Batters with most sixes in 20th over in IPL history

most sixes in 20th over in IPL history

In the shortest format of Cricket, the final over constitutes one of the most exciting components. Batters strive to finish the innings on a high note by going all out, while bowlers aim to keep the damage to a minimum. The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen numerous top-notch batters enter the arena and excel at finishing.

Some players among them have put opposition bowlers under pressure by dealing in sixes in the 20th over. For a few, the secret to hitting sixes has been pure power, while certain players have relied on their timing to clear the ropes.

Top Five Batsmen with the Most Sixes in IPL 20th over

Here are the top five batsmen in IPL history with the most sixes in the 20th over.

Rohit Sharma

The 35-year-old Rohit Sharma has been one of the most prolific run-getters in the Indian Premier League since its inaugural season. He has amassed a staggering tally of 5879 runs in 227 matches at a strike rate of 129.89 in the lucrative T20 tournament.

With his blitzkrieg, Rohit has dismantled bowling attacks and stamped his authority on the cricket field. The Indian skipper has all the shots in the book and can inflict carnage even on the best of bowlers on his day.

Rohit is also among the finest six hitters in the T20 extravaganza, having hammered a total of 240 maximums. Despite playing the majority of his matches as an opening batter, he has smashed 23 sixes in the 20th over of the innings as a veteran batter.

Hardik Pandya

At the moment, Hardik Pandya is one of the finest all-rounders in world cricket. The 29-year-old has featured in 107 IPL games, amassing 1963 runs at a superb strike rate of 147.59. On the bowling front, he has taken 50 wickets at an economy of 8.75.

Hardik Pandya has taken bowling attacks to the cleaners and finished games for the side. Last season, he also demonstrated his ability to steady the ship and hold the innings together. As an ace all-rounder, he has been the enforcer in the middle phases of the game with the ball, providing his team with timely breakthroughs.

When it comes to clearing the ropes, Hardik has been quite phenomenal, having smashed 110 maximums in the IPL t20 Tournament. Moreover, 25 of those sixes have come in the final over of the innings, which portrays the finishing might of the flamboyant cricketer.

Ravindra Jadeja

In the IPL T20, Ravindra Jadeja has been a bankable name as an ace all-rounder, having featured in 210 matches, scoring 2502 runs at a strike rate of 127.59. Regarding his exploits with the ball, he has picked up 132 wickets at an economy of 7.61.

His side has entrusted Jadeja to finish games, and he has done so with perfection. The 34-year-old has put up an exhibition of his swashbuckling stroke play time and time again, playing many blistering knocks at the fag end of the innings.

In the IPL, Jadeja has tanked 90 sixes, with 26 of them coming in the final over. During the 19th match of IPL 2021 against Royal Challengers Bangalore, the southpaw was in his element and smashed five sixes in the final over, with Harshal Patel at the receiving end.

Kieron Pollard

In the shortest format, Kieron Pollard is a giant player. The 35-year-old has amassed an insane tally of 11915 runs in 614 games at a stunning strike rate of 150.25. He has also been a smart customer with the ball, having bagged 309 scalps in those outings at an economy of 8.22.

In the IPL arena, Pollard has displayed his all-round prowess. The Trinidad-born player has plundered 3412 runs in 189 matches at a superb strike rate of 147.32. On the bowling front, he has bagged 69 wickets at an economy of 8.79.

Pollard’s power-hitting ability has made him a ferocious striker of the cricket ball, and he has demolished many bowling attacks. The Trinidad-born all-rounder has smashed a total of 223 maximums in the T20 extravaganza, 33 of which have come in the 20th over.

MS Dhoni

MS Dhoni has decimated bowling attacks with his marauding bat in both the international arena and the Indian Premier League, making world cricket his happy hunting ground. He is considered one of the greatest cricketers India has produced.

Dhoni has knocked the winds out of the opposition and played many memorable knocks in his glorious IPL career. The legendary cricketer has featured in 234 IPL games and hammered 4978 runs at a strike rate of 135.20, with a total of 229 sixes.

Dhoni’s reputation as one of the best finishers in Cricket is well-known, having often taken the game deep and won it for his team in the final over. He has smashed 52 sixes in the 20th over, the most in the IPL, during his illustrious career.


Who holds the record for the most sixes in the 20th over of an IPL inning?

MS Dhoni is the cricketer who holds the record for smashing the most sixes (52) in the 20th over of an IPL innings.

Who are the other top batters with the most sixes in the 20th over in IPL history?

Kieron Pollard is the second on the list with 33 sixes, followed by AB de Villiers (31), Rohit Sharma (23), and Hardik Pandya (20).

Which team has the most number of batters with the most sixes in the 20th over in IPL history?

Mumbai Indians have three of their players in the list – Rohit Sharma, Hardik Pandya, and Kieron Pollard.

What is the significance of the 20th over in T20 cricket?

The 20th over is the last over of an inning in T20 cricket, and it is often the most critical over as the batting team tries to maximize their score.

What is the role of power-hitters in T20 cricket?

Power-hitters are the batters in a team who have the ability to hit the ball long distances consistently. They play a crucial role in T20 cricket, where scoring runs at a high rate is essential to winning matches.

About Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts