RCB All IPL Final Match List

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the most popular franchises in the history of the Indian Premier League. Led by the global superstar Virat Kohli over the years, RCB has always had several match-winners like AB de Villiers and Chris Gayle in their lineup.

However, despite having some of the greatest T20 players of all time, RCB has never been able to win that elusive IPL trophy. They have played only three IPL finals until 2023, losing all.

RCB All ipl final match list

As they target their first-ever title in the 2023 edition, let’s recap RCB’s heartbreaks in IPL finals over the years.

2009 Final vs Deccan Chargers

In 2009, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) cricket team made it to their first Indian Premier League (IPL) final. This happened under the leadership of experienced spinner Anil Kumble. They had a decent run in the league stage, winning seven out of 14 matches and ending up in third place.

In the final match, they were up against the Deccan Chargers (DC), led by Adam Gilchrist. DC batted first and managed to score a moderate total of 143 runs for the loss of 6 wickets. Andrew Symonds was the highest scorer with 33 runs.

When it was RCB’s turn to bat, they didn’t start well and lost wickets early on. However, Roelof van der Merwe tried to turn the game around with his quick 32 runs off just 21 balls. Despite his efforts, RCB couldn’t reach the target and fell short by just 6 runs, ending with a score of 137/9. It was a nail-biting match with a low score, but in the end, RCB couldn’t clinch the victory.

2011 Final vs Chennai Super Kings

In 2011, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) cricket team had a fantastic run in the league stage of the Indian Premier League (IPL). They were at the top of the points table with nine victories in 14 matches, all under the guidance of Daniel Vettori.
However, they had a tough time against the Chennai Super Kings (CSK).

After losing the first qualifier match to CSK, RCB bounced back and won the second qualifier against Mumbai. This win set the stage for a rematch with CSK in the final, led by MS Dhoni.

Unfortunately, RCB couldn’t secure the championship. CSK’s openers, Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay, both scored centuries, helping their team reach a total of 205/5. In response, RCB could only manage 147/8, losing the match by 58 runs. This victory gave CSK their second IPL title.

2016 Final vs Sunrisers Hyderabad

In 2016, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) cricket team had a great run in the Indian Premier League (IPL). They finished second in the league stage, just behind the new team, Gujarat Lions. The star of the season was Virat Kohli, who scored more than 900 runs.

RCB kept up their good performance, beating Gujarat Lions by 4 wickets in the first qualifier match. In the final, they faced another new team, Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by David Warner.

It was a high-scoring match. Sunrisers Hyderabad batted first and scored 208/7, thanks to Warner’s 69 runs and some late fast scoring from Ben Cutting.

RCB started well with Kohli (54) and Chris Gayle (76) putting up 114 runs for the first wicket. But despite their efforts, RCB fell short by 8 runs, ending with 200/7. Sunrisers Hyderabad won the match and their first IPL title.


In summary, RCB has endured three heartbreaking losses in IPL finals until the 2023 season – losing to DC in 2009, CSK in 2011, and SRH in 2016 summits.

Despite having several superstars like Kohli, de Villiers, and Gayle over the years, RCB has always flattered to deceive in the finals. Their repeated failures underline the difficulty in winning IPL titles.

As they continue seeking their first-ever crown, RCB fans would hope the curse is finally broken in the 2023 season or upcoming editions to end this long painful wait.

Who was the captain of RCB in their first IPL final in 2009?

Veteran spinner Anil Kumble captained RCB in their maiden IPL final appearance in 2009.

Against which team did RCB lose the 2011 IPL final by 58 runs?

RCB lost the 2011 final against arch-rivals Chennai Super Kings by a massive 58-run margin.

Who scored the most runs for RCB in the 2016 IPL final loss?

Chris Gayle top-scored for RCB with 76 runs off just 38 balls in their 2016 final loss vs SRH.


Editor at Cricfacts.com.  The Premier Cricket News Hub Providing Exclusive Updates on Cricket Events Worldwide, Including IPL, PSL, and More.