Bowlers Who Have Conceded the Most Sixes in IPL History

The Indian Premier League (IPL) is a batsman’s paradise with small boundaries, flat pitches, and attacking batting dominating bowling attacks. As six-hitting has amplified dramatically over the years, some unfortunate bowlers have borne the brunt, conceding a mountain of maximums in an IPL season.

This in-depth analysis identifies and profiles bowlers who have conceded the highest number of sixes in IPL T20 tournament, shedding light on those who have been hit for most sixes.

Bowlers Who Have Conceded the Most Sixes in IPL History

Bowlers Conceding Most Sixes in IPL

The bowlers are getting hit for lots of sixes. This has happened many times in the IPL over the past 15 years. Some bowlers, especially fast bowlers, have been hit for sixes so often that it has been very difficult for them.

This article takes a closer look at the bowlers who have conceded the most sixes, providing insights into the stats of fast bowlers and compiling a list of bowlers who have found it challenging in the IPL.

Bowlers Who Conceded Maximum Sixes in IPL

Piyush Chawla2011801.12
Yuzvendra Chahal1941441.35
Ravindra Jadeja1931970.98
Ravichandran Ashwin1841940.95
Amit Mishra1811611.11
Dwayne Bravo1551580.98
Sunil Narine1491610.93
Harbhajan Singh1451600.91
Umesh Yadav1401401.00
Axar Patel1391341.04

1. Piyush Chawla: Most Sixes Conceded in the IPL (201)

Veteran leg-spinner Piyush Chawla holds the record of being the bowler who has conceded the maximum number of sixes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history. A staggering 201 maximums have sailed over the boundary rope off his bowling in the 10 seasons he has played in the IPL, during which he has also picked up a respectable 156 wickets.

In his 180 matches, his tendency to bowl high balls to get wickets has resulted in batsmen hitting many sixes. Over the years, Chawla has given away 4796 runs with 361 fours, often struggling to stop batsmen on good pitches. He holds the record for conceding the maximum number of sixes among all bowlers, topping the list with a mark that is unlikely to be broken soon.

 2. Yuzvendra Chahal – 194 Sixes in IPL

After Piyush Chawla, the next bowler with the most sixes conceded is India’s top spinner in limited-overs cricket, leggie Yuzvendra Chahal. In his 8 seasons playing for Royal Challengers Bangalore, batsmen have hit him for a staggering 194 sixes.

Chahal’s aggressive bowling style, where he throws the ball high and tries to hit the wickets, has sometimes backfired. Batsmen have often stepped out against him and easily hit sixes straight down the field.

In his 140+ matches, Chahal has given away over 4300 runs, which has played a big part in RCB having the most sixes conceded in the IPL’s history. But he’s also taken an impressive 145 wickets with his aggressive bowling style.

 3. Ravindra Jadeja – 192 Sixes  

Ravindra Jadeja, arguably India’s best all-rounder, holds the unfortunate distinction of being the third bowler to have conceded the most sixes in the Indian Premier League (IPL) history. A total of 192 maximums have sailed over the boundary rope off his bowling.

Although primarily known for his economical bowling approach, mixing his angles and speeds cleverly, Jadeja has often been targeted by batsmen who enjoy hitting his left-arm spin.

While capable of dismantling teams under favorable conditions, Jadeja has struggled against powerful hitting on flat pitches. Over 190 IPL innings, he has conceded over 4800 runs, including nearly 200 sixes.

 4. Ravichandran Ashwin – 184 Sixes

Next up is the experienced off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who has conceded 184 sixes in his IPL career. A consistent performer, often carrying the bowling attack for Punjab Kings and Delhi Capitals, Ashwin’s bowling has occasionally been loose enough for batsmen to take advantage.

Over 190 matches and 139 wickets, Ashwin’s focus on precision and accuracy has backfired at times, leading him to concede over 4350 runs. Despite his numerous variations, batsmen have still managed to find the sweet spot in his bowling and send the ball soaring into the stands.

5. Amit Mishra – 181 Sixes

Rounding out the top 5 is leg-spinner Amit Mishra, who has been smashed for 181 sixes in the IPL. A true attacking bowler, Mishra throws the ball high and relies heavily on overspin and sidespin to take wickets.

 Mishra has conceded over 4300 runs in his 160+ IPL matches, making him one of the most six-prone bowlers in the tournament’s history.


The Indian Premier League (IPL) has become synonymous with big-hitting action, with new batting records being shattered every season. However, this has come at a cost for Bowlers Who Have Taken the Most Wickets for a Single Franchise in IPL History, as they’ve borne the brunt of the carnage.

Prominent names like Piyush Chawla, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravindra Jadeja, Ravichandran Ashwin, and Amit Mishra have all achieved significant wicket-taking milestones throughout their IPL careers.

Alice Mirza

Cricket is Alice Mirza’s passion, and he loves playing, watching, and discussing the game. The Cricket blog is my way of spreading my thoughts about the game. Previously, I ghost-wrote for a few websites. For me, cricket is more than just a game.