MI vs RCB Head to Head Stats and All-Time Top Performers

RCB vs MI Head to Head in IPL

The Mumbai Indians (MI) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) rivalry has been one of the most exciting fixtures in the Indian Premier League (IPL). With both teams having massive fan followings and star-studded lineups, their encounters have always been highly anticipated. In this article, we will explore MI vs RCB head to head stats and dive into the all-time top performers from these high-profile encounters.

MI vs RCB Head to Head Record

Throughout IPL history, MI and RCB have faced each other in a total of 32 matches. The Mumbai Indians have the upper hand in this rivalry, winning 19 matches, while RCB has secured victory in 13 encounters.

Historical Encounters

Over the years, MI and RCB have had several thrilling matches, producing unforgettable moments. From nail-biting finishes to individual brilliance, these encounters have been a treat for cricket enthusiasts. Some of the most iconic clashes between the two sides include RCB’s 5-wicket win in their first-ever IPL encounter in 2008 and RCB’s 7-wicket victory over MI in their 2022 meeting at Pune.

Top Performers in MI vs RCB Matches

Leading Run-Scorers

  1. Virat Kohli (RCB) – 769 runs
  2. AB de Villiers (RCB) – 693 runs
  3. Rohit Sharma (MI) – 566 runs
  4. Kieron Pollard (MI) – 552 runs
  5. Ambati Rayudu (MI) – 406 runs

Leading Wicket-Takers

  1. Jasprit Bumrah (MI) – 24 wickets
  2. Yuzvendra Chahal (RCB & MI) – 22 wickets
  3. Harbhajan Singh (MI) – 18 wickets
  4. Harshal Patel (RCB) – 17 wickets
  5. Lasith Malinga (RCB) – 14 wickets

Current Team Rosters

Key Players for MI

  • Rohit Sharma (Captain)
  • Jasprit Bumrah
  • Suryakumar Yadav
  • Kieron Pollard
  • Ishan Kishan

Key Players for RCB

  • Virat Kohli (Captain)
  • Glenn Maxwell
  • Devdutt Padikkal
  • Mohammed Siraj
  • Kyle Jamieson

Venue Statistics

MI and RCB have faced each other in various venues across India. MI’s home ground, Wankhede Stadium, has witnessed many memorable encounters, while RCB’s fortress, M. Chinnaswamy Stadium, has hosted its share of thrilling matches as well. Both teams have had their moments of glory at home and away, but MI has generally fared better in the overall head-to-head record, regardless of the venue.

Recent RCB vs MI Head-to-Head Encounters

In the last few IPL seasons, MI has maintained its dominance over RCB, winning a majority of their encounters. However, RCB has shown glimpses of brilliance and has managed to upset the Mumbai outfit on occasion. The dynamic nature of IPL and the constant changes in team compositions make it difficult to predict the outcome of these high-voltage clashes.

MI vs RCB IPL Match Results

DateWinnerWon byVenue
09-Apr-2022Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsPune
26-Sept-2021Royal Challengers Bangalore54 runsDubai
09-Apr-2021Royal Challengers Bangalore2 WicketsChennai
28-Oct-2020Mumbai Indians5 WicketsAbu Dhabi
28-Sep-2020Royal Challengers BangaloreSuper OverDubai
15-Apr-2019Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
28-Mar-2019Mumbai Indians6 RunsBengaluru
01-May-2018Royal Challengers Bangalore14 RunsBengaluru
17-Apr-2018Mumbai Indians46 RunsMumbai
01-May-2017Mumbai Indians5 WicketsMumbai
14-Apr-2017Mumbai Indians4 WicketsBengaluru
10-May-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsBengaluru
19-Apr-2016Mumbai Indians6 WicketsMumbai
09-May-2015Royal Challengers Bangalore39 RunsMumbai
18-Apr-2015Mumbai Indians18 RunsBengaluru
05-May-2014Mumbai Indians19 RunsMumbai
18-Apr-2014Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsDubai
26-Apr-2013Mumbai Indians58 RunsMumbai
03-Apr-2013Royal Challengers Bangalore2 RunsBengaluru
13-May-2012Mumbai Indians5 WicketsBengaluru
08-May-2012Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsMumbai
08-Oct-2011Mumbai Indians31 RunsChennai
26-May-2011Royal Challengers Bangalore43 RunsChennai
11-Apr-2011Mumbai Indians9 WicketsBengaluru
18-Sep-2010Mumbai Indians2 RunsDurban
20-Apr-2010Mumbai Indians35 RunsMumbai (DY)
16-Apr-2010Mumbai Indians57 RunsBengaluru
19-Mar-2010Royal Challengers Bangalore7 WicketsMumbai (BS)
09-May-2009Mumbai Indians16 RunsPort Elizabeth
02-May-2009Royal Challengers Bangalore9 WicketsJohannesburg
27-May-2008Mumbai Indians9 WicketsBengaluru
19-Apr-2008Royal Challengers Bangalore5 WicketsMumbai

Factors Affecting MI vs RCB Head-to-Head

Several factors have contributed to the head-to-head record between MI and RCB, such as batting and bowling strengths, captaincy tactics, and player availability. MI has boasted a well-rounded team over the years, with a solid batting lineup and a formidable bowling attack. In contrast, RCB has often been heavily reliant on individual performances, especially from the likes of Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers.

Fan Rivalry

The MI vs RCB rivalry has not only been about on-field performances but also about the passion and loyalty of their fans. With both teams having a massive fan following, the excitement and anticipation for their encounters are always sky-high. Fans from both sides actively engage in friendly banter and social media interactions, making the rivalry even more enjoyable.

Future MI vs RCB Encounters

As the IPL continues to grow in stature and popularity, fans can expect more nail-biting encounters between MI and RCB in the coming seasons. With both teams always looking to strengthen their squads, the competition between these two powerhouses is only set to intensify.


The MI vs RCB head-to-head stats and top performers paint a picture of an intense and exciting rivalry between two of the most popular IPL franchises. Although MI has had the upper hand historically, RCB has shown that they are more than capable of producing match-winning performances. As the IPL progresses, fans can look forward to more thrilling encounters between these two giants of the game.

Who has the better head-to-head record between MI and RCB?

MI leads the head-to-head record with 19 wins, while RCB has 13 victories.

Who is the leading run-scorer in MI vs RCB matches?

Virat Kohli leads the run-scoring chart in MI vs RCB matches with 769 runs.

Who has taken the most wickets in MI vs RCB encounters?

Jasprit Bumrah is the leading wicket-taker in MI vs RCB matches with 24 wickets.

How many times has MI won the IPL title?

MI has won the IPL title 5 times.

Has RCB ever won the IPL title?

RCB has not won an IPL title but has reached the finals twice.

Moonda Ale

Cricket Content Writer at Cricfacts.com.  A seasoned sports journalist who is working in the industry for more than two decades. He is now on facebook also.