH’s captain during the IPL 2023 and under his leadership, SRH finished off at the last spot in the points table with just 4 wins in 14 matches of the league stage.

Pat Cummins (2024-)

Australia’s World Cup 2023-winning captain, Pat Cummins, was bought by Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) at the IPL 2024 auction for a whopping Rs 20.50 crore, making him the second most expensive player in IPL auction history.

SRH Captains in All IPL Seasons

IPL SeasonKXIP Captain
IPL 2024Pat Cummins
IPL 2023Aiden Markram
IPL 2022B Kumar
IPL 2021 Season 14David Warner (Half Season) and Kane Williamson
IPL 2020 Season 13David Warner
IPL 2019 Season 12Kane Williamson
IPL 2018 Season 11Kane Williamson
IPL 2017 Season 10David Warner
IPL 2016 Season 9David Warner
IPL 2015 Season 8David Warner
IPL 2014 Season 7Daren Sammy
IPL 2013 Season 6Kumar Sangakkara


The Sunrisers Hyderabad team has had some fantastic captains over the years, each bringing their unique style of leadership to the team. From Kumar Sangakkara’s calm and composed captaincy to Shikhar Dhawan’s aggressive batting and astute captaincy, each captain has left a lasting impact on the team. As the team prepares for the upcoming season, they will be looking towards Eoin Morgan to lead them to glory.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.