List of Man of the Match and Man of the Tournament Winners in the ICC Cricket World Cup

Cricket is not just a sport for many; it’s an emotion. And the ICC Cricket World Cup stands as the epitome of this emotion. Within this grand tournament, two awards shine the brightest – the Man of the Match award in the ICC cricket world cup and the ‘Man of the Tournament‘ award in CWC.

Man of the Match Winners in the ICC Cricket World Cup

ICC Cricket World Cup Awards

The ICC Cricket World Cup Awards are the highest honors in the world of cricket. They are awarded to the players and teams who have performed exceptionally well in the Cricket World Cup, the most prestigious cricket tournament in the world.

The awards are not just pieces of metal or certificates; they symbolize excellence, perseverance, and unmatched talent. They are a testament to the hard work and dedication of the players who have given their all to the game.

History Behind the Awards

The tradition of rewarding the standout player in a final with the Man of the Match award began in 1975. Clive Llyod from the West Indies was the proud first recipient, commemorating his superb performance in the inaugural World Cup.

Importance of These Awards

Winning the ‘Man of the Match’ in the World finals or bagging the ‘Man of the Tournament’ title is a dream for every cricketer. It’s a testament to their significant impact and contributions throughout the series.

Dive into the Prestigious Awards

Man of the Tournament

The Man of the Tournament (started in 1992) in the ICC World Cup recognizes the consistent performers across matches. Legends like Sachin Tendulkar and Yuvraj Singh from India have been honored with this title, marking their indelible imprint on the world stage.

Key Performances

From Martin Crowe’s magnificent 456 runs in 1992 to Kane Williamson’s brilliant all-round performance in 2019, the award has celebrated cricketing prowess at its best.

“Man of the Match” in World Cup Finals

To be named the “Man of the Match” in the finale of the ICC Cricket World Cup is to be immortalized in cricketing history. The achievements range from Clive Llyod’s blazing century in 1975 to Ben Stokes’ unbeatable 84* runs in 2019.

Standout Players

Only two Indians, Mohinder Amarnath & M.S. Dhoni, have received the “Man of the Match” award in the final match. Their stellar performances have etched a permanent spot in World Cup lore.

The Significance in World Cricket

The world waits with bated breath every four years for this grand event. And these awards? They’re a cherry on top, signifying the mettle and spirit of world cricket.

Australia: Dominating the Finals

Australia has made its mark, not only with five World Cup wins but also with five of its players clinching the “Man of the Match” award in the finals.

Notable Australian Players

Legends like Adam Gilchrist, who scored a breathtaking 149 runs in 2007, and Mitchell Starc with his 22 wickets in 2015, have uplifted Australia’s cricketing legacy.

Trivia and Interesting Facts

No player has ever won the “Man of the Match” award twice in World Cup finals. A testament to the ever-evolving talent pool in international cricket.


The legacy of the ICC Cricket World Cup is enriched with tales of extraordinary performances. These awards, the Man of the Match and the ‘Man of the Tournament,’ celebrate these tales and the legends who made them possible.


When did the “Man of the Match” award tradition start in the World Cup?

It started in 1975 with Clive Llyod being the first recipient.

Who are the two Indians to have won the “Man of the Match” in World Cup finals?

Mohinder Amarnath and M.S. Dhoni.

Which country has the most players winning the “Man of the Match” in World Cup finals?

Australia, with five different players clinching the award.

Has any player won the “Man of the Match” award in World Cup finals more than once?

No, no player has won it twice.

Which player scored the highest runs and bagged the ‘Man of the Tournament’ award?

Sachin Tendulkar with 673 runs in 2003.

Rivcky John

A prominent figure in sports journalism for the last two decades. Cricket Analyst & Writing News, Features, Match Previews/Reviews/Reports, And Opinion Pieces on Cricket. You can connect with him on Facebook also.