Most Runs in a ‘Single Over’ in IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed some of the most explosive batting performances in the history of T20 cricket over the past 16 years. While it’s common for batsmen to go on a rampage in IPL matches, even the top-notch bowlers have experienced intense onslaughts at times.

Here we revisit instances where bowlers conceded 30 or more runs in a single over – the most expensive overs ever bowled in IPL.

The Indian Premier League, over the past 16 years, has seen some of the most incredible displays of power-hitting in T20 cricket. Batsmen going berserk and smashing bowlers to all parts of the ground is a common sight in IPL games.

Most Runs in a ‘Single Over’ in IPL

However, even the best bowlers have faced absolute mauling sometimes at the hands of merciless batsmen. In this blog post, we revisit instances where bowlers bled runs severely – conceding 30 or more in a single over, which are the most expensive overs in IPL history.

RCBChris Gayle (36)376,6nb,4,4,6,6,4Prasanth ParameswaranKochi TuskersBangalore2011
CSKRavindra Jadeja (36)376,6,6nb,6,2,6,4Harshal PatelRCBMumbai2021
KKRPat Cummins (34)356,4,6,6,2nb,4,6Daniel SamsMIPune2022
CSKSuresh Raina (32)336,6,4,4,4nb,4,4Parvinder AwanaKXIPMumbai2014
KKRChris Gayle (24)
Manoj Tiwary (2)
331,6,6,6,6,5wd,2wd,1Ravi BoparaKXIPKolkata2010
RCBChris Gayle (30)
Saurabh Tiwary (1)
311,6,6,6,6,6Rahul SharmaPWIBangalore2012
PBKSSam Curran (11) Harpreet Singh (18)316,1wd,4,1,4,6,5nb,4Arjun TendulkarMIMumbai2023
KKRRinku Singh (30) Umesh Yadav (1)311,6,6,6,6,6Yash DayalGTAhmedabad2023
RCBVirat Kohli (30)306,4,6,6,6,2Shivil KaushikGLBangalore2016
DDVirender Sehwag (30)304,6,4,6,4,6Andrew SymondsDeccan ChargersHyderabad2008
DCMarcus Stoinis (25)
Andre Nortje (3)
306,1wd,4,4,4,6,2nb,3Chris JordanKXIPDubai (DSC)2020
RRRahul Tewatia (30)306,6,6,6,0,6Sheldon CottrellKXIPSharjah2020
KKRAndre Russell (23)
Sam Billings (6)
304,6,6,0,6,2nb,6Odean SmithPBKSWankhede2022
RRJofra Archer (26)
Tom Curran (1)
306,6,7nb,7nb,1wd,0,1,1,1Lungi NgidiCSKSharjah2020
KXIPShaun Marsh (30)306,6,4,4,4,6Johan Van Der WathRCBDharamsala2011
KKRPat Cummins (30)302,6,6,6,4,6Sam CurranCSKMumbai2021
MIHardik Pandya (28)306,6,6,4,6,1wdW,1BAshok DindaRPSGPune

#1: 37 Runs – Prasanth Parameswaran in 2011

Kochi Tuskers Kerala pacer Prasanth Parameswaran has the unwanted record of bowling the most expensive over ever in IPL history. He bled 37 runs in a single over while playing against Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) in 2011.

Parameswaran had a tough time against RCB opener Chris Gayle. Gayle was in a very aggressive mood that day. In just one over, Gayle hit 6, 6nb, 4, 4, 6, 6, 4, scoring an incredible 37 runs. Gayle finished the match unbeaten with 75 runs off only 35 balls, helping RCB reach a total of 205/6.

Kochi Tuskers, in response, could only score 165/7 in 20 overs, losing by 40 runs. Parameswaran, unfortunately, had a challenging day, taking 1 wicket for 69 runs in 4 overs.

#2: 37 Runs – Harshal Patel in 2021

Ten years after Prasanth Parameswaran’s 37-run over, history was repeated in IPL 2021 between the same teams. RCB pacer Harshal Patel conceded 37 runs in the 20th over while bowling to Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

It was CSK all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja who caused significant damage, scoring 36 runs in the final over against Patel. Jadeja’s impressive sequence against Patel included hitting 6, 6, 6nb, 6, 2, 6, 4. He finished the innings unbeaten with 62 runs off just 28 balls.

Jadeja’s brilliant performance powered CSK to a total of 191/4 in 20 overs. In reply, RCB struggled and finished with 122/9. Patel took three wickets for 51 runs in his 4 overs.

#3: 35 Runs – Daniel Sams in 2022

During the 2022 IPL season, Mumbai Indians (MI) faced a challenging moment when their pacer, Daniel Sams, conceded 35 runs in a single over against Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Surprisingly, it was KKR’s bowler Pat Cummins who took charge with the bat, hitting 4 sixes and 2 fours off Sams in a seven-ball carnage that accumulated 35 runs. Sams had a tough time, concluding with figures of 0/57 in 3 overs.

Benefiting from Cummins’s quick 56 off 15 balls, KKR set a total of 161/4. They managed to restrict MI to 113/9, securing a victory by 52 runs.

#4: 33 Runs – Parvinder Awana in 2014

In IPL 2014, Kings XI Punjab’s pacer, Parvinder Awana, had a challenging encounter against Chennai Super Kings (CSK). In the pursuit of a target of 179, Awana took the ball for the 16th over.

CSK’s Suresh Raina launched a spectacular assault, scoring 33 runs in the over, which included 2 sixes and 5 fours. Raina capitalized on two free hits resulting from Awana’s consecutive overstepping incidents.

Raina’s remarkable performance led CSK to a comfortable victory, reaching 181/4 in 18.3 overs. Unfortunately for Awana, he conceded 33 runs in his sole over, with 14 runs coming from extras, comprising 7 wides and 1 no ball.

#5: 33 Runs – Ravi Bopara in 2010

Ravi Bopara, an Englishman, finds a spot on this list due to a challenging over he bowled against Kolkata Knight Riders in IPL 2010.

Bopara struggled against the sheer power of Chris Gayle, the robust West Indian, who hammered him for 33 runs. This onslaught included four sixes in five legal deliveries. The over concluded with two runs from KKR’s Manoj Tiwary, resulting in Kings XI conceding a staggering 33 runs in total.

Gayle’s explosive 18-ball 55 and Tiwary’s quick 12-ball 21 propelled KKR to a formidable total of 246/5 in 20 overs, ultimately winning the match by 39 runs.


The most expensive overs in IPL history are a reminder of the brutal nature of T20 batting when batsmen get going. The 37-run overs from Parameswaran and Patel show that even the best bowlers can have shockingly bad days when facing batting royalty like Gayle and Jadeja.

Frequently Asked Questions

Who hit the most runs in one over in IPL history?

Chris Gayle and Ravindra Jadeja share the record for most runs in a single over in IPL – 37 runs.

Who conceded 37 runs in one over to Gayle?

It was Kerala pacer Prasanth Parameswaran who bled 37 runs against Gayle in 2011.

Which MI bowler did Pat Cummins smash for 35 in one over?

In the 2022 IPL season, Kolkata Knight Riders’ Pat Cummins smashed Mumbai Indians’ pacer Daniel Sams for 35 runs in a single over.

Who hit 5 sixes in one over off Harshal Patel in IPL 2021?

Chennai Super Kings all-rounder Ravindra Jadeja hit 5 sixes and 1 four off Harshal Patel in IPL 2021.

Which KXIP bowler did Suresh Raina smash for 33 runs in one over?

It was Kings XI Punjab bowler Parvinder Awana who conceded 33 runs against Suresh Rainain in IPL 2014 match.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.