Mumbai Indians (MI) All IPL Seasons Captains List (2008 – 2023)

Before the IPL’s inception in 2008, the MI team was already the most expensive franchise to be sold in the league because they were the most successful franchise in IPL history. In the inaugural IPL season, Sachin Tendulkar became MI’s first captain as Reliance Industries Ltd owner Mukesh Ambani purchased the team for a staggering amount of $111.9 million and with the BCCI selecting the four legends to play for the Indian franchise, Sachin Tendulkar became MI’s first captain.

Here you will find Mumbai Indians’ captains of all IPL seasons from 2008 to 2023. In this article, you will find out who was the captain of Mumbai Indians during which IPL season.

Mumbai Indians (MI) All IPL Seasons Captains List (2008 – 2021)

So here are all the captains of the Mumbai Indians team in all the seasons of the Indian Premier League:

Today’s topic is to discuss who has held the captaincy command in the Indian Premier League between 2008 and 2023, as well as who was the first captain of the league during its first year. We will also tell you who has been a captain from IPL 2008 to 2023 (IPL Captains List).

Mumbai Indians Captains in All IPL Seasons

IPL SeasonMI Captain
IPL 2021 Season 14Rohit Sharma
IPL 2020 Season 13Rohit Sharma
IPL 2019 Season 12Rohit Sharma
IPL 2018 Season 11Rohit Sharma
IPL 2017 Season 10Rohit Sharma
IPL 2016 Season 9Rohit Sharma
IPL 2015 Season 8Rohit Sharma
IPL 2014 Season 7Rohit Sharma
IPL 2013 Season 6Rohit Sharma
IPL 2012 Season 5Harbhajan Singh
IPL 2011 Season 4Sachin Tendulkar
IPL 2010 Season 3Sachin Tendulkar
IPL 2009 Season 2Sachin Tendulkar
IPL 2008 Season 1Sachin Tendulkar

First Captain of MI – Sachin Tendulkar

The period from 2010 to 2012 marked the franchise’s rising years, as the team with Sachin’s guidance continually qualified for playoffs under the name of MI. Sachin Tendulkar was ultimately selected for MI’s first IPL captaincy during the inaugural season. Nevertheless, the overall search for its very first IPL glory still seems to be a very long and exhausting process.

Related:Best Bowlers of IPL 2022

Current Captain of MI-Rohit Sharma

The ingenious captaincy of Rohit Sharma had become an instant hit for the Mumbai Indians team, ultimately taking the franchise to its first IPL championship. Having won another IPL title in 2015, and following it up with two more in 2017 and 2019, the team had become one of the strongest teams if this tournament takes place in an odd-numbered year.

Although 2020 will be remembered by mankind as the oddest year mankind has ever known since the dawn of time, the MI team under the leadership of Rohit Sharma landed its fifth trophy and is perhaps the most valuable franchise in the long history of the IPL.

About Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.

Similar Posts