RCB All IPL Seasons Captains List (2008 – 2023)

The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) has had a diverse set of captains leading the team throughout its IPL journey from 2008 to 2023. Starting with Rahul Dravid, who laid the foundation, the team saw iconic players like Anil Kumble, Daniel Vettori, and Virat Kohli assume leadership roles.

RCB’s captains have showcased their prowess in strategic thinking and team management, contributing to the team’s growth and success in the highly competitive IPL environment. The RCB captaincy history is a testament to the franchise’s continuous pursuit of excellence and strong leadership in the prestigious Indian Premier League.

In the Indian Premier League (IPL) Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is one of the few franchises that have not yet won a trophy.Current season captain of RCB is Faf du Plessis.

RCB All IPL Seasons Captains List

The RCB management has made plenty of changes to the roster over the years, but they have not been able to go all the way in their quest for championship glory. As well as the captaincy, they’ve changed a few things, but their luck has remained the same.

Related:IPL 2022: Highest Run Scores in an IPL Final

I think that Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) is the best team in the IPL. Their chances of winning IPL 16 are pretty good. The Royal Challengers Bangalore looks all set to dominate the IPL once again with a blend of overseas and Indian talent.

The following is a list of every RCB captain for all IPL seasons between 2008 and 2023. There will be a list of the captains of Royal Challengers Bangalore in each IPL season.

So here is all captains’ list of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team in all Indian Premier League seasons history:

RCB Captains in All IPL Seasons

IPL SeasonRCB Captain
IPL 2023 Season 16Faf du Plessis
IPL 2022 Season 15Faf du Plessis
IPL 2021 Season 14Virat Kohli
IPL 2020 Season 13Virat Kohli
IPL 2019 Season 12Virat Kohli
IPL 2018 Season 11Virat Kohli
IPL 2017 Season 10Virat Kohli
IPL 2016 Season 9Virat Kohli
IPL 2015 Season 8Virat Kohli
IPL 2014 Season 7Virat Kohli
IPL 2013 Season 6Virat Kohli
IPL 2012 Season 5Daniel Vettori
IPL 2011 Season 4Daniel Vettori
IPL 2010 Season 3Anil Kumble
IPL 2009 Season 2Anil Kumble
IPL 2008 Season 1Rahul Dravid

Ranking all RCB captains from IPL 2008 to 2020

RCB captain Virat Kohli may have been the most successful among the team’s captains, but it is interesting to see how the other captains have fared over the last year.

Rahul Dravid – RCB First Captain

A former captain of the Indian cricket team, Rahul Dravid led RCB in the first edition of the Indian Premier League in 2008.

Despite having led the team in 14 matches, Dravid was only able to secure four victories as RCB failed to reach the next round of the competition.

After three seasons with RCB, the elegant batsman moved to Rajasthan to pursue a career in the state. On the whole, Dravid played 89 games in the IPL, scoring 2174 runs, including 11 fifties.

Related:Highest Partnership in IPL all Season

Anil Kumble – RCB captain (2009 – 2010)

Anil Kumble was RCB’s first captain in the inaugural season of the IPL in 2008. He led the team for three seasons, before stepping down in 2010. Daniel Vettori took over as captain in 2011 and led the team for two seasons before stepping down in 2012.

Virat Kohli has been RCB’s captain since 2013 and has led the team to three playoff appearances. He is widely regarded as one of the best batsmen in the world and has scored over 5000 runs for the team in the IPL.

Despite having some of the biggest names in cricket in their ranks, RCB is yet to win the IPL title. However, with a captain like Kohli leading the team, they will be hoping to go all the way and lift the trophy in the coming seasons.

Overall, Kumble is considered as one of the greatest batsmen of all time having played in 42 matches, picking up 45 wickets and having an economy rate of 6.6.

Kevin Pietersen

Kevin Pietersen had a brief stint as captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore in the 2009 season of the Indian Premier League. He was replaced as captain by Anil Kumble, who led the team to the final of the tournament, where they finished as runners-up.

RCB won only two of the six matches they played under the former England international. In the absence of Kevin Pietersen, who was reported for international duty as part of his task as the captain of the team, Anil Kumble was named the captain.

The Royal Challengers Bangalore made an incredible turnaround under Kumble and reached the final of the 2009 IPL. However, they went on to finish as runners up in the competition.

Daniel Vettori 

On the captain list of RCB is the name Daniel Vettori, a former captain of the New Zealand national team. For two seasons in the IPL, namely 2011 and 2012, he was the captain of the side. For 28 matches, Vettori was the captain of the RCB, and he won 15 and lost 13 of the matches.

His captaincy led RCB to their second IPL final in 2011. Despite their best efforts, they couldn’t win this time as well, and Chennai Super Kings won the IPL title for the first time.

Vettori has been captain for 34 matches, in which he took 28 wickets and had an economy rate of 6.8. Vettori has been a head coach for the RCB since 2014, although he is not listed on the RCB 2021 list.

Related:Who is the Baap (Godfather) of IPL

Virat Kohli – Captain of RCB

Virat Kohli, the current captain of the Royal Challengers Bangalore team, was named captain of the team in 2013. It was only in 2013 that he would become the franchise’s full-time captain, stepping up in the absence of Daniel Vettori for a couple of matches in the IPL 2012 season.

Under his leadership, the Royal Challengers Bangalore team reached the 2016 IPL final, where they lost to the Sunrisers Hyderabad team. In Kohli’s tenure, the Royal Challengers Bangalore have reached the IPL playoffs three times but have only made it to one final.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.