Which Batsman Has Scored Most Runs in IPL History? Here Is The IPL Top Scorers List

Most Runs in IPL Tournament

IPL has witnessed some of the most extraordinary performances from cricketers across the world. One of the most significant aspects of the league is its batting prowess, with some of the greatest batsmen showcasing their skills on the IPL stage. In this article, we answer the question on everyone’s mind – Which Batsman Has Scored the Most Runs in IPL History?

 A high batting standard is synonymous with a high run-scoring standard as well. But who is the batsman with the most runs in the history of the Indian Premier League?

Most Runs in IPL Tournament
Most Runs in IPL Tournament

Who has scored the most runs in the IPL tournament?

The Record-Breaker: Who Has Scored the Most Runs in IPL History?

It’s no secret that the IPL is a batsman’s paradise. With flat pitches, short boundaries, and the world’s best bowlers struggling to contain them, the IPL has seen some remarkable batting performances. But, who holds the record for the most runs in IPL history?

The answer is Virat Kohli, the Indian cricket team captain, who has amassed an incredible 6,613 runs in 196 IPL matches. Kohli’s consistency with the bat has been nothing short of exceptional, with a staggering average of 38.16 and a strike rate of 130.41.

1. Virat Kohli (Royal Challengers Bangalore)

Breaking Down Kohli’s IPL Record

Let’s break down Kohli’s record in more detail to understand the sheer scale of his batting prowess. Here are some of the highlights of his IPL career:

  • Kohli has scored 5 IPL centuries, including a highest score of 113 runs.
  • He has scored 38 IPL fifties, which is the most by any batsman in IPL history.
  • Kohli has also hit the most number of fours (566) and the second-most number of sixes (201) in IPL history.
  • He has been the leading run-scorer in the IPL for a record six times, which is the most by any batsman in IPL history.

2. Shikhar Dhawan – 5784 runs

Team(s): Sunrisers Hyderabad, Delhi Capitals, Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians

Shikhar Dhawan has played for four IPL teams and has the second most runs in IPL. As far as his most successful stint in international cricket goes, it was with Sunrisers Hyderabad where he played 85 games and scored 2518 runs at an average of 34.49. Furthermore, he has also scored well for his current team, Delhi Capitals (1859 runs in 55 innings) and Deccan Chargers (969 runs in 29 innings). Despite only appearing in 15 games for the Mumbai Indians, the left-hander averaged 16.5 runs per match.

3. Rohit Sharma – 5611 Runs

Team(s): Deccan Chargers, Mumbai Indians

After being named the most successful captain of the most successful team in the history of the Indian Premier League, Rohit Sharma’s career changed for the better when he moved from Deccan Chargers to Mumbai Indians in 2007. The Mumbai Indians captain has led the team to a record five titles, and he has also been a formidable force in the batting department. The Mumbai Indians captain is the fourth highest run scorer in the history of IPL, having amassed 5611 runs in 213 matches at an average of 31.17. 

Rohit Sharma’s record for Deccan Chargers (1172 runs in 45 matches) was good, but with Mumbai Indians he has been outstanding with 5611 runs in 208 games.

4. Suresh Raina (Chennai Super Kings) 

It has been reported that he has been one of the top performers in the Indian Premier League. While representing the Chennai Super Kings as well as Gujarat Lions over the years, the dynamic batter displayed his strengths in the shortest format of the game while playing a number of scintillating knocks.

Raina has scored 5448 runs in 197 matches to his name. As a player, Suresh Raina has also amassed a century, along with 39 fifty-wickets in the league. 

5. David Warner (Sunrisers Hyderabad) 

The explosive opening batsman of the Australian team has also had a notable showing in India’s T20 tournament. The SRH captain has played 146 matches in this competition so far, and he has made 5384 runs in the process. During the tournament, the star batsman is also the one who has scored the most half-centuries. Warner has scored 49 fifties and four centuries in the IPL.

Virat Kohli207628337.39
Shikhar Dhawan192578434.84
Rohit Sharma213561131.17
Suresh Raina205552832.51
David Warner150544941.49

Most Runs in IPL 2020

The orange cap is awarded to the player who scores the most runs in the Indian Premier League. For the most runs scored in IPL 2020, KL Rahul won the orange cap for scoring the most runs. 

Rahul scored 670 runs in 14 matches at an average of 55.83 and a strike rate of 129.34. He hit one century and five half-centuries in the tournament. In 69 deliveries, he scored 132 runs against Royal Challengers Bangalore.

 Most Runs in IPL 2021

Ruturaj Gaikwad scored 635 runs in 2021 at an average of 45.35 and a strike rate of 136.26. Over the course of the tournament, Gaikwad hit one century as well as four half-centuries. As part of the squad for the T20I series against New Zealand, India has included Ruturaj Gaikwad, who has scored most runs in the IPL tournament 2021.

Gaikwad is only the second player in the history of the IPL to have won both the orange cap and the IPL trophy during the same season. Robin Uthappa achieved this feat the first time he played in the IPL. In 2014, he won the orange cap and that year, KKR won the trophy as well.

Most Runs in an Over in IPL

In the history of IPL, two players have scored more runs in an over than any other player. They are Gayle and Jadeja. The 50th match of the 2011 Indian Premier League (IPL) season took place on the 8th of May 2011 between Royal Challengers Bangalore and Kochi Tuskers Kerala. KTK scored only 125 runs in 20 overs, losing nine wickets for the loss of nine runs.

For the Royal Challengers Bangalore team, Chris Gayle and Tillakaratne Dilshan opened the batting. Prasanth Parameswaran, bowling his third over for the team, conceded 37 runs in the over.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts